Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Williamsburg and Hampton Roads Restaurants

Kings Arms

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

This 18th century–style chophouse is where the gentry dined, and is still the finest of the historic area's four Colonial taverns. Colonial delicacies include roast prime rib of beef, collops of pork, roast duckling, game pie, and favorites such as peanut soup and stuffed mushrooms. Mrs. Vobe's Tavern Dinner, named after the tavern's 18th-century proprietress Jane Vobe, is a fixed-price three-course meal with the trademark peanut soup; chicken and ham with potatoes,

mushrooms, and tarragon; Sally Lunn bread; and a choice of desserts.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

409 E. Duke of Gloucester St., Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

Map It

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2009

Kings Arms Review

Fun place for lunch, but not a great dining experience. Folksy instead of great!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2007

Really not that good

Peanut soup was atrocious. Chicken was tough. Only the wine steward, a postal worker at the college by day, was up to any acceptable standard. Will not return. A rip-off tourist place.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2006

Outstanding Dining Experience

The Kings Arms is housed in a 2 story restored colonial tavern, that has several dining rooms. Waiters/waitresses were in 18th century dress and character. Lighting is by candlelight, and during our meal a musician moved room to room playing music and instruments dating to the 1770's. Later, an actor in colonial garb went room to room offering tidbits of wisdom and humor from that day. The food was excellent (my wife had the prime rib, and I had

Mrs. Webe's Dinner, which was chicken and Virginia ham served on a bed of dressing, with creamed spinach and ham, and spiced sweet potato casserole), and we split a rice pudding for dessert. Be sure to try the peanut soup. Overall, our best experience on the trip (they've all been good), but this was special.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2003

Great Food, Great Experience

We had dinner with our two children at the Kings Arm in April 2003. I had somewhat low expectations about the food but wanted the candlelight experience. We were in an upstairs room which was less charming than the downstairs rooms; however, it was still very nice and the candlelight effect was lovely. Also liked the strolling violinist. The food was quite good and plentiful. They give you some historical tips which we all enjoyed. Definitely

worth the $$.

Read More

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2003

Don't Bother

Very dark.Very dank.Very expensive. That's the best I can say for this place.I made next day reservations. I guess the word is getting out and reservations are not being made 2-3 weeks in advance.

By Brent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2002

Great food-even better atmosphere

I've eaten there twice-once in the afternoon,& another at night. The ambiance is superb, very romantic at night, especially around Halloween-when 1 can catch a lantern-lit tour of the town, after eating.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement