Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Austin Hotels

Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Pros

  • Luxurious
  • Gorgeous views
  • Great golf courses

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Fees for extras like bottled water

Updated 02/05/2013

Fodor's Review

Fortune 1000 execs and groups galore flock to this resort on 4,000 acres of prime Hill Country acreage in a tony area west of Austin. Among the many top-resort amenities are four championship golf courses (two rated among Texas's best), 11 tennis courts, a spa with salon services, and a huge fitness center. Major 2007 and 2008 renovations considerably improved formerly dowdy interiors, but old-money luxury remains the theme. Standard rooms have one king- or two queen-size

beds, 1½ baths, a radio with iPod docking station, a 42-inch flat-screen TV, and a well-stocked minibar. Many have panoramic views of the countryside. Downtown is a 15-minute drive outside of rush hour. All rooms are no-smoking.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

8212 Barton Club Dr., Austin, Texas, 78735, United States

Map It

Phone:

512-329–4000; 800-336–6158

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 285 rooms, 18 suites

Updated 02/05/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2011

Barton Creek Resort & Spa Review

I been wanting to share my experiance. Avoid this Hotel it is truly not for members or visitors what is all the hype I have a feeling there staff or management write good reviews.The BBCR wants to take your money but not delivering what you pay for.It is way out of the way to everything.Musty rooms and stale bar beef jerky and nuts. Very strange club said they are booked up but no one was even at the hotel. Our Company Execs were shocked at the shady

staff that works dthere and they complain about the management in form of our Execs.Unexpected charges on my bill that lingered on for 3 months or so.Very disappointed and will never return. The Manager is a complete joke and needs training for he loves to avoid the real problems this club has. He is uneducated and not well mannered. Been all over the world and have to say never will I ever stay here again. Been wanting to write this review for many months and finally had to share what happened to us as ex members of this club racist and no member oriented.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2009

Disappointing

We were expecting a top-flight hotel and a great experience and were disappointed in almost all respects. The rooms are dark and dreary and clearly in need of a major redo. When we sought relief at the pool,instead of peace and quiet we were blasted by a DJ playing rap music! And then the valet could not find our car on two separate occasions. We were happy to check out.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2006

Romantic!

My husband surprised me with a little getaway for a Valentine's Day gift. We ended up celebrating on Sunday night and playing hookie on Monday. We played some golf and the weather was glorious. A really great place for a small getaway with a lot of luxury.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2005

Holidays in Austin

This place was awesome. Coming from snow and freezing weather - Austin had sunny days and friendly people. I took my family here and we ate till we dropped. The hotel has a shuttles that can take you shopping, too! There's this really great nature trail and we saw lots of deer. Pretty Cool!

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2004

NOT a business hotel

Stayed at Barton Creek because of a nearby business meeting. I am not qualified to render an opinion from the point of view of a golfer, but it is not a business hotel. The high speed internet did not work properly and when it was time to retrieve a fax, they told me to go through the output of the fax machine to find mine! While the people were generally friendly, they often seemed perplexed that I was asking questions that business travelers

typically ask. Room was fine, nothing special. Very limited parking.

Read More

By Frank

  • Expired

May 2, 2003

Bring your own alarm clock

Would you believe that this place missed our wake-up calls TWICE?!!!! The first day they forgot to wake us, we missed our tee time. Really horrible, awful service. The drapes had holes, so did the sheets and the couch. I will never, ever go back. A truly terrible experience.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement