Air Travel

Advertisement

Air Travel

Flying times to Oregon vary based on the city you're flying to, but to Portland, typical times are 5 hours from New York, 4 hours from Chicago, 2½ from Los Angeles, and 3¼ hours from Dallas.

Airports

Portland International Airport (PDX) is one of the best airports in the United States, thanks to a spacious layout, wealth of dining facilities, terminal-wide Wi-Fi, moving sidewalks, and smooth TSA processing. It serves as the primary gateway to the state, with shuttle connections to smaller airports on the Oregon Coast, Willamette Valley, and southern, central, and eastern Oregon.

Airport Info

Portland International Airport (PDX) (503/460–4234 or 877/739–4636. www.flypdx.com.)

Ground Transportation

PDX is just 30 minutes by car from downtown Portland, and is served by taxi (about $35), light rail and bus ($2.30), and airport shuttle service ($14).

Contacts

Blue Star Airporter. 503/249-1837. www.bluestarbus.com.

Broadway Cab. 503/227-1234. www.broadwaycab.com.

Green Cab and Shuttle. 503/234-1414 or 877/853-3577. www.greentrans.com.

New Rose City Cab. 503/282-7707. www.newrosecitycabco.com.

Portland Shuttle Service. 503/860-5398. www.portlandshuttles.com.

Radio Cab. 503/227-1212. www.radiocab.net.

Portland Taxicab. 503/256-5400. www.portlandtaxi.net.

Flights

Airline Contacts

Air Canada. 888/247-2262. www.aircanada.com.

Alaska Airlines/Horizon Air (800/252–7522. www.alaskaair.com.)

Allegiant Air. 702/505-8888. www.allegiantair.com.

American Airlines (800/433–7300. www.aa.com.)

Delta Airlines (800/221–1212. www.delta.com.)

Frontier Airlines (800/432–1359. www.frontierairlines.com.)

Hawaiian Airlines. 800/367-5320. www.hawaiianair.com.

jetBlue (800/538–2583. www.jetblue.com.)

SeaPort Airlines. 888/573-2767. www.seaportair.com.

Southwest Airlines (800/435–9792. www.southwest.com.)

United Airlines/United Express. 800/864-8331. www.united.com.

USAirways (800/428–4322 or 800/622–1015. www.usairways.com.)

Charter Companies

Express Jet. 877/958-2677. expressjet.com.

Executive Flight, Inc. 800/762-8253. www.execflight.com.

Premier Jets. 503/640-2927 or 800/635-8583. premierjets.com.

More Travel Tips

Advertisement

Trip Finder
Store
Guidebooks

Fodor's Pacific Northwest

View Details
Travel Deals
Forums