Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Antonio Restaurants

Boudro's on the Riverwalk

Updated 02/05/2013

Fodor's Review

A little bit Gulf Coast, a little bit Mexican, and a whole lotta Texan, this landmark River Walk establishment caters to almost every taste with exceptional good taste. Fresh fish is the star of the menu, including an unusual seafood platter that matches together a glazed lobster tail, blackened filet du jour, crawfish, chicken-fried oysters, and a shrimp taco. Spicy-charred prime rib gives an extra kick for landlubbers. The main dining room is almost cavelike, and provides

several nooks for conversation and romance, but the patio on the river is where you want to be when the weather's fine.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

314 E. Commerce, S, Suite 402, San Antonio, Texas, 78205, USA

Map It

Phone:

210-224–8484

Website: www.boudros.com/

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 02/05/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2012

Boudro's on the Riverwalk Review

Boudro's is a fun place to eat and has delicious food. Tableside guacamole is a must.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2008

Loved it !! Favorite restaurant on the Riverwalk !

We just loved it ! Great atmosphere right on the Riverwalk - and the ponchos they provided added to the ambiance and warmth !! Food was great - especially the lobster tail with crawfish and my husband can't stop raving about the blackened Prime Rib - will definitely go back !!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2007

Marginal restaurant on the strip!

My wife and I ate for lunch. The restaurant was quite busy and our service was marginal. We had the guacamole which they make in front of you with tortilla chips. Their chips were probably the worst I had in Texas. The chicken pita sandwich was decent. Their were definitely better restaurants on the Riverwalk than this one.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2006

Lukewarm

While the service was very attentive and the cactus margarita splendid, the food was so-so (although portions were generous) even with reservations, we had to wait 30 minutes to be seated in a very less-than-desired place. I'd been very specific while making reservations that it was a 'special night' for us (our 10th anniversary) and that I was hoping for a nice experience as it had been called a 'romantic' place to dine, - it wasn't. Wonderful

menu, but lukewarm results. The wait staff definitely made up for the dining itself. We may return, but it wouldn't be for a special occasion. I was disappointed, after reading the great reviews.

Read More

By CT

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2005

Excellent!

We had a great dinner at Boudro's with service to match. The guacomole is a must and the dinner entrees are superb. Highly recommended!

By pam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2005

Don't miss the prickly pear margaritas

Went for lunch- Nice menu, decent food. Fresh made guac good, but needed salt. Overall a nice experience, especially the prickly pear margaritas!

By Tricia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2004

Riverwalk Rut

Boudro's has fallen into the Riverwalk rut. Service is consistantly awful. Waiters are slow and rude. Food is good, guacamole prepared table side tasty, cactus margarita a stand-out. But, the bad points still outweigh the good.

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2003

Not what I expected

Boundro's is a lively resturant, the food is good, but it is very noisy and very crowded. I felt it was overpriced for the service and the food. I would return my next visit, but for lunch not dinner.

By Carmen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2002

Guacamole heaven

I found that the guacamole at Boudros was the best in the planet. I love how they prepare it table-side with roasted jalapeno peppers, roasted tomatoes and a splash of fresh orange juice, in addition to the traditional lime juice, cilantro and fresh onions. I have modified my favorite home version to include these ingredients ever since. I can't think of preparing good guacamole any other way. Also, the prickly cactus pear margaritas were wonderful

and stunning in color. I had a great time here.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2002

Disappointing

We tried this restaurant due to the raves of the "fodorites" and were disappointed. The guacamole was bland, and not very tasty. The coconut shrimp was greasy. I would not return. The extensive wine list would not make up for the food here in my opinion.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2002

Good choice on riverwalk

Sure it's a touristy area...what did you expect? Boudro's fits the bill, though. Sit along the water, and they'll give you a warm poncho if you're cold. The wine list is fabulous (they carry Viader '98...only the VERY BEST restaurants carry that one!) Food was quite good...the Guadamole is different (it has fresh orange, for example!) Made at the table, it's very fun. Our server was the best we had in San Antonio...and we were caught in the middle

of the pre-Alamo Bowl frenzy! Forget Paesano's (it was awful!!!!) Go to Boudro's, then save your $$ and have a GREAT dinner at Las Canarias...the very best in San Antonio.

Read More

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2000

The best on the Riverwalk

I try to go to Boudro's every time I get to San Antonio. I am always impressed by the service and the cuisine. An exceptional restaurant by any standard

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement