Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Southwestern Utah Restaurants

Spotted Dog Café & Pub

Updated 10/28/2013

Fodor's Review

Named in honor of the family dog of Springdale's original settlers, this restaurant at Flanigan's Inn offers gourmet entrées in three distinct dining areas: the quiet back room, the lively front room, and the sidewalk café with views of the mountains. The dishes are as varied as the atmosphere, with trout, pork, and lamb selections, as well as locally grown vegetables and herbs from the on-site garden. A breakfast buffet is also served.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Flanigan's Inn, 428 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, Utah, 84767, USA

Map It

Phone:

435-772–0700

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 10/28/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2008

Vanentine's Perfection

Our first visit to the Spotted Dog was an evening of cascading and astonishing flavors artfully prepared and graciously presented in the warm ambiance of daylight's fading hues radiating from Zion's pastel bluffs outside. Chef Jeff had prepared a special Valentine's menu that was outstanding in every carefully-crafted detail and at a very down-to-earth price. Could not have been more pleased with food and service. Bravo!!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2007

Good food, shame about the poor service

Every kitchen can make mistakes - there can always be a fly in the food, however clean the kitchen is... however, what makes the difference is how it is dealt with. I was at the Spotted Dog restaurant with my family, and we were enjoying our meal until I found a dead fly in the mashed potato. My partner and I (or so it seemed) were offered free desserts and tea/coffee by way of an apology. When the bill came, the only item that was given for free

was my own dessert - I was still charged for the meal with the fly! My partner's dessert and all teas and coffees were also listed. We asked them to revise the bill, but were told that there was nothing that could be done. I absolutely refused to pay for the meal with the fly in it, so a revised bill was issued, this time with the fly-meal taken off, but my dessert relisted. In the end, the meal with the fly in it and my dessert were left off the bill, but it was truly disappointing to have to haggle about it, when we were enjoying our meal up to the fly moment. The manager seemed fairly flippant about the whole thing. It was a shame - and spoilt what was otherwise a lovely evening. Would I go back - unfortunately NO.

Read More

By Hulga

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2007

Ghastly!

I'll forever remember this restaurant because it was where I ate one of the worst meals of my life. I started with the scallop appetizer, which was tough and tasteless. For an entree I had the vegetable parmentier, which was alternatively too salty and tasteless. My dining companion was equally disappointed. She opted for two appetizers, a brie plate and sauteed mushroom. The brie was lukewarm and dry. The mushrooms were smothered in what tasted like

Safeway-brand brown sauce. If you have the choice between this restaurant and a couple of powerbars and some nuts from convenience store down the street, go for the latter.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2006

Pleasant atmosphere, Friendly Servers, Beyond-Delicious Food, but no dog to be found

This RestaurantIs A Must Try! Dinner is served around 5:00pm. We waited and were glad we did. I had the trout and my husband has the pork tenderlion. Our meal included soup or salad. We chose salad. The food was a perfect meld of flavors for each dish and was moderately priced. Our server was helpful and was generous with sincere smiles and assistance. We love this restaurant and will go again whenever we find ourselves in the area.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2005

Wood fired ??

I am afriad I fell for the old "wood fired" line. If this pizza ever saw any wood I would be shocked. Nice enough setting, but nothing special at all for the food.

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2004

Terrific

We had dinner two evenings and breakfast two mornings at this restaurant. You can view the mountains from almost every seat, the food is delicious. Our breakfast waitpersons were absolutely terrific. However,my only complaints are that the evening waitpersons were very indifferent. The bartender was very disinterested in her job, almost rude. We would return.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2003

Rotten service.

Food was ok, but service was awful. After witing much longer than norma for entrees to arrive, we finally got his attention, and he went on to lecture us about eating at a leisurely pace, I was horrified, told the manager. Did not tip the waiter, but gave his helper 5 bucks. Ruined our night.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement