Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Memphis Hotels

The Peabody Memphis

  • 149 Union Ave. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Even if you're not staying here, it's worth a stop to see this 12-story downtown landmark, built in 1925. The lobby has the original stained-glass skylights and the travertine-marble fountain that is home to the hotel's resident ducks. (The ducks parade to the fountain at 11 am, and they depart the fountain at 5 pm.) The rooms are decorated in a variety of period styles.

Hotel Information

Address:

149 Union Ave., Memphis, Tennessee, 38103, USA

Map It

Phone:

901-529–4000; 800-732–2639; 901-529–3600

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 464 rooms, 15 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2011

The Peabody Memphis Review

I'll summarize my review here in the first paragraph! The facility and the rooms are dream. The extra fees are a nightmare. My $179 room cost me $323. I'm not planning to stay at The Peabody ever again. I visited the Peabody in the 80s, I stayed there in the 1990's and I stayed there again in late 2011. All three times the positive aspects of the hotel were the same. This hotel is in a superb historic building that is in excellent updated

condition. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. It is an easy walk to Beale Street and the Mississippi River. The superb lobby is the Peabody's best feature. The lobby is a huge open expanse full of comfortable seating, a bar, a piano and an eager bar wait staff. I think I could contentedly fritter away an entire evening in this open lobby bar and visit and people watch. So, the facility and the location are great, but.... On a recent trip through Tennessee my cell phone died and my car overheated near Beale Street. I wearily walked into the Peabody Lobby, without a reservation, and inquired about price and availability of rooms. I was quoted a price that seemed a little high so I asked about a AAA discount and was then quoted a reasonable price. I then asked about parking fees and taxes. Self parking is $18, Valet Parking is $24, County Tax is $12 and State Tax is $17. I decided I could live with that so I said I'd check in. As soon as had checked in and while I was receiving my key I was informed that the hotel charges an non-optional $12 per day "Hotel Service Fee". I asked why she had not disclosed this during our room price discussion and I was told that this was not a charge for any part of the room and that all guest pay this fee. I was floored that she could intentionally misrepresent the total cost of my stay when I was so obviously trying to calculate my total cost. I received no apologies though, and was told that this service fee was non-negotiable and it was not necessary to disclose it when discussion the price of the room. So, I had previously mentioned that my cell phone was broken and my car unexpectedly broke down. I needed to call my family so I searched the lobby and the neighborhood for a pay phone or a place to purchase a calling card. I had no luck. I called the hotel operator to find out what the charges for long distance calls would be but she didn't know. The front desk put me on hold and never picked back up so I never found out from them either. I went ahead and made three very quick phone calls, I had to, and now I know exactly what the Peabody charges for long distance. A one minute call cost $21, a two minute call cost $24 and an eleven minute call cost $39. One more thing, when you are checking in your will have to endure a confusing sales pitch to be upgraded to a special premium floor for only, approximately, $60 a night. It feels like when the car salesperson tries to persuade you to buy the extended warranty. Look out! So, I'm not planning to stay at The Peabody ever again. $85 is too much for 11 minutes on the telephone and it is unacceptable for the $12 hotel service fee to not be disclosed along with the room rate. There are hotels that will bill me with honesty and respect and I will stay in one of those hotels next time.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2010

Peabody Hotel Review

I was booked at the Peabody for a conference there; but when I arrived (at nearly midnight) they told me that "existing guests had decided to extend their stay and so my room was not available." I was furious - they made sure I knew there was nothing I could do about it. They booked me at the Hilton across the street. No other offer was made to make up for the inconvenience (no free night, no free dinner, nothing). I would never, ever, recommend anybody

trust this place to maintain a reservation.

Read More

By RLB3

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2008

Watch Out

Way over priced. Lobby is really good, ducks are fun, rooms are not good, hard to work with for a meeting and really does not care about the customer after the meeting contract is signed.

By cnd46

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 4, 2006

Excellent for meetings

I was able to go to the Peabody for a meeting in March'06. Yes, it is expensive, but the excellent service and rooms are a plus.

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2005

The Peabody Memphis is positive

After reading mixed reviews on this hotel, we were very pleased with everything about the hotel except parking and the $7.95 hotel use fee. Our room was big, had a sitting area, was nicely furnished, and was clean. The parking is a maze so it's easier to pay the $21 for valet versus $16 for self park. The hotel fee is charged for the athletic club, internet, newspaper (which we didn't receive), unlimited local calls, and lobby coffee from 5:30-7:00

a.m..This charge is fine if you use these amentities but we used none of them and are used to having these amenities be an optional charge. Otherwise, the lobby is beautiful, thje location is great, and the staff was very friendly and attentive.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2004

Beautiful

My husband and I stayed the night here recently and loved it. I've paid as much for less in other places.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2003

A Great Experience

We had booked our room and then looked at the ratings on this site. I thought about cancelling but we went ahead and were extremly happy that we did. The Peobody was a great experience and we enjoyed every single minute of it. The duck walk was very crowded but also very enjoyable and intersesting with a short history of the hotel if you arive 15 minutes early. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Every single employee we came close to, greeted

us and made us feel welcome.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2003

What a disappointment

The lobby of the Peabody is surely a grant place and worth visiting, but do not make the mistake we made to actually stay at the hotel. Our room was small, big cracks and stains in the bathtub and the toilet. Taking a shower was risky since the water temperature is not stable: it changes quickly from your selected temperature to ice-cold and burning hot. We called this in and were told: it's the old pipes. The one remarkable thing to say about the

service was that the house keeper used our telephone for some private phone calls. Rooms were cleaned very late and if you asked them to please have it ready by 4 pm you are up to some nasty remarks. We didn't have to pay for the calls "No problem" was the response from the cashier - though we think this hotel has a big problem.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2003

For the Birds!

I had seen the Peabody on a previous trip and decided that I would treat my wife to a "luxury" hotel. When we arrived, they had no record of our reservation through hotels.com, even though we had confirmation number. The desk staff was extremely unhelpful, but the hotels.com 1-800 number helped us secure a place for the night. The room was rather small, but fairly nice. Room service was quick, but the bell service was still wondering where we were

when we left to find a restaurant. The staff told us that the day manager would take care of our reservation problem the next morning. After leaving a voice-mail, we never heard from the manager of the day. On check-out, we were greeted by a surly young man who asked us to "take a seat" when we inquired about our bill. We left after paying $42 for "incidentals", parking, room service, etc. but we never heard from the manager about our reservation/billing problem. A subsequent phone call to hotels.com confirmed that we were charged only for the incidentals (hotels.com charges your card for the room when you make your reservation). All in all, a none too pleasant experience. We learned that we will NEVER stay at the Peabody again, and we learned that the service staff at hotels.com will go to great lengths to keep you satisfied. No wonder the ducks are here. The place is for the birds.

Read More

By Colette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2001

Wonderful Hospitality!!!

I traveled to the Memphis for my mother's funeral and chose the Peabody largely due to it's location. I had a horrible flight from California to Memphis (5.5 hour delay in Denver). When I arrived at the Peabody I found that my room had been upgraded because I have allergies to smoke (the upgrade was of no charge to me). I stayed on the Club Floor and it is beautiful and the service was outstanding. The staff at the Peabody was efficient and well

trained, they were also very courteous and respectful. They somehow figured out I was there for a funeral and left flowers and pastries in my room, I was so touched. And then there are those adorable ducks! I love this hotel and will definitely stay there again. If you want a great experience try the Peabody!

Read More

By Vic

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2001

Bad housekeeping !

Stayed here in 1996. We had ordered one of the larger club rooms. When we arrived at the hotel there was a convention checking out so it took about 45 minutes to check in. When we got to the room it all looked fine at first. When I took my shoes off I felt my feet getting wet. It was then that I realised that housekeeping had shampooed the carpet and it was still wet. This was due to stains in the carpet left by previous guests. Management tried to

dry the carpet with blowers but this did not work. Eventually we were moved to a much smaller room off of the club floor although we could use the facilities. When we checked out we were presented with a fruit basket as compenasation as well as the reduced room rate although this all left the impression of bad organsation and especially bad housekeeping to allow the carpet to be cleaned just before we checked in. Never again

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2001

Simply Divine

Stayed over Thanksgiving and The Peabody was simply divine with a tree lighting ceremony complete with local children playing a violin concerto. The room was quite nice but not luxe. Room service is their Achilles heel. Breakfast was lukewarm and coffee so/so. Service superb. I forgot my toothbrush. I asked the desk for another and was presented with 2 and my tip was graciously refused. We're going again, just for the experience & I live in

LA.

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2000

See Ducks Become Hams

A friend treated me to a weekend at this beautiful old hotel. The lobby is spacious and spectacular. A balcony overlooks the entire scene, which is usually crowded, since a lot of tourists stop in to take a look. I couldn't downgrade the room for its small size, since it was so beautifully decorated and so comfortable. It's a wonderful place to stay. Though the "parade" is designed to be more cute than humorous, I found the famous Peabody duck routine

one of the funniest (and shortest) events I've ever witnessed. The "4" for service had to do with the fact that during our stay it was a little tedious to check in and check out--but not intolerable, plus it was a busy weekend. The "5" for value is given despite that the rates are high. It's a luxury hotel that is worth the price. Another bonus is the hotel's proximity to Beale Street--a place one would not want to visit if driving afterward.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement