Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Portland Hotels

Hotel Monaco

Pros

  • Prime location
  • Historic building
  • Sumptuous interior
  • Impeccable service
  • Well-equipped fitness center
  • Free Starbucks coffee in the morning

Cons

  • Colors and patterns might not appeal to everyone
  • Business center is small

Updated 05/30/2013

Fodor's Review

A departure from the safe earth tones of most hotels, this luxury boutique hotel is bright and bold, with a cacophony of colors and patterns that feels decadent rather than overwhelming—and is a lot of fun. Birds in flight cover the ivory-colored guest roomwalls; auburn hexagons carpet the floor; and multi-colored tartan decorates the headboard. Service is top-notch, delivering complimentary goldfish, yoga mats, and forgotten travel items on request. A staff dog serves

as greeter on the weekends, and guest pets receive treat baskets, beds, and water bowls. Guests receive a discount at the Dosha Spa on the first floor and there's a complimentary wine reception every evening in the lobby.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

506 S.W. Washington St., Portland, Oregon, 97204, USA

Map It

Phone:

503-222–0001; 888-207–2201

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 86 rooms, 135 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/30/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Portland

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2012

All of us loved our suite, including our dog Sam

We stayed here over Christmas, checking in Christmas Day. It was a lovely stay and close to shopping and the art museum. They are very welcoming to well-behaved dogs and there was a bed, a water bowl and even a new toy set up in our suite for our dog. That made it fun for all of us. The room was lovely and we really enjoyed the afternoon wine reception.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2012

Excellent in every way!

I visited Portland for a half marathon downtown and chose the Hotel Monaco for location but would visit again just for the wonderful service! Everyone was so great and the hotel is perfectly situated for downtown Portland which is a great downtown by the way. The room and amenites were lovely and the morning coffee was greatly appreciated. I did not have the opportunity to partake but they have a complimentary wine and cheese hour as well.

By emc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2006

Great Choice

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at the 5th Avenue Suites in August. We got an excellent rate for a king suite and after nearly two weeks of travel and staying in non-descript motels and b&bs with quaint (read "little") rooms, we really appreciated the extra space. Huge bathroom, really comfy bed, little street noise (we were on the 7th floor), nice wine tasting in the evenings, convenient location, good restaurant, wireless internet that worked,

pleasant and efficient staff, etc., etc. We'd stay there again, but next time would ask for a room on a higher floor so there might be more of a view than the office building across the street.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2006

Our New Favorite Hotel in Portland

We stayed in a Grand Suite and loved it. The room, the service and location are all the Best! We Really liked the Red Star Tavern also. We will always stay at the 5th Avenue Suites when we come to Portland !

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2005

Terrific experience

The room was huge, nicely designed with a sliding partition, and well decorated with lots of color and large windows. (With the size of the rooms and the fold out couch, this would be a good place to stay with family, too.) The price was reasonable, and the service was very good. They let us check out quite late (we had a late flight back), which we really appreciated, too. Next time I return to Portland, I'll stay here!

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2005

Aveda with your Starbucks and a smile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Thank you, Priceline, for making it possible for only $75 a night. The room was spacious, the bathroom wonderfully appointed with marble, a whimsical shower curtain, makeup mirror and full length drapes at the window. The bed was quite comfy - great linens and pillows. Traffic noise was not a problem and we really appreciated the quiet heat and air system. We stayed two nights and then the next two at

the Heathman for twice the price. 5th Ave Suites was a much better value. The staff was quite friendly and we enjoyed meeting other guests at the evening wine social (not great wine - Oregon wines would have been nice). The location is terrific - two blocks from the Light Rail stop (forget a car in Portland - take public transportation - it's great!), restaurants and tons of stores. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 5, 2004

5th Avenue Suites, Why Stay Anywhere Else?

Having just returned from a 10 day stay at the 5th Avenue Suites in Portland, I have to say that I will never even bother looking for another hotel in that city. From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated very well. We had a King Suite on the 9th floor. They do not skimp on anything, the rooms are luxurious, quiet, clean and we would have paid much more for a regular room somewhere else. The desk is always cordial and helpful. The

internet service is free, 24 hours a day. The wine tasting in the lobby was great, comfortable and cozy. As was the complimentary Starbucks coffee every morning. We loved the Red Star Tavern and the staff there. I cannot wait until we go back.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2004

Flim-flamed at 5th Avenue

You've got to be kidding! Brought a copy of our confirmation, but no room...at least not what we reserved. So, for Friday night, we go to a temporary room. Then, we were instructed to call the front desk the next moring and see if our room might be available! Well, it was and it wasn't. It was a noisy room and we had to move our stuff ourselves. It seemed the room was the city bus stop! At 1 PM we finally got a room on the north side, so there

was a bit less noise. The room is nicely decorated. Our telephone would not permit calling card calls. We were told it was our fault. I reminded the folks that the problem was with their PABX. Upon check out, my bill had all calls charged to the room at 75 cents per minute, as I recall. The fees were removed, but not after the so-called managers had an emergency huddle or two. If you drive to this place, stay in the far left lane, so you can duck into the underground parking. My suggestion? Avoid! Overrated. Period.

Read More

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2004

Not what I expected

Hotel received a very good rating from Travel and Leisure, not sure what that was about though. Room was small, NOT A SUITE. Decor was fine, but looking worn. Service was indifferent and I thought they could care less if I stayed there or not. Imade a reservation through the interent if that makes a difference to them.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2002

As Jackie Gleason Would Say, "How Suite It is"

We had a lovely two-night stay on a mid-February weekend. Everyone was very polite, friendly, and attentive--doorman, bellhop, front desk people, and the valets parking the car. We had a deluxe room, not a suite--but we were very pleased with the room. Twelve-foot-high ceilings, beautiful furnishings, clean bathroom, and on and on. We'll definitely be back!

By s

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 22, 2001

Excellent Hotel

Arrived at 2 on a Saturday afternoon and the clerk put me in a corner room on the 8th floor. Nice big room with huge windows. Nice and quiet, nice furniture, huge bathroom... minor complaint is our King Bed seemed short. I'm 6ft and my feet hung over the edge. Also nice gym, good restaurant, and every staff member we ran into was excellent. All for $99 a night plus $22 parking.

By LT

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2001

Stay Here for Style, Service & Value

Wonderful hotel in downtown Portland-- attractive, oversized suites, ample baths and closets, stylish common areas and excellent service. The attached bistro works well for meals, both for business and pleasure. The rates are excellent-- a delightful experience and an exceptional value.

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2000

Business Friendly Hostelry

A great place to return to for the business person: a home away from home for regulars.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement