Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cleveland Restaurants

Lola Bistro & Wine Bar

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Chef-owner Michael Symon has received national attention from food and wine critics, but he stays true to the Cleveland roots with creations he describes as "urban comfort food." Popular choices include the smoked-lobster salad with red pepper and papaya, the bone-in rib eye with morels and potato puree, and, at lunch, the macaroni-and-cheese dish with fresh rosemary, goat cheese, and roasted chicken. Fish and game are first-rate, and the desserts are out of this world.

There's also a second location downtown at 2058 E. 4th Street.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

2058 East 4th St., Cleveland, Ohio, 44115, USA

Map It

Phone:

216-621–5652

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Mon.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2013

Unique and Delicious Dishes

My spouse and I dined at Michael Symon's Lola Bistro in early September 2013 on a Saturday evening. (The restaurant is not open for lunch, nor is it open on Sundays.) We made a reservation a few months prior using the Open Table reservation system. (Without a reservation on a Saturday night, diners were quoted a wait time of 2 hours and 45 minutes.) This restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating. There is a large roomy bar and entry area

towards the front of the building, with tables and the open kitchen to the rear of the building. Had we know ahead of time that the kitchen was open, and that patrons could sit at the chef's bar to watch them work, we would have definitely reserved two of those spots, but they were all reserved on the night that we dined. As it was, we were seated at a regular table adjacent to the bar service area, which was a bit disappointing because we had made our reservation SO far in advance (3.5 months ahead of time), so we doubt any other diners beat us to the more preferable tables. The restaurant space is large and cavernous and a bit noisier than we would have liked, but the atmosphere is chic and sophisticated. The restrooms are located on the basement level, although there is a small elevator to assist those with mobility issues. The basement level also contains a small private-function room. On the night that we visited, a wedding reception was being held there. The food was fantastic! The bone marrow appetizer, although at $25 is twice the price as what we have ordered in other restaurants, is totally worth what they charge! Lola presents the most interesting plating and presentation of bone marrow that we have ever seen - it is actually removed from the bones (so you don't need to go digging with a tiny spoon), and the marrow is presented on a wooden cutting board accompanied by at least six different garnishes (two were sauces such as buttermilk and bacon), and the other accompaniments included sea salt, red onion, lemon, and herbs, along with thin slices of bread. The pork belly and crispy pigs ear appetizer was also outstanding - the amount of both items were plentiful, and were served atop a watermelon and feta salad. For entrees, we ordered the lamb heart and the corn agnolotti (filled with corn, light corn broth, and fresh-cut corn kernels), which were both delicious! We shared the deconstructed key lime pie for dessert - as beautiful as it was tasty! Our waiter was terrific, as was most of the staff that we dealt with on the night that we dined (everyone except one female bus girl, who was surly and sullen and made us uncomfortable just looking at her unpleasant face. It was clear that our waiter loved his job and that he loved food, and he was excited to explain the menu options and choices to us. We had an excellent meal at Lola Bistro, and next time we are in town, we will have to try Chef Symon's other restaurant, Lolita.

Read More

By Jack_K

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2010

Lola Bistro & Wine Bar Review

It's actually called Lolita now but this is my favorite of Michael Symon's 4 locations. It is also my favorite Cleveland restaurant as well. I love the Lamb Steak entree. The fresh fish and pizza are always tempting too. But my favorite thing is ending with the cheese board that offers 4 local (and unusual) selections that change regularly along with a jam spread and honey. And then there's the French 75's and Hot Dirty Bird Martinis on the drink

menu too. Lolita is more edgier in its selections than Symon's flagship Lola. The kitchen is open so with the right seat, you get quite a show of the chefs preparing everything. Parking is only on the street which can be tough in Cleveland winters but Valet service is available. The place is on the small side and reservations are essential as it fills up quickly. There is a small bar to one side that offers a few extra food selections over the restaurant menu as well but that crowds up even faster than the restaurant.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2004

Works for Work!

You can't beat the Symon's! If there was a 6 for food and service Lola Bistro would get it. Great wines. Used many times for business, visitors from Japan to Germany to USA, all imminently satisfied. Don't give up on the places around Tremont (Fahrenheit and Theory) both great following Lola Bistro in that order. Hey Fodor's put up a listing on these!

By lara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2003

delicious lola...

my latest dining companion's eyes widened when she saw the two tiny pierogi we had just payed $9 for. but she quickly forgot about them when our satisfying entrees arrived. lola remembers that an appetizer is not supposed to be a pre-meal...but an appetizer, to wake up your mouth and get you raring to go for the course to come. i have never experienced anything less than the best service here -- except for a hugely snotty hostess the last time we

went -- and all i can say about people that crab about empty water glasses is get over it.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2002

Fabulous!

Dinner here was exceptional! I had the Skate wing and it was delicious. My son had the mac and cheese which was good but the chicken was a bit overcooked. The server was a bit slow but only because the restaurant was understaffed. Very friendly atmosphere. We've eaten in all the top restaurants in Cleveland and this was the best. Johnny's downtown is also a favorite but the meal prep at Lola's is superb. Highly recommended.....

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement