Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The North Carolina Mountains Hotels

Grove Park Inn Resort & Spa

Pros

  • Imposing historic hotel
  • Wonderful setting
  • Magnificent mountain views
  • Remarkable spa

Cons

  • Individual guests sometimes play second fiddle to groups

Updated 09/26/2012

Fodor's Review

The area's premier large resort, an imposing granite edifice celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2013, has grand views of downtown Asheville and the Blue Ridge Mountains and offers all kinds of resort amenities including a Donald Ross-designed golf course, tennis, racquetball, and an amazing spa. Henry Ford, F. Scott Fitzgerald (who stayed in room 441), and Michael Jordan, as well as 10 U.S. presidents from Woodrow Wilson to Barack Obama, have stayed here. It's furnished

with oak antiques in the Arts & Crafts style, and the lobby fireplaces are as big as cars. Three main restaurants offer plenty of choices. The spa, in a striking setting between two wings of the hotel, is one of the finest in the country. The golf course sprawls gorgeously down the mountain, and there's a complete sports complex with tennis, racquetball, and indoor and outdoor pools. Rooms in the original section are mostly smaller but have more character than those in the newer additions.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

290 Macon Ave., Asheville, North Carolina, 28804, USA

Map It

Phone:

828-252–2711; 800-438–5800

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 500 rooms, 12 suites
  • No meals

Updated 09/26/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Carl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2005

Losing its edge

It seems that the Grove Park Inn is losing its commitment to excellence. My most recent stay has convinced me not to go back. Service was deplorable. Food was decidedly mediocre. My wife and I on our anniversary were ignored several times by various wait staff and attendants. I expected a lot more, especially when the resort is priced on par with the truly superb Inn at Biltmore. Perhaps GPI needs a new manager more committed to the customers.

For now, I recommend the Inn at Biltmore when staying in Asheville.

Read More

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2005

Spectacular setting, mildewed room

The mountains of North Carolina are so exquisitely beautiful that it would be hard to mess up a stay in them! And the Grove Park Inn has utterly beautiful public rooms. Unfortunately, our room was so mildewed that we had to be moved to another room... which turn out to be somewhat less mildewed. Certainly cast a pall over our stay. We usually like to choose B&Bs because the attention to detail (including cleanliness) is usually so meticulous.

Guess we'll go back to those!

Read More

By keli22o

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2004

Gorgeous!

Beautiful tranquil property. Just lovely!

By Renee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2004

Spa-riffic!

Our three night stay in April 2004 was wonderful! There are two parts to the hotel -- the main inn which is original, but renovated with beautiful furnishings in the old style and the newer hotel portion which is more for conference business. Rooms have small refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers so we chose to bring our own breakfast food, but ate lunch at the Spa restaurant which was VERY good, drinks every night at the lobby bar and dinner

were all very good. Do NOT miss the spa. It IS one of the best in the country with breathetaking pools and fireplaces, an outdoor heated plunge pool with stone fireplace, etc. Service overall was good for entire resort.

Read More

By Mel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2004

A Delightful Getaway!

My husband and I came here for a romantic long weekend during the winter. We were not disappointed! The huge fireplace in the lobby, the well-appointed, comfortable rooms, the world-class spa, the impeccable service -- all combined to make for a most enjoyable stay. It had snowed the day we arrived, so golf was not possible. But the spa was, and boy did we make full use of it! What a treat to be so pampered and well cared for. Everyone at the

spa treated us as if we were their number one customer; no small feat considering how very busy they were. Horizons restaurant is top-notch and even the little café at the spa is very good and fresh. We preferred room service for breakfast as the buffet was not quite up to par. I/we highly recommend the Grove Park Inn and not just for couples, there were many family groups there, too. Can't wait to return . . .

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement