Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cincinnati Restaurants

Montgomery Inn

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The barbecued ribs are famous (Bob Hope was a fan), and you can't get any closer to the river without jumping in for a swim. This is the sister location of the original sports-themed joint, which is in the northeastern suburb of Montgomery. The menu is so dominated by the tender, finger-licking ribs that even the few poultry and seafood items are barbecued themselves or served as a combo with ribs. Sinful sides include onion straws and Saratoga chips (potatoes sliced and

fried). Lunchtime and happy hour both draw crowds.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

925 Eastern Ave., Cincinnati, Ohio, 45202, United States

Map It

Phone:

513-721–7427

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2007

Great Food, Service, and View

When I come to visit my family, this is the one restaurant that I have to go to before I leave. The view is wonderful. The food fantastic!! If you're smart you'll buy some sause to take home. If you've never eaten here before, make sure you order the chips and dip them in the BBQ and don't be afraid to get a bib! Have a great stay!

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2006

Ribs rule!

Saturday night 04-29-06 had 3 hour wait. Excellent waitress made suggestion to sit outside while getting drinks (stunning view). Seated immediately and the great (FRIENDLY) service continued. Two servings of ribs were excellent; Grater's ice cream was sinfully rich; and Grand Manier served in tasteful snifters. Floor manager followed up. Conclusion: SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT!!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2005

Go once and you'll go back forever

Best ribs in the country.

By Bubba

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2005

Food good & football stars

Had a big slab of ribs on Saturday night, 9/24/05. While sight seeing the sports stuff, ran into Chris Collingsworth, an ex-Bengal. Real friendly guy. Offered to buy him a gray goose but he was on his way to some volleyball tournament. Good food.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2005

Rib King

Locals have dubbed it "Rib King" and there's a reason: the ribs here are the best I've ever tasted. I've been 5 times this year and the food is very consistent. The petite order of ribs is enough for me, and I always love their sweet baked potatoes. Lacks ambience if your not outside overlooking the river. The wait staff is effecient yet lacks some personality.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2004

Order the ribs!

These are the best ribs I've had. The quality of the meat is excellent and it makes a noticeable difference. The sauce is a sweet and tangy style, poured on after the meat is cooked. The Boathouse has great views of the Ohio River. Be prepared to wait during peak hours!

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2000

Great fun with a group!

If you're looking for an intimate dinner don't go here. I had a great time because I was with a group, but it was very noisy. The food was wonderful as was the service.

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2000

Ribs on the River

Good food but too noisy and too crowded. But it won't hurt to visit, everyone else does!

By Teri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

Wear your bib while eating wonderful ribs

Great food at a good price. A Cincinnati favorite for years.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement