Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

Library Hotel Manhattan

Pros

  • Fun rooftop bar
  • Playful book themes
  • Stylish rooms

Cons

  • Rooftop sometimes reserved for events
  • More books in rooms themselves would be nice

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Bookishly handsome, this stately landmark brownstone, built in 1900, is inspired by the nearby New York Public Library—each of its 10 floors is dedicated to one of the 10 categories of the Dewey Decimal System and is stocked with art and books relevant to a subtopic such as erotica, astronomy, or biography—let your interests guide your choice. The staff is hospitable, and the whole property is old-leather-armchair comfortable, whether you're unwinding in front of the

library fireplace, partaking in the complimentary wine and cheese or continental breakfast, or relaxing in the roof garden. The hotel has no gym but offers complimentary passes to a nearby New York Sports Club.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

299 Madison Ave., at E. 41st Street, New York, New York, 10017, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-983–4500; 212-983–4500

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 52 rooms, 8 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2013

A gem in the heart of Manhatten

Stayed here four nights in the "Love" room, darling room with a little balcony overlooking Madison Avenue. It rained one day, but we were able to use the little table and chairs for our (included and delicious) continental breakfast and late night cocktails. So romantic! The Library Hotel is convenient to everywhere, so yes, it's pricey, but consider what you are saving on cab fare if you like to walk the city. Consider what you are saving on breakfast,

and when you throw in the wine and cheese at 5pm, free access to the New York Sports Club at 36th & Madison, the incredible personalized service - well, this is a great deal. The rooms are the size of the large hotel chains, with so many more amenities. We will stay here from now on whenever we are in New York.

Read More

By laurela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 3, 2009

Special Experience

Celebrated my husband's 60th with a family reunion in his home town. The Library was ery welcoming, charming and comfortable. Location was fantastic; very near Bryant Park + the great shopping on Madison Ave and 5th Aves. Bathroom was wonderful, very large. Room was a tad small but we were rarely there, and even so it was comfortable and never felt cramped. Breakfast was really good, and we got together with the family in the late afternoon to

make our evening plans. Other guests seemed mainly to be British tourists. We're going back next year for a few days and can't wait.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 10, 2004

Wonderful, simply wonderful

We just got back from a weekend at the Library Hotel. I can't say enough about it; it was simply wonderful. One step in the hotel lobby and you are completely whisked away from the hustle and bustle of midtown. The serenity of the lobby is so inviting. All of the staff is superb - all of it. We stayed in a junior suite with king bed (I had read that some other rooms are a bit small). This room was wonderfully appointed, clean, neat and well maintained.

And it was nice and bright, not dark and dim. The room has a warm, relaxing and inviting feeling. The books in the room were varied withing the theme of the room. Ok, so you can hear a bit of the noise from the street, but heck, this IS midtown afterall, not the middle of the woods. The continental breakfast each morning was delicious; the afternoon wine and cheese reception was simply lovely. And the hotel's location - it's just one block away and around the corner from Grand Central; it's a comfortable walk to Times Square and the theatres, and convenient to shopping and restaurants. Overall, what more could you ask for? We certainly plan to stay here again and highly recommend it to any one planning a weekend in NYC.

Read More

By cat

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2003

Comfortable and Chic!

Just spent three nights at The Library hotel. We had a king junior suite which was absolutley wonderful. Room was spacious, bright, lots of windows (that actually open) with a great view of Madison Ave and Public Library. It also had modern but comfy furnishings and beautiful bathroom. (The hotel does a good job of soundproofing the rooms, but since this room was right on Madison Ave. it was still a little noisy at night. We didn't mind and the

hotel also provides a CD/Soundsoother/clock radio in each room which definitely helps cover some of the street noise.) The hotel concept is really cool, especially since we are voracious readers. The public spaces are wonderful. Lovely breakfast room on the second floor. Great greenhouse, lounge area and terraces on 14th floor. We spent a lot of time in the hotel, but little in our actual room. We really liked hanging out in the public areas. Good deluxe continental breakfast comes with the room. There is always complimentary coffee, tea, bottled water, cookies, fruit and (sometimes) wine and cheese available. Complimentary video rentals also. Overall the place was plush. We felt right at home. We booked over the internet, so we got a pretty good rate for the large room we had. Our only complaints were the scarcity of staff at times. It was sometimes hard to get service, however, when we did, it was very attentive and pleasant. Also, the restaurant attached to hotel called Branzini is wonderful. The food was excellent. However, they were hardly ever open, and since they are the source of the hotel's room service, it was hit or miss. I'm not really sure why the restaurant would be closed at 8:30 on a Friday night and 7:30 on a Saturday night. Overall, our stay was really enhanced by this wonderful facility. The location is perfect. We now consider it our home away from home and can't wait to go back!

Read More

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2003

Home away from home

I had the pleasure of staying at the library hotel for one weekend. This being my first time in New York I was a bit apprehensive about my surroundings, but thankfully the staff at the Library Hotel was there to help. Not only were the rooms fabulous, nicely appointed including books in topic with your room name, but the service was second to none. We were able to get everything from the basic, best way to get to ‘X’, but also getting a cab

on Friday at 5:15 PM, which if you have been to New York you know it can be difficult. They were consistently going above and beyond expectations and were always there to help and make sure our stay was a comfortable one. The hotel is ideally located just a block from Grand Central and just a few blocks from Times Square and the Theater District. The hotel acts as your gateway to New York and never fails to impress. Should you find yourself looking for a place to stay in New York I highly recommend this hotel as your home away from home.

Read More

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2002

Verrry nice...

We loved the Library Hotel. The rooms, while small, were very tastefully decorated. The terraces on the 14th floor were a wonderful place to relax as was the reading room on the 2nd floor. Wine and cheese on weeknights was great though it would have been nice on weekends, too. Service was friendly and attentive.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

If you like to read....

This is a marvelous, somewhat quirky, hotel. The room numbers are based on the Dewey decimal system, and each room has a theme with an assortment of books related to that theme. If you have a special interest ask at the desk.

By Allison

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2002

very pleasant

We stayed at the Library Hotel for a weekend in February. The concept is what won us over -- books in every room!The special weekend deal ($149) was amazing, particularly since we were upgraded to the Deluxe Queen. We loved the reading rooms, the breakfast, and the wine and cheese hour. The neighborhood is pretty deserted at night (more of a business district), but the restaurant was very active. Our room was very nicely furnished, quiet, and spacious.

Our only complaint was the rough sheets that felt like sandpaper. The service was very polite and attentive.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement