Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Charleston Hotels

Wild Dunes Resort

  • 5757 Palm Blvd. Map It
  • Local Flavor
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Golf courses are first-class
  • Free shuttle runs from 7 am to 11 pm to wherever you need to go within the complex
  • It's rarely crowded on the beach

Cons

  • In summer, kids dominate the pool areas and the boardwalk

Updated 10/03/2014

Fodor's Review

Guests at this 1,600-acre island beachfront resort can choose from a long list of recreational options, including Tom Fazio–designed golf courses and nationally ranked tennis programs. Its focal point is the plantation-style Boardwalk Inn, which sits among a cluster of homes that have been painted in pastels to resemble Charleston's Rainbow Row. Some rooms and suites on the fourth and fifth floors have balconies that overlook the ocean. You can also choose from one-

to six-bedroom condos that sit near the sea or the marshes. The Sea Island Grill is highly rated, and the nearby Isle of Palms marina has a bustling bar and restaurant scene on summer weekends.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

5757 Palm Blvd., Isle of Palms, South Carolina, 29451, United States

Map It

Phone:

888-778–1876; 843-886–6000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No meals

Updated 10/03/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Charleston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2008

Phenomenal Weekend

My boyfriend and I spent the first weekend in February (2008) at Wild Dunes Resort. We both wanted a weekend getaway for much needed R & R. We got a superior rate due to the fact that it was the winter months. The hotel recently went through rennovations....the rooms were extremely comfortable and stylish and our king size bed was great! It had a pillow top and was extremely comfortable. We are not golfers, and did not take advantage of the courses

or any other outdoor amenities, and while we were not "ocean front" we could see the ocean one one side (albeit, our view was partially obstructed by other houses) and the marshes on the other (again, partial obstruction by houses). We were on the 4th floor, so we had a balcony. Staff were friendly, we did not have to wait for our vehicle from the Valet, and we had a wonderful getaway. Isle of Palms is less than a 20 minute drive into the historic, downtown area of Charleston...so we were nearby to enjoy the city and its attractitios, but secluded away at the resort. We cannot wait to go back!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2008

Disappointing

From the website photos and the name "Wild Dunes" we were expecting a beautiful, isolated spot. The Wild Dunes complex is beautifully landscaped, but very built up. Our "ocean view" room in the Boardwalk hotel allowed us just a glimpse of the ocean from our balcony, between rooftops of the tall villas (8-9 deep) between the hotel and the beach. There was a boardwalk, but it ran between two rows of villas - not scenic at all. Other problems: there

is only one elevator at each end of the hotel, and it is a service elevator as well as for guest use, and painfully slow; the walls are thin (we could clearly hear the next guest talking on the phone to his kids); we were gone from 10 - 2:30 one day and our room still wasn't made up; and the only dining options were an expensive hotel restaurant or pizza and donuts across the parking lot. Go for the golf or tennis, not for scenery.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2007

Not up to expectation

My wife and I went to the Wild Dunes resort in August of 2006 as a celebration of her birthday. I did plenty of research on the various available resorts or hotels in the Charleston area and I was very excited to find the Wild Dunes resort, which seemed to be everything I wanted in a resort (luxury, secluded, and nearby golf). It is secluded and has a great Fazio course, but I was extremely disappointed in the room quality. The beds are terrible

as they sag incredibly and I ended up sleeping on the floor after the first night. This is not due to a weight issue either as my wife and I weigh in at a "hefty" 180 and 120 pounds respectively. The second problem was the sound that carried so easily through the walls. I could easily hear my neighbour's regular conversations and alarm clock go off each day. Well, obviously these issues did not ruin the weekend, but they did convince that next time I'll stick with the Hampton Inn or Courtyard, which are reliable and predictable.

Read More

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2004

PLUSH, PLUSH BEACH!!!

We stayed at Wild Dunes for a long wk-end in early November. There were 4 adults, a 6 month old and a two year old. The 4 BR/4 Bath Boardwalk Villa was wonderful! LOTS of space, oceanfront and nicely decorated and maintained. Wild Dunes has a beautiful beach that is unspoiled and not "touristy". We decided we spent too much time in downtown Charleston, (30 min. drive) and not enough time just relaxing and enjoying the shops and restaurants in

Isle of Palms & Mt. Pleasant. (10 min. drive). This is a great family resort with a beautiful beach and surroundings.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2004

This was just a fantastic place

Took my family and inlaws to Shipwatch 213 Building C - three bedroom and three bath - booked through Wild Dunes. The condo was oceanfront and very well decorated and furnished. Walking distance to golf adn restaurants - kids had a blast. The whole set up was fantastic - the pool was great adn the paddling pool was even clean. Looking forward to booking this again very soon. Service was good - you just had ot ring up the operator and they would arrange

to bring whatever you needed.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2003

Great Beach but Security Lacking

Stayed previously at the Wild Dunes Hotel... OK and recently at a beach condo. Typical 80's beach condo needed updating but roomy. Beach access was easy and close. Two nights in a row at 3:00AM first night and 4:30AM the next loud, rowdy group invaded pool and failed to leave until over 30 minutes of arguing with guest! Security was difficult to contact and after second call they didn't respond to our complaints at all. Front desk was "sorry" and

management has failed to contact with any response. Came for R & R but left with a bad experience and tired.

Read More

By Dee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2002

It's Beachy

We stayed in a 3-bedroom condo with 6 people total, and it worked out well. The decor was somewhat blah, but functional. Certainly the unit was comfortable, and had everything we needed. Contrary to other reports below, the management in our case proved to be helpful and responsive. I liked the place overall, and found it a success.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2002

Oceanfront is the way to GO GO GO!

I don't like my mother-in-law that much, but man does she love me. She jus came out for a week & I put her up in an oceanfront villa @ Shipwatch. She was really pampered on the beach w/ great service & got a lil tipsy @ the 5 star restaurant called The Seaside grill which is in the lobby of the Boardwalk Inn, but what is important is that she had fun visiting me for the 1st time & I'd like to take credit for her enjoyment. Bad news is that she

is coming out again in 2 months. :-(

Read More

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2002

Does anyone work here?

Stayed at the Boardwalk Inn 4th of July week 2001. Golf was good. Inn was bad. Check-in is done with the concierge at a desk in the lobby. There is no organization to the process at all. Sometimes you can find help and sometimes you can't. First room we had was next to the housekeeper's 'congregation' area. So, at 7:30a all the housekeepers showed up and were yakking it up in the hall outside our room. After much hassle, we moved. The food was mediocre

and service was horrible. We love Charleston but Wild Dunes is the closest resort to town but we won't staty there again.

Read More

By Louise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2001

King Bed is actually Two Twins Put Together

While Wild Dunes is nice because it has a lot to offer...when making the reservation, it was specifically stated that it would have one King Size Bed. We went to bed the first night and the two twins rolled apart. We called in and they stated that there was nothing they could do. Then the kitchen started leaking and they came in and made a huge mess and got water all over a laptop (the laptop had to be taken to a repair shop..once again, they were

not helpful in anyway..not even a sorry)I never send anyone to Wild Dunes (I'm a local)

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement