Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Buenos Aires Restaurants

El Palacio de la Papa Frita

Updated 07/10/2014

Fodor's Review

No frills doesn't mean no charm at this longtime porteño favorite. Steaks, pastas, and salads are the draw, but don't miss the papas soufflés, meaning puffed-up french fries. If you want to go full-tilt local style, order them à la provençal and they'll arrive at your table tossed with minced garlic and parsley. After all, this place and the other three branches around town (Palermo, Recoleta, and another in Centro) aren't called the Palace of the French

Fry for no reason.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Lavalle 735, between Esmeralda and Maipú, Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, 1047, Argentina

Map It

Phone:

11-4393–4849

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 07/10/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in Buenos Aires

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By bdansma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2007

Our favorite

We ate in many great restaurants during our month in Buenos Aires but El Palacio was our very favorite. We ate in all of their branches and found them consistently excellent. We were thrilled when we discovered one on Laprida street within walking distance of our apartment.The food was always well prepared, delicious and the waiters were so polite, helpful and friendly.

By Marilyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2006

Hard to beat for the price

Lunched at one of the 2 Lavalle St restaurants. Full of happy Portenos eating and drinking their lunch hour away. Chose sweetbreads (mollejas), a true Argentinian speciality, and pappas soufle - all washed down with a full bottle of Malbec. The waiter stopped us ordering one each, saying one order was enough for two - he was right. Price for 2 US$18 plus tip - what a deal. This is one of BA's true bargains. But if money is not that important

see the same meal reviewed at Cabana Las Lilas.

Read More

By Reid

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2006

Food Paradise

I can't believe this wonderful restaurant is still there. I lived in BA in the early 60s and this was called La Casa de las Papas Fritas and was wonderful even then. At 80 pesos (M/N) to the dollar a good meal only set me back a couple of dollars (no wine, I don't drink). It's a little pricier now.

By Ana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2005

Incredible!

Delicious steak but the amazing part of the meal is the "papas" - puffy fries, fantastico. The tourist menu for lunch is bargain - 16 pesos for entree, dessert, and wine.

By Julian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2004

Argentinian McDonalds?????

Sorry but my sampling and experience at the one in El Centro a couple of blocks from Florida street was disappointing. Wasn't expecting 5 star dining but the dull room, forgetful waiter all just went fine with the so-so food. Skip it!

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2004

Amazing Potatoes

The papas fritas from the name of the restaurant are the highlight here. They're very different and delicious. This is a very inexpensive old B. A. standby that has been around forever. It is simple and dependable and informal. I paid $8 for a decent full meal here. This isn't destination or highlight of your trip dining, but if you're in the neighborhood a lunch or an after theatre meal here can be worthwhile.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2004

Flat Fries Souflet and Filet, wow!

Recently returned from a trip to Buenos Aires, and had to visit this restaurant due to the many things I had heard. My Pepper Steak was like Ruth Chris', and the Papa Frita Souflet is similar to Flat Fries for those that have had them. They cut the potatoe in thin slices like chips but leave a little potatoe in them. They then deep fry them and somehow get air bubbles in them as well! Dinner for 2 with drinks under $30 USD. Absolutely unforgettable!

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2002

Old Fashion But Not out Of Style

Excellent value with atmosphere. Truly memorable fries!

By enrique

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2002

Outstanding "Old Fashioned" Restaurant

This restaurant quickly became one of our favourites. Huge selection - and everything we tried was good: soups, steaks etc. Outstanding, "old fashioned" service. Great value.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2001

What a bargain

Best buy for a 3 course meal in BA. Try the house speciality: souffle french fries.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement