Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Williamsburg and Hampton Roads Hotels

Williamsburg Inn

Pros

  • This is the most elegant property operated by Colonial Williamsburg

Cons

  • May be pricey for families on a budget

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

This grand hotel from 1937 is owned and operated by Colonial Williamsburg. Rooms are beautifully and individually furnished with reproductions and antiques in the English Regency style, and genteel service and tradition reign. Rooms come with such perks as morning coffee and afternoon tea, a daily newspaper, turndown service, and bathrobes. The Providence Wings, adjacent to the inn, are less formal; rooms are in a contemporary style with Asian accents and overlook the

tennis courts, a private pond, and a wooded area.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

136 E. Francis St., , Box 1776, Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia, 23187-1776, USA

Map It

Phone:

757-229–1000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 62 rooms, 14 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2012

Williamsburg Inn Review

The day my fiance proposed, on October 21st, 2011, he planned the entire weekend in advanced, with the utmost romantic details. This included spending the entire weekend as guests of the Providence Hall Guesthouses of the Williamsburg Inn. Well, our romance-filled bubble that had lasted all day long since the proposal at 10am, was quickly bursted by our experience at The Inn. Upon arrival at the guesthouses we noticed that the hallway was halfway

through some renovations, but there was no sign of "sorry for the dust" etc. The room itself was the worst: 1. When I took off my shoes, I realized the carpet had not been vacuumed recently, there was small bits of trash. 2. The faucet leaked and water started spilling all over the bathroom counter. 3. The TV had 6 channels and all fuzzy, no clear signal. 4. The towel holder was broken. 5. There were other people's hair in the shower/tub. 6. One of the light fixtures on the ceiling above the bed was missing and wires were exposed and hanging down. 7. The king-sized bed had a total of 2 pillow. No shams, or extras for reclining against the bed. 8. The couch in the sitting area was old and the springs could be felt through the upholstery. 9. The TV was mounted noticeably crooked on the wall. 10. The entire room smelled stuffy and moldy. 11. The balcony had been overtaken by spiders and other bugs. Not pleasant to enjoy the view. The entire room and building felt neglected and falling apart. I understand it's not part of the main hotel building, but do they really not send someone over there to check out the condition of the Guest Houses? I mean, for that much money, it should be stellar and awe-inspiring. and worst of all: My fiance had previously written and called to request that something special be done as a surprise, such as strawberries and chocolate, or champagne, or cheese and wine, to celebrate our engagement. Well there was nothing. They had told him it would be done upon check-in, and he agreed to pay extra charges, and nothing at all. Such a disappointment. For all that we were paying $350 for the night. Not exactly the Days Inn. We complained about this in the morning, since that night we were exhausted after so much excitement, and they only took off half of the price. Even at $175, it was still outrageously appalling. I absolutely DO NOT RECOMMEND this for anyone, whether you are traveling alone, with family, in business, and certainly not if you are looking for a romantic get-away together. What's more, we were actually considering booking several suites for our family and ourselves on the weekend of our wedding in April 2013, and a room block for the rest of the wedding guests. After that night, there's no way we will every consider The Williamsburg Inn just so it can ruin our wedding. The next night we moved to the Marriott on Richmond Road where we told them of our engagement and got bumped to a suite on the top floor. Lesson learned: DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY AT THE WILLIAMSBURG INN.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2007

Missed opportunity

We have stayed at the Inn for years. Before the renovation, the place needed some sprucing up. After all that time and money, the rooms are bigger and somewhat more elegant but whose idea was it to skip soundproofing the place? You can hear every sound in the hall and if you unfortunately get one of the rooms with a connecting room, you can hear everything next door. For the price, it just does not seem worth it. It's a missed opportunity to be

a great place.

Read More

By gally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2006

Practically perfect in every way

Could not say enough good things about this inn..gracious staff, surroundings and the food was surprisingly terrific---very relaxing--really thought it would be too twee and touristy--but was very country house- like.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 28, 2005

Thanksgiving 2005

We recently stayed at this hotel for Thanksgiving. While the hotel is beautiful, you have to be careful of a few things. First, there is the location of the rooms. We stayed on the first floor (3175). The room was beautiful. However, every morning between 4 and 5, you could hear the vacuum running in the main lobby. My mother was in room 3190. Compared to our room (both were the same price), it was pathetic. Yes, the hotel could command the

price due to the time of year and location, but the difference in rooms was tremendous. In 3190, almost half the sq. footage was for the bathroom area. In 3175, there was ample room for all to gather. In 3190, there was 1 window in main area. In 3175, there were 5 windows to allow for plenty of sunlight. What makes the hotel are the grounds around it, it's location to Colonial Williamsburg and the staff.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement