Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hilton Head and the Low Country Hotels

Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

  • 2 Grass Lawn Ave. Map It
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Great for destination weddings
  • The beach here is absolutely gorgeous
  • Pampering spa

Cons

  • Lots of groups in the off-season

Updated 10/03/2014

Fodor's Review

A circular drive winds around a sculpture of long-legged marsh birds as you approach this beachfront resort, whose lush landscape lies on the island's quietest stretch of sand. All of the guest rooms, most with water views from private balconies, feature the chains signature beds and decor reminiscent of the South. For the ultimate in relaxation, visit the resort's Heavenly Spa for rejuvenating massages, body treatments, and facials. The 8,000-square-foot facility also

includes a full-service salon. Families will enjoy the number and diversity of kids and family activities.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

2 Grass Lawn Ave., Port Royal Plantation, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, 29928, United States

Map It

Phone:

800-933–3102; 843-681–4000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No meals

Updated 10/03/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Hilton Head and the Low Country

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2006

Not up to Westin standards

We just wanted some R&R for a quick weekend get-away. The hotel needs some help in both service as well as a good cleaning! It took over an hour to check into the room (poor service at front desk). The first room was not ready - dirty carpet, etc. This hotel has so much potential but they need more staff and just a good paint job and some new carpeting in both the hallways and rooms. Pool was very nice but overall, not up to the Westin name! We also

paid for an ocean room view - but we could barely see the ocean from our room!

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2005

Better than the Ritz

We stayed here Oct 25-26 2005 we were coming from staying at the Ritz Amelia which was great, but our stay here surpassed the Ritz the beach is beauty the food was all excellent service was attentive friendly our room was very nice ocean front great bed,I would highly recomend this property and would go back again

By A

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2004

Worst Service Experience

We stayed at the Westin during a recent trip to Hilton Head and found the service to be the worst we ever encountered. The 1st room we were checked into was occupied by someone else - we walked in to find someone else's stuff all unpacked and the bed unmade. When we asked to speak to the manager we were told she was busy and she did not contact us once during our stay to apologize. Our 2nd room was dark and dingy and finally our 3rd room was nice.

The lobby was pretty but the common areas are not maintained. There were lights out everywhere, especially in the elevators and we found the pools to be very dirty. It's difficult to find parking and the parking garage is dark and very wet all the time (even though it didn't rain during our week stay). The hotel has a nice tennis facility and a pretty lobby and deck area around the pools but the poor service and lack of maintenance really put a damper in our trip. We were disappointed with the hotel after the good reviews we read in the guide books.

Read More

By Mel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2004

Westin Should Do Much Better Than This

We were very disappointed at this property. We requested a King room and received a double. At 6'4" (husband) and 5'7" (wife) we barely fit on the bed! He had special ordered a gift to be delivered to our room for Valentine's Day. When we arrived it wasn't there. He had to go to the front desk twice (this after calling them every day for a week before we arrived to make sure everything was set) to finally find out what happened to my gift. We

requested extra towels (given only 2) 3 times before we received those. Asked where the key to the mini-bar was. They said they'd send one up. Never did. The furniture and other amenities were good; Starbuck's coffee, but the maid didn't give us a clean coffee pot after the first use. Their beds are very comfortable (if you fit in them!). Poor service can really kill a hotel, and we were very disappointed. Other Westins we've stayed at were much better. It looked like a nice property right on the beach, but it rained the entire time we were there, so didn't really get to see much of it. Would be reluctant to try again, only if Westin offered some perks to offset our trouble this time!

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2004

Wonderful Resort

My wide and I stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend last year. The hotel is on a great stretch of beach and has a nice, big pool for children and adults. The fitness facility is almost health club quality. The rooms are spacious and clean with heavenly beds and baths. They serve a fun pool side barbeque. There are many activities for kids and families, but the resort is big enough for adults to do enjoy peace and quiet. We plan to return

every year.

Read More

By Dee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2003

In need of a face-lift

I have been going to the HH Westin for years and have noticed it go down hill recently. It used to be very nice but the rooms are musty and I had to move my room three times before I found one without a moldy smell. I always stay on the top floor in the same section. Hotels on the beach need to be constantly kept up. For such a premium price, I would expect the hotel to do a better job at keeping the rooms up.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement