Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Seattle Restaurants

Dahlia Lounge

Updated 10/12/2012

Fodor's Review

Romantic Dahlia Lounge has the valentine-red walls and deep booths you may be looking for—it's been working its magic on Seattle since 1980. It's cozy and then some, but the food plays its part, too: Chef Tom Douglas's famous crab cakes, served as an appetizer or an entrée, lead a regionally oriented menu. Other standouts are the grilled-bread salad with pesto, delicious lamb with smashed English peas, seared ahi tuna, near-perfect gnocchi, and such desserts as blissful

triple-coconut cream pie and fresh doughnuts. Brunch is served on the weekends. Grab some extra delectable baked goods to-go at the adjoining Dahlia Bakery.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

2001 4th Ave., Seattle, Washington, 98121, USA

Map It

Phone:

206-682–4142

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 10/12/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Seattle

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2007

Dahlia? no, dandelion.

The ambiance is like the lettuce - wilted. Evidently it was a destination at one time, now its more like a den.

By Ted

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 9, 2006

This is a wilted Dahlia

From the rating given it must have seen better days.

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2006

this dahlia is wilted

Very overrated, dusty decor, soso food. There are many much better restaurants in Seattle.

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2006

Good but not great

My husband and I were really looking forward to this restaurant and were disappointed. We both had the crab cakes, which people had raved about. They were just ordinary crab cakes. Liked the ambiance and both of our appetizers were very good but the main course let us down.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2006

Keeps getting better

Been going to DL several times each year for 5-6 years and continue to love every meal and every visit. Great buzzing atmosphere, warm and attentive service combine with dazzling food.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2003

Noisy, busy, mediocre food

Having heard that this was a good restaurant we were surprised at how much we disliked everything about it. Very noisy, no real decor, ordinary food. Try Canlis or El Gaucho for good Seattle restaurant experiences.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2003

Friendly service, decent food

I expected more based on all the glowing reviews, but over all the food was good -- some of it great -- and the service made the meal better. Good wine list. Try desserts other than the famous cream pie; they were more creative and better.

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 26, 2003

Much Ado About Nothing

Noisy, unattractive decor & not so good food. I can't understand why it is highly rated. A real disappointment.

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2002

One thing is true to the reviews....

The coconut cream pie is absolutely amazing! After reading the reviews I decided to give it a try and I was seriously not disappointed. As for the meal, I had some sort of duck which was edible, but not great. My wife had the crabcakes, which were much better than the duck. The menu was very limited for my tastes (seafood, steak)and therefore I'd have to say I was slightly disappointed with the meal. The restaurant itself is very nice and kind

of gave my wife and I that romantic, "out on a first date" feel. Be prepared to spend over $100 if you order wine and an appetizer. All in all, I'm glad we went, but we probably wouldn't go back again.....except for the pie!

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2002

Limited menu for seafood lovers

Great food but was disappointed in menu choices. We are not a fan of game entrees. But the seafood entrees we had were excellent.

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2002

One of Seattle's best!

The Dahlia has NOT been bought out as a previous poster reported but it has indeed moved to a bigger location, 4th and Virginia. The food is always stellar. They do a great "Seattle" cuisine- northwest ingrediants with Asian, Italian, French inspirations. Check out the bakery next door also!

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2002

This Restaurant is Now A Thai Place!

My husband and I had reservations for the Dahlia Lounge for June 2, 2002, but imagine our surprise when we discovered that the restaurant has been bought out! The new owners have turned Dahlia Lounge into a Thai restaurant called TODO, or something like that. We peeked in to see that it still had the dark red walls and dim lighting, but we left and had a nice meal at Campagne instead. We were disappointed to miss the Dahlia Lounge, as the other

reviews had made it sound wonderful.

Read More

By bumble

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2002

so good, almost fainted

My entire meal was superb but then to top it off with their coconut creme pie, it was so good, I remember it as if it was yesterday and it's been over 6 years since I was last there.

By Amie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2001

Everything You Want...Nothing You Don't

Dahlia Lounge is for the true gastronomical connoisseur an encompassingly sensual experience for one to partake. The food is divine, addicting until the last morsel is inhaled. Coupled with just right low light in high decor moderne with a twist, who can go wrong? Service with a smile and a coat checker to boot, my only quip was the slower than necessary bartender for a glass of wine with dinner (only one very amazing woman stirring libations for

all). And the value...one point taken off due only to the hopeless wish to find that caliber of a restaurant for the same price as a Happy Meal (one may hope, right?). Overall, an absolutely unforgettable night in Seattle.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2001

One of our favorites in Seattle

My wife and I have lived in Seattle for two years now, and Dahlia Lounge is one of our favorites. Like the other Tom Douglas restaurants that we like so much, this one offers wonderful food. But the atmosphere here is nicer than Etta's and more intimate than Palace Kitchen. Crab cakes here are outstanding. Rest of seafood menu is wonderful. Coconut creame pie is legendary... you can also get it at the other Tom Douglas restaurants as well. This is

where I took my wife on her birthday. Wonderful restaurant, come here for an extraordinary dinner.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement