This 1876 Victorian home is one of the few in the King William Historic District open for touring. It's always been a trendsetter. Not only was its eclectic architecture—a blend of French Second Empire and Italian Villa styles—copied by other well-to-do San Antonians, but the estate was the city's first to have a telephone (1881) and among the first to install electric lights (1894). Completed in 1876, the house, occupied by lumber magnate Edward Steves, also has a
slate mansard roof and delicate floral stenciling on the ceilings. Admission includes a guided tour.