Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Charleston Restaurants

High Cotton

Updated 11/28/2012

Fodor's Review

The styling here remains unchanged by time: lazily spinning paddle fans, palm trees, and exposed brick walls. Clearly Joe Palma's appointment as chef has not affected the nature of this classic venue; rather, his selection has ramped up the restaurant to new heights. The picnic plate allows a pleasant introduction, displaying delicately fried green tomatoes, pillowy pimento cheese, pickled okra and peaches, a bit of the restaurant's house-made charcuterie, and a selection

of BBQ Lowcountry peanuts. Smothered in a sticky sauce, the peanuts seem a modernized, much improved version of Cracker Jack. If you want a traditional dinner, the restaurant still offers thick cuts of steaks and chops with choice of sauce and side dishes like fried brussels sprouts and the timeless creamy white corn grits. Then for dessert: a Southern-style pecan pie baked with bourbon brown sugar caramel, or a high-rising peanut butter pie. Choose both if you feel bold. They're like rich Southern blessings.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

199 E. Bay St., Charleston, South Carolina, 29401, USA

Map It

Phone:

843-724–3815

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekdays
  • Reservations essential

Updated 11/28/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Charleston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2013

Go elsewhere

Good bar but too many great restaurants in Charleston to waste your time here. Super disappointed. It wasn't good. I hosted 15 work colleagues in Feb. from all over the southeast and no one had a great meal. Service was slow, granted we had a large party but if the food had been awesome the wait would not have mattered. Go across the street to SNOB or around the corner to Hank's.

By tdavid

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2008

High Cotton was a highlight

Excellent presentation, beautiful surroundings and excellent service. Tuna Tartare was innovative and well conceived. Duck breast was perfectly cooked and the ginger infused apples were a great counterpoint. Souffle was very tasty if a bit too sweet.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2006

A Very Good Dining Experience

An elegant experience from beginning to end. Jazz playing in the background, a fine dining clientele, a great menu and great food. Our waitress was very friendly and took very good care of us. I travel for a living and have eaten at restaurants all over the world ... High Cotton is definitely a great restaurant.

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2006

Great Atmoshere and Food!

We wanted to go places that gave us the feeling of being in the "South" and this delivered. We went for the Sunday brunch. Had great food and wonderful service. And the best bloody marys!!

By Candy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2006

Very Disappointing....

Reserved this restaurant for Christmas Eve Dinner...very disappointing. The atmosphere was lovely, wait staff accomodating but the food did not begin to meet minimum expectations. The lobster bisque was almost inedible - tasted nothing like the usual, had some strange flavor, almost burnt. The "Classic" filet and lobster was disappointing...the lobster was good, but the filet was burnt on the outside. Unfortunate experience.

By Neil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2005

Great Dinner and Waiter

Food was excellent and reasonably priced for the caliber of such. We visited for our first wedding anniversary and truly enjoyed the experience. The tuna and filet were well seasoned and cooked as desired. The sides were nicely prepared and presented and the waiter, Jason, was well versed in wine and assisted us in our selection as well as explained numerous issues to us on taste. Blackberry souffle was excellent - light, fluffy and very good.

Bottom line - worth the price. Great food, great service.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2005

Riding on Its Reputation (Not Deserved)

Stay away! Ate Sunday brunch and we can report that nothing was good. Everything was bad either in taste, meat not cooked to desired level, inattentive service, over seasoned, rushed, and poorly trained staff. A bad experience which will not be repeated.

By Jared

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2005

Not too showy, but deeply impressive

My wife and I enjoyed a superb meal at High Cotton. The menu is broad, yet focused on low country cuisine and local ingredients. The food is beautifully prepared and presented without excessive formality. Lovely high ceilinged rooms and friendly, professional service complete the experience. The praline souffle is essential.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2005

Go for the souffle

A very nice dining experience and be sure to save room for the souffle dessert.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2004

"High Cotton" -- High Praise

Had a tremendous meal last night at this beautifully designed, extremely comfortable Charleston eatery. I have to say that this is one of the best restaurant meals and experiences I have ever had, and that includes 5-star NYC "hot spots." Can't think of one thing that detracted from this being a perfect night out. Hit upon "High Cotton" by accident -- so glad I did. I may go back tonight!

By L

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2004

A local FAVE!

A local favorite! Live music seven days a week makes this a popular restaurant. Enjoy the squab, it's the best, and fresh from SC!

By Ross

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2004

Excellent

Reservations needed. Excellent Beef and game dishes. My venison loin was perfectly prepared and very flavorfull. My wife's fillet was among the best she had tasted. Service sometimes less than expected- enough to be noticeable, but not enough to distract from the meal. Wine list is extensive, but sometimes a selection is unavailable... Great deserts- pastry chef is top notch. Atmosphere is nice- large open room with plenty of space at the table.

On a busy night, we have sometimes felt rushed. Expensive- yes, but food is worth it. Be forewarned if service is slightly below expectations for this class of restaurant.

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2003

Excellent!

We had dinner on a Saturday night and it was by far our best dining experience while visiting Charleston. Very warm atmosphere and the service was incredible. The food matched up as well - try the fried oysters - they are amazing. Was a bit pricey but worth it!

By C

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2003

Service and Food are Perfect

Even without reservations, we were seated quickly. Our waiter gave great advice, had great attention to detail and provided attentive service. The food was amazing. A must!

By Tina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2002

Get High at High Cotton

The food here will take you to a higher plain. It's an upscale resturant with big portions - hard to find at some Charleston eateries. It makes the price tag worth it. Try the praline souffle' and be sure to order as soon as you arrive, or you'll wait a LONG time for it. But the good coffee and atmosphere make up for the wait.

By Carole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2002

New sophisticate

We had brunch here in April and was very impressed with the design. This place is gorgeous!! The food matches the upscale atmosphere and my only miff is that our waiter was pleasant, but slow. Not a great big deal. We will go back!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement