Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Yellowstone National Park Hotels

Lake Yellowstone Hotel

  • 1 Grand Loop Rd. Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Relaxing atmosphere
  • The best views of any park lodging

Cons

  • The park's most expensive property
  • Expensive restaurant
  • Not particularly kid-friendly

Updated 11/25/2013

Fodor's Review

Dating from 1891, the park's oldest lodge has maintained an air of refinement that Old Faithful Inn can't muster because of its constant visits from tour buses. Just off the lobby, a spacious sunroom offers priceless views of Yellowstone Lake at sunrise or sunset. It's also a great place to play cards, catch up on a newspaper, or just soak in the grandeur of a National Historic Landmark. Note the tiled fireplace, the etched windows of the gift shop, and the beautiful bay

windows. Rooms have white wicker furnishings, which give them a light, airy feel; some have views of the water. The least expensive rooms are in an annex, not the original building.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1 Grand Loop Rd., about 1 mile south of Fishing Bridge, Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming, 82190, United States

Map It

Phone:

307-344–7311; 866-439-7375

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed early Oct.–mid-May
  • 194 rooms

Updated 11/25/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Yellowstone National Park

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2004

Nicer than I expected.

We had a nice lake view room that I reserved in Feb. for a late June stay. A queen size bed and simple pine furniture. The bathroom was a nice size and had a large window looking on to the lake. The price was higher than when I booked it. The hotel is nice but not as interesting as Old Faithful Inn. It also has an elevator and a laundry.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2003

Best in Yellowstone?- Stay outside the park

This is a beautiful Hotel. The sunroom has a breathtaking view of the Lake. Our room was spacious and clean however as others have pointed out not well insulated at all. The noise in the hallways was almost unbearable at times. Don't plan on going to bed early. The service was less than spectacular. The hotel will no longer give you a specific check in time. My husband and I arrived at 3:00 and couldn't check in until 6:00. We were told we would

have to keep checking back to see if it was ready. We couldn't get reseravtions for the dining room that evening and there is no where else to eat other than a deli that serves sandwhiches. We did get reservations for next evening but not until 9:00. Dinner was only fair. Next time we'll stay outside the park.

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2003

Lake Yellowstine Cabins

It was expected that these cabins would be basic and the really were. It was freezing at night and the heater didn't work, haveing a shower in the morning was a bit of an endurance test, with the water temp was unpredictable and the room cold. The view from our cabin was... another set of cabins. Over all we loved Yellowstone, who wouldn't? It more than made up for the state of the cabin, the people cleaning the cabins were very friendly and obliging,

(extra blankets arrived for night 2).

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2002

Great Atmosphere, Really Nice Room

My family of four (two young children) spent a week in the Tetons and Yellowstone in late August 2001. Our room was the largest of those we had (Jackson Lake Lodge, Old Faithful Inn and Lake Yellowstone) with two queen size beds and a view of the Lake. Loved the sunroom and the restaurant was quite good although not gourmet. For the money, I think we paid $160 a night, you couldn't beat it. We'd definitely stay again.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2001

Sunroom wonderful

The sunroom in the late afternoon with a drink from the lobby bar and live chamber music was wonderfully relaxing at the end of the day. Food in the dining room was very good. Room was the best you could get in the park, but mediocre compared to other luxury hotels. Although the buffalo grazing outside our open first floor window was a nice touch on arrival.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement