Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cleveland Hotels

Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

This grand 14-story 1851 hotel is within walking distance of the Cleveland Convention Center, the Flats, the Theater District, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. Each tastefully furnished room has one or two queen-size beds or a king-size bed, a dark-wood entertainment center, plush sitting chair with ottoman, and a work desk. Jacuzzi suites are available, as are oversized marble bathrooms with TVs. The lobby area, which has a towering atrium, houses the Sans

Souci restaurant.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

24 Public Sq., Cleveland, Ohio, 44113, USA

Map It

Phone:

216-696–5600; 216-696–0432

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 441 rooms, 50 suites

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2012

Will Never Stay Again

I booked my recent stay by accident since I already had 1 bad experience at this hotel. This was an even worse experience -- insulted by the doorman, not allowed to use a baggage cart, room service lost our order, rude desk clerk Amanda, who insisted I didn't valet my car (which I did), topped off with a room with a view of an interior wall. All of this on top of their "losing" the free upgrade that resulted from an earlier bad stay. Awful, just

plain awful!! Oh, and just because it's in a historical building doesn't mean the rooms should be undersized.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2003

Beautiful Victorian Treasure!

I love this hotel. The staff is wonderful, the lobby is magneficant and the rooms are gorgeous. Not to mention, great restaurants and it is attached to Tower City (Shopping). Only draw back is the valet parking...which you have no choice in the matter. That is $20.00 per day. This hotel is just a beautiful Victorian hotel in the heart of it all!

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2003

Elegance and ease-of-use at top location

Outstanding single rate below $100.00 including breakfast for a spacious king bedroom, tastefully decorated with all amenities. Newly renovated, clean, fresh-smelling, An uplifting and edifying atmosphere throughout. Staff was very helpful. Only drawback for this non-smoker is spectacular drawing room with fountain next to lobby where, unfortunately, smoking is still permitted.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2002

This place runs hot and cold

Spent three nights. Had great service, terrible service and everything in between. I was given a newly renovated King room which was huge. I passed others in the hall which I peeked into and are closets. I overheard one guest screeming in the hall that the front desk put her in a prison cell. I was treated like a king by some of the staff (they got tipped) and very rudely by others (they didn't get tipped). Room service was aweful, it took 45

minutes to get a burger delivered. If you are looking for consistent service or value, this is NOT the place. Still, it is a romantic old hotel and much cheaper than the Ritz. I paid $119 a night, and the cheapest room at the Ritz was $250. I guess you get what you pay for.

Read More

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2002

History and hospitality !!!

What a Grand Hotel ! They just do not build them like this anymore ! A gracious staff provided for a great getaway weekend.The ambience is wonderful and delightful news that all rooms will be redecorated starting in June.This hotel is a landmark of Cleveland and a favorite of the locals.We look forward to a return visit.

By lauren

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2001

old furniture, bugs in bathroom

On my recent stay (March 2001), I had two extremely large insects in the room. I requested a change and was moved to a large suite, but this had an old and dusty sofa. Overall, the rooms look as if they have seen better days.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2001

Grab Bag

I stay here when the Key Center Marriott is full. My last room was a shoe box out of the 1960s with a nice view over Public Square. Prior to that, I had a huge room that had been nicely redecorated but looked into a brick wall ten feet away. You never know what you will get here. The public areas have a lot of atmosphere and the indoor connection to Tower City is nice. Service is rushed. The rates are outrageous for what you get.

By Derek

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2000

A grand dame let go to shame

A potentially wonderful place which is being let deteriorate. Room furnishings are getting shabby and the bathrooms are small and poorly laid out. A pet peeve, mould in the shower/bath is prevelant everywhere.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement