Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Charleston Restaurants

Slightly North of Broad

Updated 11/28/2012

Fodor's Review

This former warehouse with brick-and-stucco walls has a chef's table that looks directly into the open kitchen. It's a great place to perch if you can "take the heat," as chef Frank Lee, who wears a baseball cap instead of a toque, is one of the city's culinary characters. He is known for his talent in prepping game, and his venison is exceptional. Many of the items come as small plates, which makes them perfect for sharing. The braised lamb shank with a ragout of white

beans, arugula, and a red demi-glace is divine. Lunch can be as inexpensive as $9.95 for something as memorable as mussels with spinach, grape tomatoes, and smoked bacon.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

192 E. Bay St., Charleston, South Carolina, 29401, USA

Map It

Phone:

843-723–3424

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends

Updated 11/28/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Charleston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By cd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2008

High expectations

Food was just so-so except for the brocolli cheese soup which was excellent. Tables so close I was closer to the lady next to me then my husband who was across the table. The restroom line to the one toilet restroom for the ladies wround around diners!

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2006

Rush - Rush

This restaurant moves their patrons, really felt rushed from the minute we sat down. The tables turn over so quickly, the guests get whiplash. There are far better choices in Charleston. Food was mediocre at best.

By BW

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2005

Wonderful!

While in Charleston, we celebrated hubby's birthday dinner @ SNOB on a recommendation from a friend. The food was very, very good as well as the service. I phoned ahead to mention it was a birthday and we were given a choice of one of the dessert specials brought out with a candle. Hubby chose the peach cobbler - it was superb. He had the crab stuffed flounder, I had the pork tenderloin - both were specials. All in all, it was a great dinner.

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2005

///

Great for a romantic dinner. Although the tables are a little close together, the food was great and the wine list was expansive and decently priced especially for a tourist area.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2005

Lunch is a Deal

We have a beach home near Charleston and do SNOB a few times a year. The atmosphere and service is normally very good. Lunch is a steal...tuna carpaccio, soups, breads, and most of their daily specials are deals. The wine list is adequate and not a gouge. At holidays they throw in langiappe of cookies, eggnog, or something to make you feel at home. Dinner can get pricy without a great quality difference from the lunches so stick to the daylight

hours and bargains.

Read More

By L

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2004

A must!

The only place to go in Charleston. Pad Thai, Grits and burritos, where else can you find a menu like that!

By Howard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2003

SNOB not snobby

Excellent choice. On a Tuesday night, we just walked in without reservations and immediately had a table. Great good, good drinks, nice atmosphere. A must stop for visitors.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2003

Overall Good Food!

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel. They handled the reservations as well as telling the restaurant it was our 10th wedding anniversary. The restaurant had our table ready right on time and also had 2 glasses of champagne waiting our arrival for our special occasion. One of us ordered the duck and it was cooked to perfection! The other ordered the crab cakes and it was very "crabby" just the way we like it (no "filler"). The entire

dinner was delicious and the service was superb. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting an exceptional dinner in a casual/dressy environment, yet want money left over to do some sight-seeing. We will definitely be back!!!

Read More

By Marilyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2003

Fun!

Our party was 50/50 satisfied with their lunch dishes here--we DON'T recommend the fish and chips, but the chicken over salad was fantastic! A fun place to go nonetheless.

By janet

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2002

GREAT PLACE!

We were staying at the beach and came into town for a great meal...this was the place! Not only did we get great service but they catered to our twin 1 year olds! We came at 5:30pm to avoid the crush of people...good idea too..started to fill up at 6ish. Had the Pork Porterhouse..fabulous..also the bbq tuna was to die for..duck salad was wonderful! The desserts are wonderful as well..I can't say enough good things about this restraunt and the

waitstaff AND the great menu!

Read More

By isabel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2002

Fabulous Dinner Still thinking about it two days later!

Had an exceptional meal at SNOB. There were two of us and both our appetizers and entrees were outstanding. we had the crab cakes and the grouper. The service was warm and friendly and there was a nice relaxed elegance to the place. The only complaint was that our table for two was on the thourough fare to the kitchen. One of my best meals ever and we have eaten in many a fine restaurant.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2002

Consistantly solid

We visit SOB each trip to Charleston and it never fails to please. The menu hasn't changed much in the past two years but you really can't go wrong here. We'll keep this one on the list.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2002

Good food, great service, & a decent price.

SNOB provided better than average food in a relaxed setting. Our waitress was fantastic, being both knowledgeable and accomodating of our desires. Price was in line with Charleston's better restaurants, being about $25/diner.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2001

Slightly South of Charlotte and Slightly North of Savannah

We didn't let a surly waiter disturb our terrific early supper! We loved the location and thought the food was definitely above-average, especially considering the price. And, as Fodor's rightly says, the wine list was sufficiently extensive to warrant a meritorious mention.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2000

You don't even have to be a Snob to enjoy this joint.

Great food and a great atmosphere in one of the most beautiful cities in the country. Don't miss this one.

By Jana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2000

Great Restaurant!

Wonderful salads and creme burlee! Definately try it.

By Sally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2000

Very good!!!

Excellent!! Fodor's has it right when they say an excellent vegetable plate.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement