Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Charleston Sights

Boone Hall Plantation and Gardens

  • 1235 Long Point Rd. Map It
  • Mount Pleasant
  • Garden/Arboretum
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 10/03/2014

Fodor's Review

A drive through a ½-mile-long live-oak alley draped in Spanish moss introduces you to this still-functioning plantation, the oldest of its kind. Tours take you through the 1936 mansion, the butterfly pavilion, and the heirloom rose garden. Eight slave cabins on the property have been transformed into the Black History in America exhibit, displaying life-size figures, recorded narratives, audiovisual presentations, photos, and historical relics. Seasonal Gullah culture

performances in the theater are perennial crowd favorites. Stroll along the winding river, or pluck in-season fruits (like strawberries, peaches, and pumpkins) from the fields. Across the highway is Boone Hall's Farm Market, with fresh local produce, a café, and a gift shop. North and South, Queen, and Nicholas Sparks's The Notebook were filmed here. Plan your visit to coincide with annual events like the Lowcountry Oyster Festival in January or the Scottish Games and Highland Gathering in September.

Read More

Sight Information

Address:

1235 Long Point Rd., off U.S. 17 N, Charleston, South Carolina, 29464, United States

Map It

Phone:

843-884–4371

Sight Details:

  • $20
  • Early May–Labor Day, Mon.–Sat. 8:30–6:30, Sun. noon–5; Labor Day–Dec., Mon.–Sat. 9–5, Sun. noon–5

Updated 10/03/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2011

Boone Hall Plantation & Gardens Review

Having never visited a plantation before this property did not disappoint. The hanging Spanish moss from the trees welcoming you through the driveway makes the experience so much more authentic. The house is not the original built, in fact it's the third, but still has elegance, style and pieces of the previous house incorporated into the architecture. A wedding was being prepared for in the front yard of the house. It has been used in the motion

picture "The Notebook" and other films as well, and for good reason. But even more fantastic then the house with its free-flying staircase are the slave huts. They are not very large and it's hard to think about men, women and children being cramped together in the small space. They date back to the 1700s and carry a lot of history with them. I believe the price was 19.50 USD per person, but a AAA member saves a couple bucks. Definitely worth checking out.

Read More

By Faybaby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2006

Great Vacation

This is a great place of our history. The price is no more then the other Plantations a round Charleston. I would have paid more if ask to. Also 3 great movies was made here. I loved the Tours. I will go again.

By Lesa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2005

Doesn't deserve bum rap...

I visited Boone Hall for the first time in 20 years last week with some friends from Boston and must admit I was a little reluctant as the plantation has had a bum rap for the past few years but my friend is a huge North and South buff so we had to visit. I am so glad we did! Ive been to every plantation here in town and now have a new fav! In addition to taking the house tour (which was fabulous&Asim was our guide), we took the 45 minute Plantation

Coach Tour&the best $5 Ive ever spent (Bob was our guide)&actually lasted an hour. We had lunch in the restaurant Serenas (yum yum!)&what a bargain. My friends tried fried green tomatoes and hush puppies for the first time. I think the fried green tomatoes here were probably the best Ive ever eaten (and being a Southerner, Ive had lots of fried green tomatoes). Ive read on this site many that knock the house for not being the original house but when you take the tour, you learn that it is actually the 4th house on the plantation&the first 3 were destroyed by war and forces of nature. I told our house guide how pleasantly surprised I was by the plantation and told him about the bad rap the plantation has among many tourists&he did mention that in the past year they have added more historical info to the house tour to provide a better experience for their guests. I do think that has been accomplished. I would recommend this plantation over any other plantation in Charleston. By the way, if youre there, definitely pick up your sweet grass baskets from Annie (sells her baskets on site Monday and Wednesday)&here prices are the best Ive seen in Charleston.

Read More

By Marsha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2004

Visit for Two Reasons

There are two reasons to visit Boone Hall: the impressive alley of live oaks and the slave quarters, a vital part of antebellum life absent from most other plantations today. I found it interesting that one passes the slave cabins on the way to the house. I would've thought they would be situated elsewhere so as not to interfere with the grand entrance. The gardens are nice, but there are better ones elsewhere. The weekend we visited, in November,

there was a very interesting reenactment on the plantation grounds of the Civil War Battle of Secessionville. An event like this is another reason to visit.

Read More

By mmb1776

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2003

Boone Hall - Big Waste of Time!

You can see what you want of Boone Hall Plantation by borrowing a copy of the movie "North & South" from your local library. The plantation house was built in 1936! In a city that wrote the book on historic preservation, you'd be better off seeing a restored house or plantation rather than the 1936 version. Not many of the rooms in the mansion are open and those that were were not particularly interesting. None of the furnishings is original.

It seems mean to say but my three friends and I think that Boone Hall was a big waste of time.

Read More

By Chrissy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2003

Scarlet you were right

The ride in was breathtaking. It's a must see, especially if you are a Gone with the Wind fan. A must see and vist.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Experience

Ease

Value

Don't Miss

Advertisement