On a hill overlooking the town of Milford, this historic mansion was built to resemble a French chateau. The Pinchot family commissioned the home in 1886, and their eldest son, Gifford, went on to establish the U.S. Forest Service, which now owns and operates the property. Visits are by guided tour only. The mansion sits on a 102-acre plot of forests and gardens, and visitors can take self-guided tours of the grounds throughout the year. The garden features an amphitheater,
a moat, a walled garden, and a number of classical fountains, as well as a half-mile forest trail.