Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Dallas-Fort Worth Restaurants

Abacus

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

This high-profile restaurant fits the "everything's bigger in Texas" image. The interior is as spectacular as it is warm. The menu, which changes frequently, depending on the best seasonal options, melds Southwestern and Asian cuisines, resulting in creations like lobster shooters flavored with red chili and sake. People come back for the sushi.

Restaurant Information

Address:

4511 McKinney Ave., Dallas, Texas, 75205, United States

Map It

Phone:

214-559–3111

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Dallas-Fort Worth

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2008

Unbelievable food

We have been to many upscale restaurants in Dallas, and this is one of our favorite place. We got the tasting menu, and every dish was better than the other. I couldn't find anything wrong to comment. Excellent Food, superb service, and great atmosphere.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2007

noisy... severe lighting... atmosphere? food fine.

I use to go to abacus all the time. Later in the evening the music got a little funkier and the front room (where I was always seated) had booths and provided a pleasant atmosphere. Food and service better than most places in dallas. food sometimes excellent even... BUT... they started seating me in the larger dining area... the acoustics are atrocious. the din becomes deafening. the lighting along the wall where couples are seated is severe...

making a ghoulish spectacle of whomever is against the wall. My last visits the background music could have been hipper.. jazzier ...or ? I just wasn't feeling it but I guess it was geared toward the aging types seated at the majority of the tables. go but request front room... would be nice if rathburn would change up the menu a bit...seems like the same things are always on it. Really bored of sashimi shooter *yawn* and to all.. consider dressing up a bit when you go out.. eye candy can spice up everyones evening. ITs your duty to the other patrons.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2006

Exquisite/Expensive!

Ate here in May 2006 - really terrific food and excellent service. Decidedly not cheap, but if you are prepared to pay the piper, you'll definitely enjoy the dance...

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2005

The taste is in the food not the decor.

The space is Dallas pretencious, but the food is world class. Always creative and clever, the dishes are inspired and never fail to provide a memorable meal. I need to overlook the decor and the waitstaff which seems to be trained by the team at Chili's. Despite the crticisims, it is a favorite of mine in Dallas.

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2004

Truly Exceptional!!

One of the best restaurants in Dallas, hands down. Every time I have important clients in town, I always take them to Abacus. Then when they are back in town, they request to go here. It reminds me of a restaurnt in New York, and we are lucky to have it in Dallas!

By Brenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2002

atmosphere and presentation only go so far

The food was flat. If you have to go here, at least put your favorite seasoning in your purse first. The service and atmosphere are great and the menu appears to be great until you taste the food. I didn't even mind the prices but was let down by the blandness of the food. Even the lobster shooters tasted flat.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement