Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cleveland Restaurants

Great Lakes Brewing Co

  • 2516 Market Ave. Map It
  • $$
  • American

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The traditional grub at this pub southwest of downtown in Ohio City includes wood-fired pizzas, burgers, Irish stew, and ribs. Great Lakes also has lighter options, such as salads, fish, and vegetarian dishes. Of course, every item has a recommended beer pairing, the best reason to come. Open-air dining is available in a courtyard with 25 tables. There's no smoking here.

Restaurant Information

Address:

2516 Market Ave., Cleveland, Ohio, 44113, USA

Map It

Phone:

216-771–4404

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2007

Beer Here!

The best micro brew you can find. The environmental outlook is killer too.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2007

Fun place

We had dinner here tonight- the food was tasty, a bit pricey. The servers were sweet (I say servers, bc we had two- couldnt decide whose table we were!) but forgot our appetizer. The beer was quite good, and the atmosphere was nice- great place with a group!

By avw

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2007

great beer/ average food

go for the excellent beers, but don't get too excited about the food it's average at best

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2004

Beer First

You come here for the beer and perhaps the food. But the beer is the draw. That being said, we don't want to overlook the food. It is excellent for what it is---not over presented and a great selection. The Bread Pudding (with a Hard Sauce-the nice way of saying it has Burbon or Whiskey in it) is really fantastic (and I hate Bread Pudding).

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2003

This brewpub's a keeper

Housed in one of the historic gems of Cleveland, Great Lakes is a great place to take guests to sample "Old Cleveland." A bit noisy and crowded in the main bar and in the atmospheric basement, the upstairs and side dining rooms are quieter. The beer is great, as are the sausage sampler, the Pretzel-mustard-coated chicken, and the Stilton Cheddar soup (a meal in itself.) Parking is limited, but available on-site but you don't want to stray too far

off course at night in the surrounding neighborhoods.

Read More

By Dale

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2002

Edmund Fitzgerald Porter is great!

The bar area can get very noisy during happy hour but fortunately the downstairs dining area is much quiter. The stuffed pork chop was very good and more food than what I really needed. Service was only fair but I would still come back for the food and great beer.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement