Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Central and Western Virginia Restaurants

The Homeplace

  • 4968 Catawba Valley Dr. Map It

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Bring a big appetite with you on the drive up and over Catawba Mountain to get to the Homeplace. Famished Appalachian Trail hikers in grimy shorts and suave diners in their Sunday best eat side by side family-style in this farm home in a tiny country hamlet—come as you are. Old-fashioned cooking is dished up with all-you-can-eat fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, pinto beans, baked apples, and hot biscuits. It's a popular spot, so be prepared for

about a 30-minute wait.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

4968 Catawba Valley Dr., , 7 mi west of Salem on Rte. 311 N, I–81, Exit 141, Catawba, Virginia, 24070, United States

Map It

Phone:

540-384–7252

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Thurs.–Sat., no dinner Sun.
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By hutch49

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2009

The Homeplace Review

If you don't mind sharp mountain turns up a steep climb overlooking breathtaking scenery this is the place to visit. An old fashioned home with swinging porch, cows & horses out in the field, similar to late 1800s. The food is served "family style" where everyone basically orders the same such as roast beef, fried chicken etc. The food is put on the table like "Little House on the Prarie" and I expected Little Joe to walk in. Its a unique place but

please don't go there in bad weather, you may not make it back to Roanoke!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2005

worth the drive!

Always a welcome place. Love to rock in the rocking chairs on the porch.

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2005

The Best Place in Town

This is a great place to eat. My family and I enjoyed it so much.

By Pablo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Yeehaw GOOD country cooking!

This place is awesome! The food is great and keeps on coming! The people are friendly and the food is GREAT!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2005

Great Memories

I remember going to this place with my roommates during my college days at VMI. What I great place and the food is wonderful.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2001

If you love country cookin'

You've got to go to this place. It's the best family-style restaurant I've ever been to, and I've been to plenty! The food's excellent... groups typically order two of the three meats they're serving (country ham, fried chicken, etc.) and each table gets all of the other items on the menu, which usually consist of mashed potatoes, green beans, butter beans-- all the best I've ever had. It's $8 per person, including dinner, iced tea or lemonade,

and dessert. It's located in a big old farm house right outside Roanoke, and the drive to get there, although long, is beautiful. Make sure you come with a group-- it's more fun that way!!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement