Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Charleston Hotels

Planters Inn

Pros

  • Double-pane and interior shuttered windows render the rooms soundproof
  • The same front-desk people take your initial reservation and know your name upon arrival
  • Exceptional full breakfast (included only as part of a package)

Cons

  • No pool
  • No fitness center

Updated 12/03/2012

Fodor's Review

Part of the Relais & Châteaux group, this boutique property with well-appointed and beautifully maintained rooms is a stately sanctuary amid the bustle of Charleston's Market. Light streams into the front parlor with its velvets and Oriental antiques. Rooms in the main historic building (versus those in the newer Piazza Building, which overlook a tranquil garden courtyard) have more atmosphere and a more residential feel. Service is genteel and unobtrusive but not

stuffy, and the hospitality feels genuine. The best rooms have fireplaces and verandas; all have four-poster beds. The "piazza" rooms with whirlpool baths and top-tier suites are suitably over the top in terms of comfort. Packages with breakfast and/or dinner at the amazing on-site Peninsula Grill are a good value.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

112 N. Market St., Charleston, South Carolina, 29401, USA

Map It

Phone:

843-722–2345; 800-845–7082

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 64 rooms, 2 penthouse king suites, 6 governor suites
  • No meals

Updated 12/03/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Charleston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By jazjaf

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2007

Underwhelmed

I think we must have gotten the 'value' room, because I can't fathom why this place is so highly rated. We booked online via there website for a last minute Sunday evening stay. While the rate was competitive with other nearby hotels, the hotel is just, well....boring. All the rave reviews must be for the more expensive suites. But, there's nothing to do in the hotel. The lobby is basically just an entryway and the 'common room' is just some

worn and unattractive old chairs. I don't get it. The location is great, but that's about all the hotel offers....very dissapointing.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2002

As much charm as Marriott Courtyard

When the hotel keeps a sound machine in the room and hopes that you will use it during your stay, you can be assured that the room is noisy. Except for the canopy, the room had as much charm as a Courtyard or Hampton Inn. Stay in a bed and breakfast or save your money and stay at the Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites right up the street. Other than a pot of coffee in the lobby, don't expect the kind of service that a Charleston Bed and Breakfast will

give you.

Read More

By Cyndy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

Over rated and over priced

Best things I can say about Planters Inn is great location and terrific bellmen. Otherwise, stay elsewhere. It's worn and not worthy of a Relais and Chateaux affiliation.

By A

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2001

Stay somewhere else!

This place has only two things going for it: service and location. Otherwise, stay elsewhere. The decorations look like a nice Holiday Inn -- faux antique dark wood, typical hotel linens, etc. And while it's centrally located, that also means its unbelievably loud. The first room we got (despite having made reservations months in advance) was on the first floor -- right at pedestrian level, and the pedestrians were immediately outside our room

walking on the sidewalk, so that we had to keep the blinds completely closed in order to have any privacy whatsoever, which made the room dark and unpleasant. The hotel staff was incredibly nice about moving us, but even then I found the room and the hotel just average. There are SO many gorgeous historic hotels with wonderful service and great locations -- in this city, so do yourself a favor and stay at one. (We checked out of the Planters Inn the next day and had a wonderful stay at the amazing John Rutledge House.) I think Relais & Chateaux made a big mistake on this one.

Read More

By Meg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2001

Wonderful

My husband and I loved Planters Inn and will definitely return and recommend it to anyone. The service and employees were beyond pleasant and helpful. The room was beautiful, and the location was perfect. A must stay!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2000

Beautiful, well-situated hotel

Great location. Beautiful lobby area, and rooms. Excellent restaurant on the premises.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement