Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

The Blakely New York

Pros

  • All rooms have kitchenettes
  • Central location
  • Good-size rooms
  • Acclaimed restaurant

Cons

  • Rooms facing 54th Street can be noisy
  • Some rooms have little natural light
  • Expensive

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

It may be a tried-and-true design motif, but it's hard to resist the English gentlemen's club when it's done right. The Blakely plays it up, with Chesterfield sofas and wood paneling in the lobby. Expect conveniences of home in this boutique Midtown hotel, such as full kitchenettes (sink, mini-fridge, and microwave), free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are both functional and comfortable, with large work desks, Frette robes, and pillow-top beds. The fitness

center is open 24-hours a day and a complimentary New York Times is delivered daily. Room service is provided by Abboccato, a stylish Italian restaurant with exposed brick walls that gathers a large after-work crowd and also operates the hotel bar.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

136 W. 55th St., between 6th and 7th Aves., New York, New York, 10019, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-245–1800; 800-735–0710

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 60 rooms, 58 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By TC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2009

The Blakely Review

Excellent location with easy access to subway or walking to UES or UWS. Rooms are large (by NY standards) and have well appointed baths. The deluxe rooms have small sitting areas and the suites are huge. Wonderful staff and a great little restaurant. Many other lovely dining options very nearby with a great breakfast take-out just across the street. Love The Blakely.

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2006

Excellence at its best.

Rooms were oversized for NYC, richly appointed. Best of all the staff was great.

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2005

Loved The Blakely!

Loved The Blakely! Top marks for location, cleanliness and spacious comfort. We stayed for 3 nights (end of August) and can't wait to go back. We requested and received a room on the 2nd floor (my husband won't use elevators), which allowed us to easily walk up to the 2nd floor. Our room faced 55th St. We kept the fan running through the night, therefore didn't notice street noise. The window had a roller blind which blocked almost all light.

All staff were extremely courteous, efficent and professional. We didn't realize until we returned home that we had left something behind in the room. After enquiring about our lost item a week later we've learned that they found it and will be sending it via courier immediately.

Read More

By Austin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2003

The Gorham - A great find!

We loved the Gorham. Great location, friendly staff (Hi Daniel!) and very comfortable Queen Sized beds. I've never slept so soundly in a hotel - let alone a NYC hotel. This is a rare find, and at $135 a night. While in NYC, we visited some big hotels in the area and decided that the small, quaint, botique Gorham is where we'll visit again and again.

By Sal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2003

Nice small hotel

If you appreciate a small, quiet place the Gorham is for you. Our room had a king bed, and absolutely NO view (I didn't care), but was clean and modernly outfitted. I tend to not use any services at hotels, so can't comment on that. We did have a screw up with our reservation - which may, or may not, have been our fault, but they graciously accomodated us in spite of being very full.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2003

Our favorite

We've tried many hotels in Nwew York and this has become our favorite. Sensational location and marvelous appointments and service. Especially the breakfast room. Try the waffles. The desk couldn't be more helpful.

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2002

These Little Town Blues.....

Sorry, but not much to complain about, as far as hotels go. It's a small hotel, as advertised. Clean and cheery, although I thought the breakfast buffet was a bit pricey for what was offered. The fruit in lobby and paper everyday was a plus. The location is terrific. I would definitely return to The Gorham.

By Connie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2002

Gorham Great for Girl's Weekend

Just returned from a great trip to New York City with three other girlfriends. Found the Gorham to be a great, centrally located hotel for our group. We had a suite with two queen beds a small sitting room with sleeper sofa, a mini kitchen and very nice bath. Rooms are not elegantly decorated, but comfortable and clean. The bath is especially nice. Staff was polite and helpful, and we really enjoyed the buffet breakfast included in our reasonable

room rate. We had a fabulous visit to the city.

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2002

if this is a europian boutique stick with america

went up for the weekend with girl friends for a fun get away. arrived around 10:00pm tired and no room service to be had. staff, during the weekend, was not accomodating or friendly. the only exception was the door man who was wonderful. He was where we got all our information. ie. subway, restaurants etc. we had booked a special that gave breakfast and tourist coupons and metro cards. they were out of metro cards. we had to go back to the desk ,

each day, and ask for them. this wouldn't have been so bad if they hadn't questioned us , each time, as if we were trying to rip them off. we were told we already received them for the weekend and couldn't get anymore. luckily , a staff member remembered one of us and explained the situation. (they had been out of cards the night before) the interenet service that was boasted was either out of order or someone was always using it. we had to use our cell phones to try and change our train reservations. we have stayed at many places, including the rennaissance, millennium broadway and broadway inn. All of which i would stay at over the gorham. on a positive note the bathrooms were very nice. that is about it.

Read More

By Mickey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2001

Tucked Away from the Hustle and Bustle

A wonderful gem! This hotel -- ideally located near Broadway, Times Square, and Central Park -- had wonderfully spacious rooms, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Of special note was the huge bathroom -- with a digital whirlpool bathtub. Sweet! The room decor has a bit to be desired (clean and updated, but shiny red wood abounds, and the bedspread patterns are dizzying). PLUS, we got a KILLER price -- I hunted around, and this was by far the

best deal!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2001

It was the reason I started liking New York City again

For a while I didn't like New York for all the reasons we know, but when I stayed at this hotel on a business trip, the staff made me like New York again. The room was really decent, the cocktail hour was great, the service was very efficient and courteous and above all, the price was fair. That's hard to find these days in any big city.

By yayoye

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2000

narrow but nice

I've stayed in both a suite and a room. The suite was nice, but I think the rooms are better value as you get a nice bathroom and fridge facilities. The suite was long and narrow , so the bathroom was a long walk down the hall from the bedroom, but it would be good if you need two separate rooms (eg. if with kids). The location is good. I ran into the President of the hotel one day in the elevator - he lives in the hotel, so that might tell you

something about how it is kept. The staff were fine and security conscious. It's in a good location. I would recommend this hotel.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement