Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Seattle Hotels

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel

  • 411 University St. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Grande Dame
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Great location
  • Excellent service
  • Fabulous on-site dining and amenities

Cons

  • Not much in the way of views
  • May be a little too old-school for trendy travelers
  • Remodel in 2013 means some rooms may be unavailable

Updated 08/27/2013

Fodor's Review

Grand and stately, the Fairmont Olympic transports travelers to another time: with marble floors, brocade chairs, massive chandeliers, and sweeping staircases, this old-world hotel personifies class and elegance. Guest rooms are lovely and light filled, with French Country touches like pastel wallpaper and floral patterns. The well-heeled leisure or business traveler will find everything he or she needs here: elegant dining and afternoon tea at the Georgian, a fitness

center with an indoor pool, a full-service business center, a day spa, and a shopping arcade. Kids get perks like child-size bathrobes.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

411 University St., Seattle, Washington, 98101, USA

Map It

Phone:

206-621–1700; 888-363–5022

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 232 rooms, 218 suites
  • No meals

Updated 08/27/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Seattle

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By JoniC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2008

Landmark Hotel or Just Old and Beat Up?

The lobby and restaurants are beautiful throwbacks to a bygone era. They transport you back in time. But the rooms are another story. They are in dire need of an upgrade and until this happens, it is hard to imagine shelling out so much money for a room needing this much work. I'd save my dollars next time around and go with the Seattle Sheraton. On a positive note, the staff were amazing and went out of their way to provide exceptional service;

something you'd expect from a Fairmont Hotel.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2005

Still the best in Seattle

After a somewhat rocky stay in July 2005, I decided to give the Fairmont another chance in March 2005 and I'm very pleased that I did. Whatever service problems may have resulted from the changeover from Four Seasons to Fairmont seem to have been resolved, and my stay of 8 days was perfect. The room was lovely and quiet, the fitness center and pool extremely nice, and the service was outstanding throughout the hotel. Definitely worth the price if

you care about service and extra amenities.

Read More

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2004

Vacation Worries Are Over!

My family comes here every year. Excellent food, service and rooms. Most people complain about the rooms, traffic, and service, but I see no problem. An occasional crowd that comes with an NBA team, but nothing drastic. Rooms are very organized and clean. Room service comes within 10 minutes, as expected with standard wait time. Restaurants within the hotel are great and others are close by within walking distance. Check them out (especially during

Christmas)! No complaints here.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2004

Not up to Four Seasons Standards...

The hotel is a very old property, pretty at night, but still old. The room was dusty, and for the price, very over priced.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2003

Superb

wonderfull stay for luxury service quality and beuty if you want some action try the westin but if you want to be pampered stay here

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2002

Service is Tops

Yes, it is expensive, but the service is fabulous. From the front desk to the concierge to the housekeeping staff to the dining room and bar staff - everyone was extremely helpful, polite and efficient. The public spaces are incredible and the rooms, while less grand, are very comfortable. The dining room is a treat, and late night at the bar you can top off an evening with a white cosmo or a wonderful dessert which is as beautiful as it is delicious.

All around - a great stay!

Read More

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2002

Incredible - Why Stay Anywhere Else?

We stayed at the Four Seasons Olympic during a road trip from San Francisco to Vancouver. On our trip north, the service was incredible. We received a free upgrade to a suite upon arrival, were consistently greeted by name, and was generally "wowed" by every aspect of this hotel, including the bar and Shuckers restaurant. Trust me, we are not easy to impress and these guys did it. On our return trip (a week later), they remembered us by name as

soon as we pulled into the driveway and asked about our trip. We were also remembered at reception when we checked in. But the crowning glory was when we checked out early the next morning for the next leg of our road trip, on the front seat of our car when the valet brought it around was a tiny Four Seasons paper bag containing two fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and two containers of milk (with napkins and straws) for our road trip home! These guys know how to do service. We will NEVER stay anywhere else in Seattle.

Read More

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2001

Great Hotel

My family and I recently stayed at the Four Seasons Olympic and we had a great time. The hotel's location is fantastic,it provided easy access to all of the city's best sights. The lobby and public spaces of the hotel are amazing, beyond compare anywhere. But, the room was not nearly as impressive. Perhaps it's because you pass through such an awe-inspiring lobby, but, the room came up just short. The staff, as always, were efficent and kind and offered

flawless service. The hotel is still a gem and definately the best in Seattle.

Read More

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2001

Hits & Misses at the Four Seasons Olympic

This is a tough place to rate. The public facilities are spectacular and the service in the lobby is without compare. However, the private areas, including the rooms, are not quite as immaculately impressive. The carpeting throughout our floor (the 4th) and room was soiled and the lights that annouce the arrival of the elevators didn't work. Also, a surprisingly verdant stripe of green surrounded the water line of the jaccuzzi. And our "suite"

which barely would be considered a large room, was miniscule and had a saggy mattress--to go along with the dirty/cigarette burnt carpet. Maybe I just had poor luck of the draw, but I was not as impressed in the private aspects of this hotel as I was the public ones.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2001

Back 2 World Class Status

It may have taken a couple of years, but this venerable dowager has finally shaken off the shackles of her former self. The improvements are evident and I'm happy to report that during two successive visits, we have nothing but kudos for this place. It deservedly lost its' five star/diamond rating last year and management must have taken notice. The improvements have reinstated this glorious property back to my list of world favorites. 5 + ! Go and

see for yourself, (and don't forget to linger over oysters in that fabulous lobby !)

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2000

Disappointing

Not what I expected from a Four Seasons Hotel. I received a complimentary dish of chocolate-covered strawberries from the hotel, which was nice, but the welcome card was addressed to someone else, which made me wonder if I had been placed in a room rejected by another guest. The bathroom was old and ordinary, and it was unpleasant to find strands of another guest's hair around the sink, in the tub, and on the floor. On the other hand, the lobby

was impressive, and the staff was kind enough to let me use the well-stocked and well-equipped spa locker room to change clothes and refresh myself before my flight home even though I had already checked out.

Read More

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2000

Why would you stay anywhere else?

We are frequent guests at this hotel, and are always disappointed when it is sold out. The staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable and take care of dining needs in the city. The executive suites are the best bargain in the hotel. There is no better martini found in the city, but if you have had one too many (which could be one) you can enjoy a great meal in the Georgean Room.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2000

Burn Your Money Instead...

I stayed at the Four Seasons last month and was appalled that this hotel was apart of the storied Canadian chain. I usually stay in Four Seasons Hotels when I travel and am quite familiar with their standards and what I will usually get for my money - great service, beautiful public spaces, and a handsome room. However, the Olympic must be the bastard child of the Four Seasons chain. Dirty rooms (I demanded to move four times) not worthy of Motel

6, pretentiously fake service, average and unimaginative restaurants, and an overall lack of sophistication you'd normally find at the Four Seasons. After two days of hell, I checked out and continued my stay across the street at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, where I paid half the price, got a clean and updated room, and was well taken care of by the cordial staff. Stay away from the Four Sleasons if you value your money!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement