Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Philadelphia Hotels

Rittenhouse 1715

Pros

  • Quiet option for downtown
  • Romantic

Cons

  • No parking service
  • No laundry service

Updated 05/19/2011

Fodor's Review

On a small street near Rittenhouse Square, this refined, European-style mansion offers the luxury of a large hotel in an intimate space on the fourth floor. Every room has its own understated personality, with Louis XVI–inspired chairs, vintage mirrors, Chippendale-style tables, and neoclassical rugs; some have skylights. Some rooms have larger, glass-enclosed showers. Complimentary wireless is available throughout the building.You can also rent the entire mansion for

special occasions, as many celebrities have done to protect their privacy. A wine reception is held daily from 5:30 to 7 in the lobby, where you can relax on fauteuil-style chairs. It's also ideal for a romantic weekend.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1715 Rittenhouse Square St., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19103, USA

Map It

Phone:

215-546–6500; 877-791–6500

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 18 rooms, 5 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 05/19/2011

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jodi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2005

Great Location, Furnishings and Service!

We were suprised! 4 years ago we stayed at the Rittenhouse Hotel on the square, loved it and for some reason when we went to book again, confusion set in and by mistake we booked this B&B off the Square in the same neighborhood. When we realized the mistake, we researched and decided to take a chance. We loved it! Charming, has lovely amenities, great breakfast and a very warm and helpful staff. We will return!

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2005

Romantic Delight

My husband and I just enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Philadelphia at this charming hotel. Plasma TV, wonderful linens and a great European Breakfast filled with pastry and breads. Staff was lovely.

By Joseph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 18, 2005

Wonderful Hotel in the Heart of Philadelphia

Great location, fabulous staff, wonderful property. Just came back from a 4 day trip to Philadelphia to attend our son's graduation. We recommend this lovely hotel to everyone.

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2004

What a fabulous Place!

My daughter and I stayed here while she was visting colleges. The breakfast & staff was beautiful. I will return.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2004

A Great Find!

This place is a great find! Decor, location, amenities and staff are top notch. My husband and I took a chance a booked this property and we LOVED IT!

By Beverly

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2004

WE LOVED IT!

We loved our stay! Staff, decor, breakfast, location and everything about the property was perfect. I would highly recommend.

By Sally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2004

Great Place to have a Party!

We booked this place for a weekend with 4 other couples. We get together every year and this is the place to do it! Accomodations are fabulous, staff was great, breakfast we excellent and the location couldn't have been more ideal. We felt like we spent the weekend in Paris.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2004

Unique and Lovely !

My husband and I had a great getaway weekend in Philadelphia. The staff at the Rittenhouse Square Bed & Breakfast were so friendly and warm. Room was lovely and breakfast was impressive. We loved it!

By Alice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2001

We Felt Like We Were in Europe!

We had the best experience! Very European. Location, service and staff were excellent. Strongly recommend.

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2001

A Great Disappointment

We reserved a suite and expected to find a cozy, charming sitting room when we opened the door to our room. We were sorely disappointed when, instead, we found that the outside room had a futon in it and not much else (including light). It reminded me of my college dorm room. On the other hand, the bedroom was quite nice and the bathroom was fine. Service was ok although I found it strange that the person working there offered us no help with

our bags. As far as value is concerned, this hotel is quite expensive. If you're going to spend that much, you might as well stay at the 4 Seasons where the quality is reliable.

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2000

This B&B stands for bright and beautiful!

I absolutely loved the Rittenhouse Square Bed & Breakfast. It was newly renovated, and the decor is exquisite. Location is great - close to terrific restaurants and shopping. Staff is pleasant and very helpful. Overall, a wonderful find!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement