Charleston Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Grill 225

Grill 225

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Grill 225 Review

This atmospheric establishment has been stockpiling accolades over the years, and it's never been better. The cuisine combined with a staggering array of excellent wines and professional, caring service make Grill 225 a popular special-occasion spot. Take the opportunity to dress up; the elegant wood floors, white linens, and red-velvet upholstery call for it. If you eat red meat, indulge in the prime USDA, wet-aged steaks; the filet with foie gras with a fig demi-glace is equally excellent. But don't miss sharing a side or two, such as the mashed sweet potatoes with Boursin cheese. Presentation is at its best with appetizers like the tuna-tower tartare. Expect hefty portions, but save room for the pastry chef's shining creations, which include a contemporized version of baked Alaska with a nutty crust, flambéed table-side.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 11-28-2012

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Perfect for a Special Location

    Yes it is expensive but worth every penny. My wife and I went there for our 10th anniversary and will definitely go back. This andthe Penninsula Grill are our Charleston Favorites

    by mdd251, 11/23/06
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Horrible night - even worse response from management

    My wife and I came to Charleston the weekend before Valentines Day this past year as a getaway from the hectic city life here in Atlanta. We heard so many great things about Grill 225. I did extensive research and read numerous rave reviews about your establishment. However, after what my wife and I experienced on the night of February 10, 2007, I am being completely honest when I tell you that I have no idea how Grill 225 earned their reputation. The service was horrendous. We had reservations and had to wait 45 minutes for a seat. I have never had to wait this long when I have reservations in place. The service was equally bad. Our server was neglectful and could not care less if we were attended to. The meal was the worst I have had in years. My wifes steak was to be cooked Medium. It came out Rare. We asked that it be sent back. The server brought back the same steak except now it was Medium Rare with a char on the outside. We had to send it back again. After what felt like an eternity, he came back and brought my wife a burned piece of meat that was inedible. I asked to see a manager and when someone finally came over, they seemed very unconcerned, said they would look into and that they would be right back. Not to my surprise, we did not see this manager person again that night. My wifes meal was deducted from the bill but that hardly makes up for our disappointment. Even after all of these months, I cant help but think about how our crowning dinner in Charleston was an absolute nightmare. What made it worse was the fact that not even the manager seemed to care. I could go on but it suffices to say at this point that the next time we are in Charleston, we will not eat at Grill 225.

    by kbaig22, 8/24/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Worst Restaurant Experience in 34 years!!!!!!!

    What was supposed to be a wonderful experience turned out to be an obnoxious OWNER'S SON bullying me, my wife and two friends out the front door. The experience began when we requested, at the time of our reservation, a booth and a bottle of champagne waiting on us. Instead, we were greeted with a smirk, then seated at a table far away from the booths with no champagne greeting us. I reminded the owner/manager that we requested a booth and pointed out to him all the vacant ones around us. His response was "this is the table you will sit at, and if you don't like it, you can leave". He had no interest in accomodating his patrons and the old business saying that "the customer is always right" must have been taught on a day he was absent from school! To top it all off, upon informing him that we were leaving to dine somewhere else, I was told (in a nut shell) to "F-off and not come back". As a local who's family is also involved in the Charleston restaurant business I am appauled at his behavior and will make sure that I tell all my friends and business counterparts to never dine there. Now, if you really want to go somewhere that's first class, definitely go to Peninsula Grill! Upon hearing about our experience at Grill 225, they greeted us with open arms and immediately seated us. It didn't matter that it was a busy Christmas Saturday night in Charleston.

    by lowcountry, 12/19/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    same ole...same ole

    Five years ago had the same "shoddy" treatment as some of the previous reviewers and took the time to write 225 as to my experiances...no reply. Gave 'em another chance recently...take it or leave mentality remains...couldn't be bothered by any request from client. We're locals, there's many more truely great restauranrts in Charleston. At 225 you may get a decent table but it will be by accident, its hot, lots of traffic, and mngt doesn't care if you ever come back. John in Charleston

    by brobobby, 2/15/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Terrific choice anyime!

    My husband is not a fan of Charleston-we are Pawleys Island residents-however even he LOVES this place. Best steaks and atmosphere in the area. We choose this place for celebrations and romantic getaways. Always a terrific meal and excellent service. Food is consistently fabulous. We have choosen this place to celebrate his return from deployment from Iraq and for celebrating anniversaries! ALWAY TERRIFIC!

    by bethieg, 9/26/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Worst Experience

    Worst Experience for a restaurant! Overpriced for the food, chairs in the lobby is the restaurant. DO NOT GO HERE! Hotel owner's nephew runs restaurant and does not care at all!

    by RobThomas, 6/22/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Grill 225 Review

    I was leery of chosing Grill 225 for my husband's 70th birthday because of the negative comments listed here. I'm very glad I took a chance. The ambience was calm and peaceful, the the waitstaff was knowledgeable and friendly. And, the food, from the soup to the various steaks to the Maine lobster - everything was PERFECT! I can't imagine anyone not enjoying the Grill 225 experience. I know we certainly did. I don't usually write reviews but after our wonderful experience, I felt I had to stick up for this restaurant!

    by 3felines, 12/18/09

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Grill 225

Map of



View more trip reports

· Forum

View more travel discussions