Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Philadelphia Restaurants

Buddakan

Updated 05/19/2011

Fodor's Review

This post office turned stylish restaurant is presided over by a 10-foot-tall gilded Buddha who seems to approve of the sake cocktails and the fusion food that pairs Asian ingredients with various cooking styles. The edamame ravioli appetizer and chocolate bento-box dessert are tasty, but most of the appeal is in the theatrical decor and people-watching also in evidence at Buddakan's outposts in New York City and Atlantic City. A long "community table" provides an opportunity

to dine with anyone else fortunate enough to snag this center-stage space. Be prepared for a loud and lively atmosphere as the evening wears on.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

325 Chestnut St., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19106, USA

Map It

Phone:

215-574–9440

Website: www.buddakan.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/19/2011

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2012

Delicious Lunch!!

My husband and I decided to go for dinner to Sampan after several friends’ suggestions. When we arrived, the maître showed us our table and the menu. He was very friendly and very helpful because we asked everything about the food and the chef specials. After his advice we decided to go for the Chef tasting: three dishes plus dessert. Everything was delicious, especially the Char Siu Pork Bun and the dumplings. The dessert was amazing and the

wine couldn’t be better. For the quality of food, service and atmosphere it was not expensive at all. At the end we paid 110 dollars for food (dishes and dessert) + wine + tip. The only bad thing is that it is really crowded and is not very romantic, but lunch isn’t anyway. It was good though

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2006

funky fun and loud

My family went to this restaurant and had a good time. It is loud but the place is funky and has a hard driving music beat playing. I didn't like the lobster but liked everything else esp. salad with duck. I think the food and service is better at POD but we still had a fun dining experience.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2006

It's not your grandmother's chinese

Went as part of a corporate outing, and was able to share a number of dishes. The lobster was fantastic, as were the shrimp and the crispy squid salad. A bit noisy, and probably wouldn't appeal to small groups. But a lot of fun

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2005

Budda Can't

If you would like to know what it is like to eat here, go to a mall food court where it is nice and loud with tables close together, place a budda statue on your table, play some very loud disco music with a hard driving beat (the kind that makes you feel like you should eat fast), find some guys dressed in white to wait on you and enjoy your favorite chineese food. That's Buddakan!

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2004

Simply Addictive

Stopped here before a Flyers game for lunch (not the usual pregame fare, but outstanding none the less). We arrived slightly after they finished seating for lunch, but they were gracious enough to check with the kitchen to make sure it was ok to be seated. Everything we had was incredible, from the miso soup and asian ceasar salad to the lobster fried rice and possibly the best sea bass I ever tasted.

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2002

Fav Philly Restaurant

If there is one place to go when in Philly, this is it. The decor alone is worth the trip, and the food is incredible.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2002

The original theme restaurant

The point of this restaurant was to present the diner with a dining experience that is a combination of great food and exciting atmosphere -mission accomplished. This is a must eat while in town. It is a loud open room with plenty to see while dining on some tremendous upscale Asian cuisine. Very $$$$

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2000

If you can only go one place...

I've been there five times. I'm ALWAYS delighted. Great food. Try everything.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2000

A treat

Innovative food, presentations. Not overly expensive.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement