Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Pittsburgh Hotels

The Priory Hotel

  • 614 Pressley St. Map It
  • Pittsburgh
Check Rates

Fodor's Review

Antiques and reproduction pieces furnish this European-style hotel. It's on the North Side, but provides complimentary shuttle service to the downtown area.

$$

Hotel Information

Address:

614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15212, United States

Map It

Phone:

412-231–3338; 412-231–4838

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 25 rooms
  • Rate includes Breakfast

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Aug 11, 2013

Never again

Perhaps there are decent rooms at this hotel - ours was not one of them. My daughter's dorm room is nicer than ours here. The carpet was stained and dirty, the toilet did not work, the sink took 5 minutes to drain after brushing my teeth, the bathroom tile grout had mold, and it is across the street from a public housing project. The staff was very rude. The charcuterie plate was comprised of cold kielbasa from a bag, sandwich sliced swiss cheese

and sandwich ham. For $190 per night, please stay elsewhere. This was probably the worst place we have ever stayed for the money.

Read More
  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Quaint including the plumbing

We stayed at the Priory over the Christmas holidays, and it has the perfect atmosphere for that time of year with its Gothic architecture and cozy rooms. They have more modern rooms, but the lovely old section is too full of character to not stay there. Our rooms was small but the ceilings and windows are tall, so it seem more spacious and was very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny reminding me of European hotel bathrooms, which only added to the

charm. Staff is great and very helpful - which made the old-plumbing issues bearable (the toilet repeatedly stopped working during our 2-night stay). As I understand it, they are working on fixing the plumbing, so I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Great find in Pittsburgh!

I live in Pittsburgh, but had an event at The Priory that I attended, and my friend and I decided to stay the night. It took me 5 minutes to get there from downtown (very convenient!), free parking, and only 5 minutes to get back to work the next day (no traffic jams!). The service was excellent - the rooms were outfitted with everything you would need - all the amenities in the bathroom as well. It was quiet and I slept well. The best part was

the breakfast (which is included) the next day - all you could ask for - fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, cheeses, meats, etc. All in all a very pleasant evening, and morning - would defintely go back!

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jun 3, 2010

The Priory Review

The Priory is a European style boutique hotel (don't worry the rooms are all ensuite...) in a neo-gothic style old German monastary building. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about the history and about the area. Don't hesitate to ask for recomendations and information! Penn Brewing, the Andy Warhol Museum, and the stadiums are very close (walking distance for us). The wine social hour is a good way to meet other guests- especially on a nice

evening in the beautiful courtyard garden. The rooms maintain their historic charm, but offer modern ammenities. An expanded Continental Breakfast is included.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 19, 2010

The Priory Review

My husband and I wanted to get away for the night - Valentine's Day, to be exact....The Priory was the perfect spot for an overnight trip. The staff is ever-so friendly and the decor is beautiful. Wine service from 5-7 nightly gives you the opportunity to meet other guests and interact with the staff. We were greeted by a warm fire and the look of an amazing, European hotel. The high ceilings, intricate woodwork and antiques make this one of the

most amazing stays we have had in a long while. As you walk the long hall to Breakfast, you can view the blueprints and plans for this property, and throughout the hotel there are remnants of the history of this old church/monastery. It is beautiful and we are already planning another trip to this fabulous hotel.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Aug 17, 2009

A Taste of Europe Close to Home

My husband and I were absolutely delighted with our stay at The Priory. While close to home, we felt as though we were staying at a charming, little European hotel. The rooms are lovely, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location is terrific for seeing the city of Pittsburgh. There is a beautiful patio where you can enjoy breakfast when the weather cooperates, and the complimentary wine in the afternoon is yet another touch that makes The

Priory special. We highly recommend this charming hotel.

Read More

By bmalcom

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Apr 24, 2009

Great City Hotel, very walkable and historic

The Priory is a lovely old building located within easy walking distance of PNC park, Mellon Arena, the Convention Center and downtown Pittsburgh. My son and I just spent a night to attend a Penguins hockey game and it was easy to park the car and walk 20 minutes to the arena. They even upgraded our room at no charge (no having to share bed)! Breakfast is very nice, and I enjoy the wine and snacks in the evening. The neighborhood is not the best,

but we've never had any problems. Every time we need to stay in Pittsburgh, we stay at the Priory.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Apr 20, 2009

The best hotel in Pittsburgh!

We were in the city for a few baseball games and needed a close place to stay. The Priory was perfect. We could walk to every game and anywhere we wanted to eat. It was the cutest hotel I've ever been in. Very Romantic. And the staff was amazing, anything we needed they got for us. Great parking, breakfast, and wine time.

By GTB1961

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 27, 2008

20th Anniversary getaway

My wife and I wanted to have an evening in Pittsburgh, where we lived in the early 1990s, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We did not want to stay in another cookie-cutter hotel for such a special occasion. We found the Priory listed on line and the pictures and description made it appear to be a charming B&B in the city. We were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The staff could not have been friendlier, the room was charming,

and our stay was fantastic. The location is a short ride to downtown, the South Side, or all of the North Side activities. We hope to return in the Spring to take in a Pirates game, and I know we will be staying at the Priory! This is quite a gem, and I would highly recommend it to all! Thanks to all at the Priory for adding to our special celebration! Greg

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 23, 2006

Small but wonderful with full line of services

My wife and I went to Pittsburgh to visit her cousin and to take in the flavor of the city. I booked on line sight unseen at the Priory. It is a little hard to find yet well worth the effort. The quality of the staff, rooms, and the atmosphere was wonderful. We will be staying again this next summer to take in more of the sights.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 21, 2006

nice getaway for the weekend

even though we are only 30 minutes away it was nice to relax and unwind in a beautiful place. the quiche at brunch was wonderful.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.