Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Philadelphia Restaurants

Continental Restaurant & Martini Bar

  • 138 Market St. Map It
  • Eclectic

Updated 05/19/2011

Fodor's Review

Light fixtures fashioned like olives pierced with toothpicks are a tip-off to the theme at this cool watering hole. It's installed in a classic diner shell in the center of Old City's action. This is the first of Stephen Starr's trendy restaurants, where he serves lively (but not outré) food in generous portions to people who know how to enjoy it. Don't miss the addictive Szechuan french-fried potatoes with hot-mustard sauce and the crispy calamari salad.

Restaurant Information

Address:

138 Market St., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19106, United States

Map It

Phone:

215-923–6069

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 05/19/2011

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Phil

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2006

above average in all

I did not catch the mullet lady, but a good time!!!

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2006

Warm Spot on a Cold Day

I literally stumbled upon the Continental just around noon on a very cold Saturday in February. My feet were tired from walking and the wind was bitter so I needed somewhere to go, but I didn't want just any ordinary place being a lone female visitor from out of town. The facade of the Continental isn't terribly inviting, but that Zagat's sticker in the window caught my attention so I thought I'd give it a try. It was the best decision of the day!

I sat alone at the bar and was immediately welcomed by two of the counter staff staff. The Pims cup and special (something with a lot of beef, poached eggs, spinach, and feta on filafel) was a perfect combination on a cold day. Hip but not pretentious--I'd go back in heartbeat.

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2005

Reservations - double meaning

Food is very good, but since they don't take reservations, if you have to go someplace (like Arden theater), it is iffy.

By Carl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2004

Very cool. Vibrant and sophisticated.

This is a fun place to go with a group either for drinks or meals. The atmosphere is upscale fun--kind of like George Jetson meets James Bond. Recommended!

By CS

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2004

Conti "b" nental is GOLD

unlike the prankster who gave a not so good review i am a NATIVE of old city.. i have seen many places come and go. the continental is one of the places that is here to stay. the food is great, the crowd is usually a good one and i am pleased to say that the drinks are fantastic. come down to this place maybe you will see me. *i only gave a bad review because there is a certain almost chunky blonde waitress (with a mullet)that doesnt know how

to act. i constantly see her treating the busboys badly and talking trash about the city of philadelphia. if you are reading this managment do what donald trump would... FIRE HER

Read More

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2002

Best location in the city

Great food, better scene, great drinks. Right in the heart of 2nd St.Matt

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2002

Must stop in

I love this little place. Great food! Lobster mashed potatoes are exellent. Crowded weekends and nights.

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2002

Best for relaxed atmosphere yet great dining

If you come to Philadelphia, you must stop here. Diverse menu with wonderful selections for anyone and everyone. Dishes are delicious and prices are reasonable. It's true - you might wait a while to be seated, but it's well worth it!

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2001

Old Diner

The only problem with Continental is the no reservation policy (except for 6 or more) - other than that, it's all the best of Stephen Starr's other restaurants at (almost) half the price. If you didn't know who owned/ran it, you most likely would drive by thinking it was an old diner. Make it a point to stop!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement