Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Antonio Hotels

Menger Hotel

Pros

  • Close to Alamo, good food

Cons

  • Rooms are more worn than at newer properties

Updated 02/05/2013

Fodor's Review

Since its 1859 opening, the Menger has lodged, among others, Robert E. Lee, Ulysses S. Grant, Theodore Roosevelt, Oscar Wilde, Sarah Bernhardt, Roy Rogers, and Dale Evans. You'll be the envy of many an overheated tourist strolling immediately across the street from the entrance to the Alamo into the cool lobby and up to your room. Balcony rooms overlook the Alamo. Inside, the hotel has a three-story Victorian lobby, sunny dining room, flowered courtyard, and four-poster beds (in the older section). Menger's famous bar, built in 1887, is styled after the House of Lords Pub in London.

Hotel Information

Address:

204 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, Texas, 78205, USA

Map It

Phone:

210-223–4361; 800-345–9285

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 290 rooms, 26 suites

Updated 02/05/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2012

Good enough for the President, Good enough for me

Stayed on the side that was not haunted! Appearaed the new side has better AC. Good location as we were weary of the noise and drunks at hotels on the Riverwalk. Being close to an ice cream place, 5 feet from the front door not a bad way to go. Next door to Alamo but the crowds are no problem, great shopping at the mall next door. Restaurant not recommended.

By Traci

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2004

Never Again!

I've visited San Antonio many times and always wanted to stay at this hotel for it's location and historic charm but never again. We arrived at 3pm (check-in time) but had to wait in line 30 minutes for valet service ($17.00/day +tax). Once inside, the line to check-in took 50 minutes and then we were told our room was not ready and to come back in an hour. We were not offered an upgrade or restaurant voucher or even an apology for our inconvenience.

When we suggested this, we were told "it's not my fault" by the rude deskclerk. I'm never impressed with this sort of comeback and feel this is unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber.We then went to their bar but the cigar smoke was so thick and the heat turned up so high, that we left and went to Pat O'Brien's across the street (lovely patio area). When we returned an hour later, at 5pm, we had to wait in line again for 35 minutes for our room key. Everyone was complaining.We had a standard room that was very small (which is fine & to be expected in an older hotel) however again, the heat had been turned up so high that we were never able to cool it down. It was miserable. Next time, I'll try the Fairmount or La Mansion. The Menger Hotel doesn't seem prepared to handle weekend crowds.

Read More

By Lor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2004

Not a ghost in sight

We stayed during busy New Year's week. Staff was attentive and polite: made calls for us to check on attractions, and brought up a roll-away without wait. We had 2 rooms with adjoining door,looking out upon the pool. Excellent location directly on Alamo Square - a short walk to the River Walk, and across the street from the Alamo (and next to a Ben & Jerry's!). The lobby and gift shops were nice, as well as the courtyard. No complaints about the rooms.

By m

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2002

Good location but ...

great location and good price $119. historic parts of the hotel and the pool and courtyard are also very nice. Rooms do need updating. The walls must be thin because we were disturbed by someone coughing all the time, and others were disturbed by neighbours TV. Also we had to get our sheets changed as they were stained, which seemed to prove a challenge as there were no housekeeping staff on duty at night.

By enrique

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2002

did I go to a different hotel from the other people??

We had a great time at the Menger Hotel. Lots of atmosphere. We had a great room in the old section, facing the garden. The room was of decent size and nicely decorated. We got a bargain rate from Expedia, so value for money was good. Only disapointment was the food - but there are plenty of restaurants just outside the door.

By Ana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2002

Rooms Need Major Updating

The location is absolutely ideal and the rates are better than most near the pricey Riverwalk. But the rooms are depressing and the bathrooms are very outdated. The original lobby is historically and architecturally interesting, the bar is cozy and takes you back in time. Too bad I couldn't camp out down there because I would've been better off.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2001

Beautiful lobby misleading, rooms a disappointment

I had visions of granduer before arriving at the Menger. As soon as we opened the door, I asked for a different room hoping for something that met my expectations. The room was very small and not unique at all. Remains of a kitchenette were in a small room off the bedroom separated by a collapsable room divider that was showing its age. The room next door had their TV on and we could hear every word, as well as any noise in the hallway. We asked for

a new room the next night in the Victorian wing, only to be disappointed again. The room was very musty smelling. We had to air it out. I have to point out some highlights to be fair. The location was good without having to pay the higher rates if we were on the Riverwalk. And the rate was $110/night. Which was reasonable, but you get what you pay for.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement