Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Charleston Restaurants

39 Rue de Jean

Updated 10/22/2012

Fodor's Review

With a backdrop of classic French-bistro style—gleaming wood, cozy booths, and white-papered tables—Charleston's trendy set wines and dines until the wee hours on such favorites as steamed mussels in a half dozen preparations. Order them with pomme frites, as the French do. Each night of the week there's a special, such as the bouillabaisse on Sunday. Rabbit with a whole-grain mustard sauce was so popular it jumped to the nightly menu, while Rue's burgers have

a well-established following. If you're seeking quiet, ask for a table in the dining room on the right. It's noisy—but so much fun—at the bar, especially since it has the city's best bartenders.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

39 John St., Charleston, South Carolina, 29401, USA

Map It

Phone:

843-722–8881

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 10/22/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Charleston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By bethieg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2008

Excellant-best burgers in town

Absolutely the best burgers and fries in town. Great bistro atmosphere. My husband is not a Charleston fan-we live in Pawleys Island-but he LOVES this place. I take him and clients here regularly and all LOVE this place. Can hardly wait to go back each time!

By willieB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2007

'strange brew...'

An unusual restaurant deserving a 'mixed' review. Outside seating (limited) is delightful; inside--especially in main dining area--in booths is noisy. Brunch (Sun.) food ranges from very good to excellent (especially egg-based plates and hamburgers)...but the wait seemed interminable (there were 6 of us). An interesting way, nonetheless, to spend a leisurely Sunday meal. Good drinks.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2007

A Pleasant Change from Standard Seafood

Rue de Jean consistently serves very good food and provides excellent service in a pleasant atmosphere. It is my first choice for visitors and has never let me down.

By mlr1983

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2007

sloooow

I have give Rue de Jean many chances. Here's the rub: The food is to die for. The service is horrible and the kitchen is slow. Oddly enough, they have the best burger in town. The mussels are fantastic as are the escargot. Just be prepared to wait wait wait for everything. My most recent meal there lasted 2 hours (at lunch!). I can appreciate the authentic bistro food, but not the authentic bistro service!

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2006

Munching for Lunches!~

Great spot to grab lunch, after some great window shopping. The sandwiches are a cut above the usual deli. The room is airy and the waitstaff was great -

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2005

A Hidden Jewel

We really liked this place, even though we were only having a late lunch. It was still crowded with locals --- which always tells me something. It gave us the feel of being in France, the service was supurb, the wines were excellent and my escargots was marvelous. It may sound funny but my wife's "Grilled Cheese" sandwich was unusual and scrumptious. Located off of northern King Street, it is not in the heart of the restaurant district. But it's

worth the walk.

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2005

Take the cheese and run

Without the chef's recommended cheese assortment the night would have been a disappointment. Onion soup? I've had better. The late night menu is very limited. My fault for eating so late. Still, I wanted the full fare. Wait staff GOOD! Cheese? Oh my...delicious.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2005

Mediocre at best . . .

Noisy and slow service combined with Ameri-French cuisine make for a diasppointing evening

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2005

South Carolina French

Interesting pseudo-French restaurant that is a nice change from the Low Country food in Charleston. Bread and Croque Monsieur were disappointments but the salads were first rate.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2004

Very French without being "French"

My husband and I enjoyed this place on our last day heading out of Charleston. We are definite foodies and this place has VERY good food...sort of chic french, while still being authentic. This may sound strange, but try the sushi. Was to die for! So fresh and flavorful.

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2004

More Than Lunch ... An Eating Experience!

We found this place while looking for something else. What a wonderful find. The atmosphere was just right. The French bread, quiche, and mescalun salad were superb. Of all of the wonderful places we ate in Charleston, this is still my favorite.

By Marilyn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2003

Ameri-French Food

I don't think there really is French food in Charleston, but as far as "Americanized" French food goes, this place wasn't bad. No one was upset with their meal, although for the prices, I really did think "real" French was in order.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement