Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Philadelphia Restaurants

Ristorante Panorama

  • 14 N. Front St. Map It
  • $$$
  • Italian

Updated 05/19/2011

Fodor's Review

The name refers to a lovely mural rather than a window view from this lively spot inside the Penn's View Hotel. The restaurant has the largest wine cruvinet (storage system) in the country. Besides 150 wines by the glass, there's a huge selection of well-chosen bottles. You can sip them in Il Bar or in the main dining room. The food is authentic Italian—simple and hearty. The ambience is either noisy or animated, depending on your tolerance level.

Restaurant Information

Address:

14 N. Front St., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19106, USA

Map It

Phone:

215-922–7800

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/19/2011

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2006

Something's fishy here

We were very disappointed with our experience here last Saturday. The portions are small, the dishes uninspired and the prices too high for what you get. By 8:00 this Italian restaurant had run out of 2 of the 3 red sauces on the menu. The specials that we ordered included a pasta trio that consisted of tiny portions of two pastas that are on the menu and a third gnocchi with cheese sauce. The gnocchi was very good but the special was priced the

same as the highest priced pasta on the menu even though they were giving you portions of lower priced dishes. Also the sauces on the other two pastas were watery and bland. The other special we ordered was pan seared stiped bass that tasted very fishy and was not pan seared . We sent it back and were rudely handed a small plate of penne and marinara by the manager as a replacement. Additionally this restaurant touts itself as having the biggest selection of wines by the glass in the country. The wine list was very impressive, but you would think that an establishment that considers itself to be a wine bar would serve red wine in a decent glass that allows the wine to breath and the bouquet to be enjoyed, but no the wine by the glass is served in a small 5 oz. glass filled to the top with wine. Overall we had a very disappointing experience. We all left hungry. This was our first return to Philly after a long time and we were excited about it's reputation for fine dining. Unfortunately we chose the wrong restaurant.

Read More

By Caryn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 12, 2006

Mama Mia! This is one of the best italian restaurants around

Not only is the atmosphere great, the food and service are top notch. My fav thing to do is sit in Il Bar- the wine bar attached to Panorama and order a flight of wine. Its been great each time I have been there. I even did a private party in their wine cellar. Again, great experience.

By Isaac

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2004

Bad experience

visiting from out of town, my friends and I had dinner here on a recommendation. Bad choice. First we waited an hour and a half for our table, with a reservation. I've heard of waiting half an hour, but that was ridiculous. Then the food was overpriced. For $40, my pasta and salad better be really, really good.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2002

Hit South Philly instead

Great wine list - but WAY overpriced. food is average. Server was not that knowledgeable about wine which was a dissapointment.

By Delia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2002

Go for the wine bar, but maybe skip dinner

My husband and I had wine in the Il bar and then dinner in the restaurant on Friday evening. The atmosphere in the bar is great, swanky and dark and of course the wine selection is phenomenal and a lot of fun. Wine by the glass is of course expensive, but it is really fun, tasty and informative to experiment. After several glasses of wine, we told our waiter that we would like to have dinner. Neither the restaurant nor the bar were that crowded, but

we opted to have dinner at the tables in the bar. The bar area was just more lively and fun and suited our mood better. The service was attentive, but the food was not as fantastic as it should have been for the price. We started off with rather lame, tastless, old tasting bread that they bring to the table with a bowl of pesto. A nice bowl of primo olive oil with some freshly baked, crusty rolls would have been much better. We then both ordered the $9.50 Ceasar salad. It was very small, the lettuce was warm and overall a big let down. The only saving grace was the cheese grated on top which was delicious. We next moved onto our main course, gnocchi for me and lobster ravioli for my husband. Just about every entree you can order in an appetizer portion for about half the cost. I opted for the appetizer size for $12.50 and my husband went for the full entree at about $20. My gnocchi were good, light, yet filling and the portion was perfect me. My husband cleaned his plate and enjoyed his entree, but neither was fantastic. This was not a meal that had us moaning at the table, as we have been known to do when we have incredible food. I felt the prices were a bit steep for only "good" pasta dishes. Overall, we will definitely have drinks at the wine bar again to start our evening, but we would find another fantastic Philly restaurant to dine at.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2001

A "NOISY" PANORAMA

Had a great meal here and the wine list is exceptional. We especially enjoyed their unique wine "flights": a series of 4-5 glasses of wine with a common theme. However, the main dining room ifs very noisy. If going on a weekend and want a quiet dining experience, request a table downstairs.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2000

Pleasant dining

Food is very good Italian, with large variety of pastas, which were large servings. Appetizer size of pasta entrees was quite enough for dinner, after we had salad and mushroom appetizers, which were large also. Good location near the waterfront, Penns Landing. We had attentive service by a pleasant waitress.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement