Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Charleston Restaurants

Charleston Grill

  • 224 King St. Map It
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 10/03/2014

Fodor's Review

Quite simply, this restaurant provides what many regard as the city's highest gastronomic experience. Chef Michelle Weaver creates the groundbreaking New South cuisine, while sommelier Rick Rubel stocks 1,300 wines in his cellar, with many served by the glass. The dining room is a soothing backdrop, highlighted by pale wood floors, flowing drapes, and elegant Queen Anne chairs. A jazz ensemble adds a hip, yet unobtrusive, element. The menu continues to be divided into

four quadrants: Simple, Lush (foie gras and other delicacies), Cosmopolitan, and Southern. A nightly tasting menu offers a way to sample it all.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Charleston Place Hotel, 224 King St., Charleston, South Carolina, 29401, United States

Map It

Phone:

843-577–4522

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 10/03/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Charleston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2013

Outstanding.

I'm a globe-trotter that visits cities specifically to experience local cuisine. Within the past month, I had the privilege to dine at The Fat Duck in Bray, The Ledbury in London and Charleston Grill in Charleston. The standard of service at the Grill far surpassed many of the experiences I've had in similar establishments; our server was kind, charming and extremely helpful. Although we did not opt into the wine tasting menu, our waiter brought

us complimentary wine pairings anyways and took the time to explain each bottle to us and how it complimented what was on the table. He even let us indulge in the last drops of an unusual fortified Muscat. We were truly pampered. For dinner, we chose to indulge in Chef Weaver's food tasting menu. Which, in my opinion, is completely worth it if you have the time and money. The food itself was balanced delicately; each dish featuring an appropriate dose of acidity. This is refreshing to the palate after experiencing a Lowcountry scene that is overly fond of unchecked fatty pork belly and greasy fried chicken. The desserts were also created with balance in mind. The chocolate semifreddo was accompanied by an aged balsamic gastrique--they beautifully complimented one another. My experience at Charleston Grill is now one of my favorite memories and I cannot wait until I have the chance to go again and share the experience with my family. If you have only a short time in Charleston, or while you're here you only want the best restaurants, make sure Charleston Grill is on your list.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2010

Charleston Grill Review

Way, way overpriced compared to other wonderful restaurants in the area. The menu is great, but you'd swear the price of the drinks as well as the food will break the bank. Not at all a favorite for a local who knows other chefs can stand up and deliver superior food.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2007

A Top Restaurant

We had stayed several times at Charleston Place Hotel, where the Charleston Grill is located, but had never dined there. As Fodor's recommended it, we decided to try it. The service and food were exceptional. Everyone was very friendly without being "familiar", just the way it should be. This is not a cheap restaurant, but considering the quality of the food and the level of service, it is an exceptional value. The live music (on a Sunday night)

was a nice touch. Don't miss it.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2005

Tops every list of Charelston's favorite places to dine!

The staff at the Charleston Grill make each diner feel truly special. They greet you warmly as if they really were expecting you. The food is the best in Charleston. Chef Bob Waggoner is the brightest star in any rating. Down to earth and on top of his cuisine.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 10, 2005

Lowcountry Cuisine with French Technique

This is the best restaurant in town, bar none. Bob Waggoner is a genius, and a friendly, down-to-earth one at that.

By Ross

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2004

Just Ok

Just Ok, and that does not cut it for me at the prices charged. Easy to have better meals in Charleston. I have eaten there several times. I have always felt cramped and hurried in the main dining room. Conversly, more relaxed and more space at a table in the bar area. Good extensive wine list is a plus. Good looking food that sometimes arrives tasting bland and over/under cooked. Too inconsistant. Some say this is the best restaurant in town-

not to me.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2004

True "foodies" here, not too impressed

We ate here for our anniversary 4/8/04 expecting wonderful things. Was an o.k. experience. My husband's lamb was ordered Med rare and came out burned. They had no more lamb, but took it off the bill. My dish (Snapper) was unimaginative at best. Setting was ho-hum anywhere USA. Service was good, nothing exceptional. For people that don't dine out often, this would seem a spectacular place. But to those who have been to comparably rated restaurants,

you may wish you went somewhere else. Overall, it was good, just not great.

Read More

By Sophia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2003

No Thrill at Charleston Grill

I ate at many of Charleston's "best" restaurants and this was my biggest disappointment during my 5 day stay. The food was bland and unimaginative. There was a lack of seasonings and spices on much of the food (minus the over use of goat cheese and sundried tomatoes). Service was okay but pretentious. Did someone want to ask how the food was or do they just assume they are perfect? I should not have needed to flag down salt and pepper. I will

give credit to their pastry chef who produced some very nice desserts. Kudos to you. As for atmosphere... as a guest of the hotel I had made reservations 3 nights earlier. I guess I should have said it was a special occasion (after being asked three different times) because our table was in an awkward place. As for value, this happened to be our most expensive meal and yet the weakest one as well.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2002

New Year's Eve Dinner at Charleston Grill

The five-course New Year's Eve dinner was ably prepared and presented. The service was top rate, with the waiters being both conscientious and knowledgeable. At $75 per diner, however, I would have expected selections that were slightly less "pedestrian." Also, I would expect any restaurant having the name "Charleston Grill" to at least acknowledge the unique culinary traditions of the low country.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement