Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Columbus Restaurants

Handke's Cuisine

  • 520 S. Front St. Map It
  • Contemporary

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Seasonal ingredients are the focus at this Brewery District spot. Below street level, the restaurant occupies an 1820s beer cellar with stone vaulted ceilings, brick walls, and trophies from local celebrity chef Hartmut Handke. The menu might include Caesar salad garnished with fresh salmon and served in a baked Parmesan cheese shell, New York strip, and herb-crusted lamb. Single-malt Scotch, fine cognac, and cigars cap off an elegant evening.

Restaurant Information

Address:

520 S. Front St., Columbus, Ohio, United States

Map It

Phone:

614-621–2500

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2008

A bit dissapointed

After hearing such great reviews and even a stellar recommendation from a co-worker, I booked reservations for my husbands 45th birthday. We are from NYC and were really looking forward to a fun night on the town in Columbus. Beautiful atmosphere with an older clientelle. The food was OK, but the service was extremely slow and no comps were given to us at all! Not even after we mentioned that it was my husband's birthday. There were some EASY comps

to be given: dessert, coffee, the extra glass of wine we ordered...

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2007

Delicious!!!!

Chef Handke has set the standard for me and my husband when dining out. We've eaten at restaurants claiming to be the "best" in San Francisco, New York, Boston, Los Angeles, Palm Springs, Chicago, Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, etc. None even COMPARE to Handke's Cuisine. The courses are perfectly timed. The food is always fresh and cooked exactly to order....special requests are never a problem. Presentation is spectacular, each course is a work of

art. Then the taste...the food melts in your mouth. Service is out of this world! The atmosphere is lovely, perfect for a romantic dinner. Though one of few Master Chef's in the U.S, Chef Handke is available onsite and eager to please each and every guest. Go once and you'll want to be a "regular" customer at this establishment! Between my husband and myself, we've tried almost everything on the menu - each experience has been nothing short of dining perfection.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2007

Best Meal in Columbus

chef Handke consistently creates wonderful mouth pleasing dishes. The buffalo was fab!

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2006

CMC says it all!

Each and svery dish shows his skill & experience. Your dining experience will be absolutely flawless.

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2005

The best Restaurant in Columbus

Consistency and great food are the halmarks of Columbus's finest restaurant. I have eaten there for years and never had a bad meal.

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2005

Hartmut just isn't trying

Klummus raves about Handke's Cuisine, but if you've eaten in some truly fine restaurants, as Handke's presents itself to be, this place just does not impress. Chef Hartmut has great talent, witness his global culinary competition activities, but you'd never know it from the mediocre offerings in his eponymous establishment. What's even worse, the place has just about the most uncomfortable seating I've ever experienced, outside of a roadside rest

picnic area (and I say that as someone whose rear end is well below the heft of that of your average Klummusite). L'Antibes has much better atmosphere (chairs, anyway) too bad they never change the menu. I guess the local clientele simply doesn't demand better. Want truly fine dining in the Buckeye State? Jean Robert in Cincinnati. Hell, even L'Auberge in Dayton is better than anything in the capital. It's a pity, but the sad fact is Klummus has no truly great dining establishments, and that includes Handke's. And don't even get me started on that other over-rated local eatery, "The Refectory". Looking for a great place within driving distance of Cowlumbus for a special evening? Read my lips: "Jean Robert". In Ohio, it's the only bet.

Read More

By JT

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2005

A taste of pre-war Berlin

The food here is good. The ambience is poor; one feels as though he is eating in a bomb shelter. The service is poor and the waiters are snotty. The chef styles himself as a celebrity. Apparently he was the chef at the Greenbrier, but the resort recently lost its five star rating.

By mmb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2005

Handke's Cuisine is the best restaurant in Columbus, Ohio!!

I have been a patron of Handke's Cuisine for years. It is always a memorable dining experience. Chef Handke is totally in charge of the kitchen and he has very high standards. The veal dishes are out of this world. I love the seafood selections....diver scallops when they are in season! Amazing! My husband particularly loves the buffalo tenderloin. Anything with mushrooms is usually fantastic. The staff is very knowledgeable, friendly,

and efficient. The atmosphere is so romantic for two or excellent for a business dinner. Hands down, it's the place I want to go to celebrate a special occasion!

Read More

By Art

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2002

Top drawer

This is a fine, fine restaurant. My wife and I have consistently had wonderful meals here. It's not inexpensive but it is worth every nickel. I'm somewhat mystified by the other reviewer's perspective that this restaurant caters to business men's tastes. There are fine entres here that are far more interesting than what one would find in the typical business restaurant (Mortons, for example).

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2001

A Master Chef who dismisses his talent !

Master Chef Hartmut Handke has decided that Columbus, Ohio,will not appreciate nor pay for his traditional European training and talent. A man who has consistently won national and international food competitions against his peers, his menu and presentation reflects none of this. His time spent as chef at the Columbus Athletic Club and later The Greenbrier at White Sulphur Springs (before returning to Columbus to open his own restaurant) determined

his idea of what midwestern men enjoy eating when they go out. He caters to the famous and powerful of Ohio and his restaurant reflects those midwestern tastes. Such a waste of talent-but it pays the bills.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement