Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Antonio Hotels

Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Pros

  • Great value for an expansive resort, tons of activities to keep the kids busy, great general store on-site

Cons

  • Not within walking distance to the city's main downtown and riverside attractions, fee for Internet use

Updated 02/05/2013

Fodor's Review

Step into relaxation at this sophisticated yet homey country resort with lots of shade—a key feature when the mercury soars during a San Antonio summer. On the western edge of the city, it occupies 200 acres of former ranch land, so you feel far removed, even though you're just a few minutes from Sea World, about 15 minutes from Six Flags, and 20 minutes from downtown. Family-friendly touches abound, from the manmade "lazy river," where you can float along with the current

in an inner tube to Camp Hyatt's day camp and nightly s'mores at the firepit; older kids can hange out at The Underground, with Internet and games. If you're not interested in the four-acre water park, there are 27 holes of golf, a ¾-mile nature trail, and a spa with a full range of treatments and salon services (and a shop for "retail therapy," quips staff member Jeanne).

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

9800 Hyatt Dr., San Antonio, Texas, 78251, USA

Map It

Phone:

210-647–1234

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 428 rooms, 72 suites

Updated 02/05/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2011

Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort Review

Suitable for a couples getaway (our visit); best for a family trip to Seaworld. Professional, attentative staff at all levels. Suite and double were roomy but still cozy--and remarkably quiet. In-room dining menu was short, but the food and service were excellent. Windflower Spa experience was absolutely wonderful. Would stay there again.

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2004

Great for Kids--Not for Romance

We went to this hotel to have some alone time from our 8month old and ended up spending the weekend in a sea of kids! I wouldn't recommend this place unless you are taking the family. The resort is beautiful, extremely kid-friendly and fun. The rooms are very nice and the hotel staff is very friendly, except for the waitstaff in the casual dining area. There were way too few waiters AND FOOD for the amount of people being serviced at the restaurant.

I suggest if you can get away from the kids for the night to eat at the adult-only restaurant onsite. The Spa is fabulous! And of course the golf is Great.

Read More

By Irene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2003

This Hyatt isn't as nice as others!!

We were extemely disappointed with this hotel! I had read reviews about children running and screaming but thought people were too critical - they were not!! It was very noisy and not kept as manicured as other Hyatts. Regency Club was a joke- when it finally opened after "some problems" - it was the poorest I have been to. The concierges in the lobby were not experienced in guest services -just sitting behind a desk with no knowledge of tours

- I had to point out things to them in brochures (such as hotel pickup is available on tours - they told me to spend $30 for a taxi downtown). The resort is far away from everything with the exception of SeaWorld although it advertises "a few minutes away from all major attractions." I would rate the food okay - nothing great. I go to Disneyworld often and have never seen children constantly scream and run all over like they did in this hotel!! Hyatt's are usually great places to stay but this was not!!!

Read More

By EG

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2003

Great for Groups!

We were at the Resort for a conference. The staff helped us have the best conference ever. Buffets and plated meals were excellent ... even went so far as to have a special kids' buffet one night with kids' favorites! Inspired! Sales and catering staff are top-notch! On the other hand, however, the rooms are average at best, overall condition of the hotel needed some minor repair. If you don't bring your children here, you've no reason to come

(unless it is the conference site!) Our grand-children had a wonderful time. The Spa is great ... as is the Spahhht (spa for kids). This place is totally dedicated to fun for kids! Go for it!

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2003

Hyatt Hill Country Awesome

True, it may be overrun with children, but then you are only a mile away from Seaworld, get over it! if you do have children this place is great, the lazy river, the smores campfire, the outdoor movies with a Texas BBQ are small extras that add up to a great experience. The food is average, the beds are a little hard, but these are little things compared to being able to relax with your children on the porch with a rocker. If you do have kids this

is a great place to visit.

Read More

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2001

Fabulous Hotel Experience

From the warm Texas genuine hospitality to the lovely and elegant hotel rooms, this hotel has it all. You do need a rent car to get around the area, as others have said. The hotel does cater to families, although I attended a business meeting here and found it perfect. It is not the hotel's fault that some unruly children abound. I suggest parents may want to try to control that - it isn't the hotel's responsibility. All in all, a fabulous hotel

. Try Rudy's Barbeque nearby and Leon Springs Dance Hall for a real Texas experience.

Read More

By Ashley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2001

We go EVERY Year - Great for Families!!

This resort is the perfect destination for families that don't want to have to leave the hotel to have a great time. My husband loves to play golf. I usually get a massage and a facial. And, the little ones can't get enough of the children's activities. The lazy river is fun for all ages. On holiday weekends, they have special kid's activities like face painting, smores, hay rides, outdoor movies, etc. If you choose to venture out, San Antonio has

lots of attractions - Sea World is right across the Highway. But, we never want to leave the fun and beauty of Hyatt Hill Country Resort!!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement