Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

W New York Union Square

Pros

  • Fashionable location
  • Great restaurant

Cons

  • Noisy lobby
  • Expensive Wi-Fi

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

The W chain's iconic New York City property continues to attract a mix of trendsetters and tourists, thanks to the downtown location and its funky style. In the landmark 1911 Guardian Life building at the end of Park Avenue South, the hotel takes advantage of many original details, including a grand staircase to the Great Room lobby and large picture windows looking out on Union Square. In the lobby, the New York branch of Todd English's modern Mediterranean restaurant,

Olives, draws hungry after-work and weekend crowds. Rooms are of average size, with the classic W look that includes leather headboards, dark furniture, and Bliss bath products. Wi-Fi is a steep $16.95 a day, so budget accordingly.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

201 Park Ave. S, at E. 17th St., New York, New York, 10003, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-253–9119; 877-946–8357

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 254 rooms, 16 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Nick00

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2009

Another WOW!

I really adore this hotel. I have stayed here twice in 2009 and each stay was better than the last. The service was terrific and the rooms were awesome. The Wow Suite is groovy and comfortable. Toss in the Bliss products in the bath (there is also a Bliss Spa in the lobby) with the cool atmosphere and you have what has become my favorite hotel in my favorite city. (Sorry Paris.) The best part is that it's a cool place to stay, but the staff makes

sure you'll want to return. Nothing aloof about this hotel. Can't wait to go back.

Read More

By nancy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2004

Be Cool--Stay Somewhere Else!

Were not given the category room we had written confirmation for...none were available, but would try to fix things the next day. I have heard of being upgraded, but never downgraded. Showed another room, equally unsatisfactory with a closet that would fit two coats only. We opted to go to another hotel. My travel agent contacted manager, who told her that he offered us another room in the same category as well as a free breakfast, all which were

untrue. Obviously, they don't care; you shouldn't either--try another place.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 17, 2002

No thank you

Won't be returning to the W Union Square. I agree that the rooms are like caves - dark, albeit hip in a fleeting trendy sort of way. I don't, however, want to hear my neighbor's television or shower, nor strange noises from the AC that kept me from sleeping.

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2002

Whatever, whenever works for me!

From the very start of our W experience everything was perfect. Bert checked us in, stored the baggage. The concierge assisted us with all the info we requested for local salons & theatre tickets, and both of them made it all seem easy. The view was amazing, the room service was prompt & courteous. They even threw in an additional fruit smoothie because breakfast was five minutes late. The W spa had been open just two weeks and was usually closed

on Sundays, but due to demand opened from 2 p.m. - 7 p.m. And I had one of the best massages I've ever had at a hotel spa. It actually rivaled the Two Bunch Palms experience in Palm Springs, which is quite the compliment. Jasmine also treated my face to an exquisite facial! Anyway, I highly suggest the W Times Square for everything you love about New York City & to do it without the things you don't like about the city (rude, impatience service, etc.) makes for the perfect weekend! It's an oasis on Times Square!

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2002

Service? Whatever.

Relatively spacious rooms, in a cool but pretentious atmosphere, combined with extremely spotty service made my experience utterly forgetable.

By Lois

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2002

Like living in a cave

I travel weekly for business and have stayed at many, many hotels. I stayed at the W Union Square for 10 straight days in March. The room was small, square dark -- felt like I was living in a cave. The front desk service was a joke... no place for breakfast before 8:30 on a Sat. morning -- not acceptable for a 'full service hotel' Bathrooms are cool and the grass in the lobby is cool .. but definitely will not be staying here (or any W) again.

By Cherie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2002

trendy and warm

This place combines great elements of trendy atmosphere and warmth. The room was spacious, very clean, cozy and the beds are divine! The whole lobby is very cool!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement