Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Newport County and East Bay Hotels

Castle Hill Inn and Resort

  • 590 Ocean Dr. Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Stunning views
  • Superb restaurant
  • Variety of rooms

Cons

  • 3 miles from downtown Newport
  • Expensive rates

Updated 12/23/2013

Fodor's Review

Built as a summer house in 1874 for scientist and explorer Alexander Agassiz, this luxurious and romantic getaway on a 40-acre peninsula has its own private beach and trails to the Castle Hill Lighthouse. Tastefully appointed rooms vary in style in the main house, while beachfront cottages with decks facing the Newport Pell Bridge provide greater privacy. Adirondack chairs beckon you to relax and watch the passing boats. The service is exceptional, and you get a gourmet

breakfast each morning as well as afternoon tea. The excellent restaurant presents elaborate Sunday brunches with live jazz music. The property includes a clambake pit, which is fired up weekly so guests can enjoy a traditional New England dining experience.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

590 Ocean Dr., Newport, Rhode Island, 02840, United States

Map It

Phone:

401-849–3800; 888-466–1355

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 35 rooms, 3 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 12/23/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Newport County and East Bay

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By DP1966

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2010

Castle Hill Inn and Resort Review

overcrowded by day-trippers focused on restaurant not hotel business very bad & arrogant service mediocre food at horrendous prices no spa, pool or sport facilities no area exclusively for hotel guest (i.e. in the garden) obsolete heating & air condition in the hotel rooms in the Inn rooms are badly soundproofed grossly overpriced I felt messed around to paid USD 429 ++ (off-season) for such a bad experience. If you are looking

for a romantic getaway, this might not be the right place.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2007

Way Overrated

The only nice thing about Castle Hill Inn is the view. Period. It is way too overrated. For the price we paid ($1300 for 2 nights in a small room)it is certainly not the Four Seasons. The window panes and screens are dirty, bees and flies in the "tea room". The "high tea" itself a measly affair, dinner for two at $200+ and barely edible. I mean, where do people come from to give this place five stars? Have they ever traveled to be able to compare

it to a real five star resort? The Inn is dark and gloomy and food smells permeate all areas even the bedroom. Save yourself a big disappointment. Stay elsewhere.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2006

Luxury at a price.

Everything about Castle Hill is phenomenal, including the price, which includes a full breakfast and afternoon tea, which could easily replace lunch. The eight-course tasting menu is also extraordinary. (There is also a five-course version).

By Mel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2005

This place is the best

Castle Hill is the best. In-season is a bit high on the price side but they make it up with their internet specials off season. The last time we stayed here we took advantage of an off season special, and had a fantastic wine-paired dinner and a beautiful room, all during a blizzard. Our room opened up to a rocky coast, waves crashing, you get the picture. It is one of the most romantic places on earth. Views from the restaurant are legendary.

Service is great, too, and the people who work there really like working there - I asked and they told me.

Read More

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2005

Best Ever !

My husband and I stayed at Castle Hill for 3 days as suggested by friends. The service was outstanding, the rooms were gorgeous (great bathrooms) and the dining superb! We didn't think anything could be better than our dinner in the dining room until we had breakfast on the patio the next morning! Unbelievable....We will be back!!!

By Margie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2003

A pampered B&B

First stay to Newport and we are so glad we picked the Castle Hill Inn. Our first night stay was in the B&B the second in the beach house. This B&B is well maintained, clean and the management is so friendly with full attention to every detail. The beach house was very well maintained with beautiful views. Breakfasts were very elegant- lobster hash to eggs benedict, afternoon teas, cream fraiche with scones, custard tortes..if I ate like this

for a week I would have the gout. All in all, our experience was wonderful and Andy at the Inn was very helpful and proffessional with directions and recommendations. I can't think of any negative complaints but if I had to find something and be extremely picky I would mention that they should pay more attention to cleaning up the cig butts on the lawn and near the beach house area then I would give it a 10 for a rating instead of a 9. See you next year!

Read More

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2001

What a view!

Stayed in one of the beautifully decorated beach houses which was right on the beach. It had a beautiful fireplace and jacuzzi tub for 2-very romantic. Atmosphere was unbeatable. Worth every penny. A true romantic getaway!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement