Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Seattle Hotels

Inn at the Market

  • 86 Pine St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Local Flavor
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Outstanding views from most rooms
  • Steps from Pike Place Market
  • Fantastic service
  • Complimentary town-car service for Downtown locations

Cons

  • Little common space
  • A full renovation should take place in early 2013 so some rooms may be unavailable
  • Being in the heart of the action means some street noise

Updated 01/24/2013

Fodor's Review

From its heart-stopping views and comfortable rooms to the fabulous location and amazing fifth-floor deck perched above Puget Sound, this is a place you'll want to visit again and again. The inn is well known locally and abroad for the friendly, helpful staff and excellent room service from French charmer Café Campagne and Northwest gastropub Bacco. Foodies, romantics, and everyone in between will love the prime location, as well as the simple, sophisticated guest rooms

and spacious bathrooms. Rooms are differentiated by the type of view but even if you opt for a City Side room (a good deal even in high season), you can enjoy uninterrupted water views from the upstairs deck.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

86 Pine St., Seattle, Washington, 98101, USA

Map It

Phone:

206-443–3600; 800-446–4484

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 63 rooms, 7 suites
  • No meals

Updated 01/24/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Seattle

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2009

Inn at the Market Review

I recently had opportunity to stay at Inn at the Market. I can vouch for an excellent location--with Pike Place Market at your door and views of the bay. However, a good hotel must stand for something other than its location--and this one, in my personal experience, does not. My memory of what was otherwise a pleasant stay at the hotel was extremely tarnished when upon returning home I realized that a valuable piece of jewelry had been stolen

from my luggage, presumably by a member of the hotel staff. I realized that I would not recover the jewelry, but I nevertheless immediately contacted the manager of the hotel, Mr. David Watkins, hoping for a gesture of good will on his part, perhaps credit back to my account for one night of my stay, or even the full amount. Instead of ANY gesture of good will, or attention to PR matters large or small, Mr. Watkins shared that he would be investigating the matter with his staff. Wonderful, I thought--how naive! Did he actually believe that one of the staff would confess to theft? He concluded his communication with me by letting me know that "he was not able to prove" the my item was taken at the hotel (not the point, really) and that I could contact the police. That was it--no offer of any compensation, no offer of credit. Nothing to show that Mr. Watkins took his position as GM and representative of this establishment seriously. I have stayed in numerous hotels of 4 and 5 star quality the world over, and my experience with management at the Inn at the Market was the first I have EVER experienced of this kind. Hotels, even the boutique versions, usually understand the importance of good will, PR, and the value of a customer's experience--or lack thereof. Having been met with not much but casual indifference in Mr. Watkins, as well as theft, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone that values integrity in a hotel staff and high quality customer service. I feel sure a better response could have been received from a Hampton Inn. My next stay in Seattle will be at the Four Seasons--also offering the same excellent location, beautiful views, a step away from the Market as well as the beautiful Seattle Art Museum, and with a fantastic wine bar on street level and just adjacent. Other recommendations for the area: Alexis Hotel and Hotel Monaco.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2008

Perfect for "girls weekend away"

wonderful hotel, great views, lovely experience!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2005

One of the best locations in Seattle

Great place. Quality room and service. One of the best locations in Seattle. I would highly recommend staying there.

By Jared

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2004

Not a perfect stay at the Market

Had a 3-day stay in August '04 and did not find this hotel lived up to its previous good reviews. Reserved a water view room, and instead was given a room with an obstructed view of the roof deck, air conditioning ventilation, and no privacy. The hotel staff explained that the hotel recently "simplified" its room categories -- with the result that partial water view rooms are no simply "waterview" but you pay the same high price. This was very

disappointing. The decor was simple, and tasteful, but I've seen much better in other hotels in cities around the world. Finally, a note on service. There is no professional concierge. While friendly, the staff at the front desk do not provide informed recommendations of where to go to out in Seattle. Particularly lacking were helpful restaurant recommendations. This, again, was very surprising. Location near the market has its pluses and minuses. While charming, in late afternoon/evening there are many, many unpleasant characters loitering on the streets, and it's a little dirty. There are newer hotels in Seattle that I'd try -- wouldn't go back anytime soon.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2004

Great Location with lots of Class

The location almost touching Pike Market is the outstanding as you are staying in the heart of of all the excitement of the waterfront. Cannot say enough about the courtesy and attentiveness of the entire staff. Rooms are delightfully comfortable and even more so with the "Temperpedic" mattress. Deck overlooking the Market and harbor is best way to begin the day with morning coffee. A classy hotel for a reasonable price.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2004

The Inn Place for Romance

My husband and I visited Seattle and Whidbey Island on our first romantic getaway and stopped first at this terrific hotel. It was incredibly comfortable and well-located. We loved picnicking on the roof deck and visiting the nearby market. A super spot!

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2002

Wonderful hotel!

I love this place. It was everything we expected. Beautiful view of the Puget Sound and the Olympics from our room, comfortable furnishings, great service and inobtrusive housekeeping, and an amazing location. Now that I've stayed here, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Seattle (and I've stayed at the Four Seasons and Monaco Hotel). I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

By Jimbo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2001

Charming

Charming small hotel. The colors in the room were so pleasing (and I am not one to notice such things!). I was there on business, and it was such a nice alternative to cookie-cutter business hotels. Staff was charming, too! I can see how rooms right on the main street would be noise, but mine was on the side (on Pine St.?), and it was quiet enough.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2001

Enter Inn

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and always had an idea about where to eat or where to go for a drink in the evening. The location is fantastic. I travel a lot on business and this was a very refreshing break from all the corporate hotels that have sprung up all over the country. Loved it!

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2001

Wonderful views and experience

My wife and I loved the stay at Inn at the Market. I spent an afternoon sitting on the deck while my wife shopped to her heart's content. Room was relatively spartan, but the location and view overlooking Pike's Market and the sound was fantastic. Would definitely stay there again when we visit Seattle.

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2001

Can't Praise it Enough!

The Inn at the Market is probably my absolute favorite hotel in the whole world. Our room was beautiful and peaceful, the view was fabulous, and best of all, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They bent over backwards to help us have a wonderful stay. If you can afford to stay here (I admit it's a bit expensive) you shoudl definitely do so. You won't regret it.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2000

Watch out for the flying fish!

Great location. Nice place to stay. Good view, large room, recommend!

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2000

Exquisite

I had the most wonderful stay here! The hotel is elegant yet not pretentious in the least. The rooms were so comfortable and the location so perfect that it made it a pleasure to lounge around the hotel on a rainy afternoon. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful that I truly felt it a shame when I left. I've tried to explain the hotel to people but have always come up short - it just felt great to be there.

By kam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2000

sleepless in..........

The location of the Inn at the Market is wonderful. It is an old property, however, and has been upgraded to be a superior hotel. The noise level of the rooms facing 1st Avenue is awful! Do not book those rooms unless you come with earplugs. The noise level of the rooms facing the Market are not a lot better as the market gets going very early in the morning. Seattle's finest insists on using sirens on 1st Avenue at all times during the night.

Another complaint is that the beds are very soft and one gets seasick when the spouse turns in his/her sleep! One more complaint is that the building was not originally airconditioned, so that the room airconditioners are noisy,and blow directly in the heads of the sleepers in their bed. And, one more complaint, the water pressure in the bathrooms is nonexistent! Don't want to be entirely negative, it's a nice property with very gracious staff and we would probably stay there again---next time with ear plugs, sedatives, and softer pillows!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement