Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Philadelphia Hotels

Omni Hotel at Independence Park

Pros

  • Excellent location for historic touring and Old City revelry
  • Boutique feel
  • Good service
  • Nice views
  • Known to offer good sale rates

Cons

  • Some rooms can get noisy at night from proximity to nightlife

Updated 05/19/2011

Fodor's Review

An ornate fireplace dominates the breathtaking marble lobby of this towering hotel in the historic district. Enjoy cocktails in the adjoining lounge. The spacious rooms, many of which overlook bustling Old City, have free wireless Internet, basic traditional furniture, flat-screen televisions, and sofas. All are decorated in clean whites, deep blues, and cream colors. Bathrooms have large marble baths and lighted makeup mirrors. Upon check-in, children are greeted with

a "sensational kids" gift bag (which itself turns into a nifty little backpack) with toys; they're also treated to complimentary cookies and milk. This is a pleasant base for visiting the nearby art galleries and cafés, as well as the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, and other sights.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

401 Chestnut St., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19106, USA

Map It

Phone:

215-925–0000; 800-843–6664

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 150 rooms, 2 suites

Updated 05/19/2011

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By janeq

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2010

Omni Hotel at Independence Park Review

Our room was very clean, the bathroom was spacious w/ lots of amenities and thick towels, and have some of the best lighting I have found in a hotel bathroom. The bed was soft and comfortable, though I am not used to a soft mattress,so some back stiffness the next day. Staff was friendly. We had a maintenance issue w/ our door lock, I called the desk, and someone was there within 5 minutes. Will store luggage for free after check out. Would have

liked to have had a swim Sunday night, but pool closed at 1pm. The location cannot be beat for touring the old city, can easily walk to all the historic center attractions, and plenty of restaurants for breakfast/lunch/dinner an easy walk away.

Read More

By Kerri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2003

Run, don't walk, to another hotel

I'm wondering if I stayed at the same hotel as the other reviewers. This hotel was very dirty and the service was horrible. It took a good 10 to 15 min. just for the valet person to meet us at the door. There was mold (and not just a little) growing in the shower and the light switches and doors were covered with dirt. The room needed to be updated badly and the noise from the street was very loud. I was very surprised because I have stayed at

the Omni-Chicago plenty of times and always had a great stay. The ONLY plus to this hotel was the location.

Read More

By Robin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2003

Around the Corner from America's birthplace

Excellent location for walking and experiencing historical Philly, the nation's first capital. We stayed for the opening of the National Constitution Center,only two blocks away. A must see. We were pleased with the service, amenities,(nice, clean pool & jacuzzi with lots of towels), prompt valet and very friendly concierge. Would definitely stay here again.

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2002

Excellent location and service

I really enjoyed my stay at the Omni. I was here for 4 nights and the service was really good. The room was nice and big, as well as the bath and it came with robes. We had a view of the park from the 5th floor and really didn't notice any noise from outside although it was October so our windows were closed. Didn't eat at the restaurant as the menu looked riduculously overpriced but there are great places just steps away. Signed up for the select

guest program and was treated to complementary juice and coffee delivered each morning as well as express check in/out.

Read More

By Ellie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2002

Great Location/Not So Great Service

This hotel is in a perfect location to walk to so many sites. The rooms are pretty and clean but did not smell so nice. Noise from the street was not a problem at all; in fact, it was very nice to be able to open the windows and get fresh air1 The pool is lovely. Service at breakfast was almost rude, front desk service was pleasant enough; concierge was pleasant but did not know all that much about Philadelphia beyond Olde City. It is definitely

worth a stay to see the historic sites if you can get a reasonably good deal on price.

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2002

Fantastic Location

I would echo the other reviews regarding the hotel's great location. A walk three blocks in either direction will lead you to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall or the Betsy Ross house. Great restaurants and bars of every price range are also in easy walking distance. The decor of the hotel rooms is a little dated but the rooms are spacious, especially the bathrooms. My only complaint was the noise from the street. We were in a 5th floor room

and it was surprising how much noise permeated the room. We did not pay anything close to the book price for the room since we used Priceline ($80) so the value was great, however if I was paying full price I would have expected a quieter room with newer accomodations. Still, I would recommend the hotel, especially if you are interested in staying in the older, historic part of Philadelphia.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2000

Be in the center of history

Stayed here in March of 2000. The staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel has a great family package deal. Two rooms for the price of one. Great location. Pretty lobby. The biggest disappointment was that the rooms were shabby and did not smell very good. I like the Four Seasons much better.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement