Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

The Michelangelo

Pros

  • Good location
  • Spacious rooms

Cons

  • Noisy air-conditioning units
  • Some rooms have limited views
  • Small closets
  • In-room fixtures need some updating

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

Italophiles will feel like they've been transported to the good life in the Mediterranean at this deluxe hotel, where the long, wide lobby lounge is clad with multihue marble and Veronese-style oil paintings. Upstairs, rooms are spacious, averaging 475 square feet. You can choose contemporary, neoclassical, Art Deco, or French country styles—all have marble foyers and marble bathrooms equipped with bidets and oversize 55-gallon tubs (the different styles really just

have to do with different color schemes). Complimentary cappuccino, pastries, and other Italian treats are served each morning in the baroque lobby lounge, which becomes a cozy bar later in the day. The hotel is a few blocks from Rockefeller Center and 5th Avenue shopping.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

152 W. 51st St., at 7th Ave., New York, New York, 10019, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-765–1900; 800-237–0990

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 123 rooms, 56 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2008

My favorite NYC hotel

The location, not far from Times Square is perfect for theater go-ers. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the rooms a decent size. Considering how expensive NYC hotels can be, I think this one is excellent value (particularly, if like me you are fussy about getting a room with a king size bed). Standard king rooms are fine. The junior suites are a little bigger with nicer bathrooms, but both are good.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2007

Exceeded Expectations in Every Way!

This hotel was booked by someone else on my behalf - and I was skeptical on what to expect until I checked in! I do not usually fill in these ratings, but I was truly impressed by virtually all elements. Location.... large room... reasonable prices (for Manhattan) and incredible decor! Bottom line...cannot be beat. Only suggestion for improvement - charging for internet connection in the room is petty and "so yesterday". Reminds me of when hotels

used to charge to use an iron or pay for air conditioning use. But then, this hotel is not unique in this regard . I suppose that time will address this as well.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 11, 2007

Hidden gem

Beautifull small and quiet hotel. Rooms (including bathrooms) are very large. immaculate and nicely furnished.Great location 1 block from Rockefeller Center. Hard to beat in NYC except if you want a room with a NYC city view (not at this hotel)

By Lindsay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2006

Beware of the "Free Upgrade"

I booked months ago for my wedding anniversary weekend and we were really looking forward to staying in a luxurous hotel for the weekend. When we checked in, we were offered a "free upgrade to a condominium" which we happily accepted. We were shocked to be led down a labyrinth of dingy corridors to a dark, shabby and completely unappealing room. The maid that they sent to hastily clean the room let on that they had overbooked the hotel by ten guests

that night and were looking for guests (read suckers) to go into their far less plush extended stay condomiumiums next door. To their credit, they moved us immediately when we complained, but I was left wondering what the fate was of the other guests who arrived later than we did and were not provided the type of rooms they had reserved months ago. One other compaint - the air conditioning in our new room was terribly loud and woke us up every time it clicked on - about every hour. Apart from that, the (new) room was very nice, the service was excellent and the location is great. So we did end up having a very nice stay.

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2005

Like a quick trip to Firenze

My husband and I enjoyed an evening at this hotel this weekend, and it was lovely. Large inviting room (no view) in French decor, sitting room, bar area, plush towels and robes, top shelf bath products, box of Godivas to greet us at turndown. The restaurant is closed for renovation so the promised 'Italian pastry breakfast' was disppointingly standard continental fare, but the location was a block from the heart of Times Square yet quiet when it

needed to be. A great splurge.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 15, 2005

An island of quiet luxury surrounded by furious activity!

We'll never stay at the Plaza if there are rooms at this hotel-- bigger, prettier, better location for getting around on foot.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2004

Big rooms, lousy service

Rooms were huge. Bathroom and tub were massive. Service was inexcusable. Doormen don't open doors. Front desk treats guests like a nuisance. Wasn't allowed to take a plate from the stingy continental breakfast up to my room for my spouse who was finishing packing. Would never recommend or stay here again.

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2004

Excellent mid town location

I booked 3 rooms for my parents 50th anniversary celebration, primarily because they had stayed at the hotel when it was the Taft & had an awful experience. They were extremely pleased with the accomodations (upgrade to Jr Suite). The hotel was convenient to all the things that we wanted to do. It has a nice, cozy feel - unlike large hotels. The rooms were spacious & nicely decorated. The staff was extremely helpful, particularly the concierge

(James). We will definitely stay there again.

Read More

By Ruth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

Italy in NYC

The Michelangelo was wonderful! We celebrated our 20th anniversary and they upgraded our room to a beautiful suite. We didn't want to leave the room! Top notch hotel, staff and facility. Can't wait to go back!

By Louisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2004

Lovely and Comfortable

Only one night, but centrally located, pleasant staff, great bathroom, lots of room. Would do it again!

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2004

Beautiful haven in midtown Manhattan

I loved this hotel and will definitely stay here again. The service was unbelievable, the location great and the size of the room was fantastic. The only drawback was getting the room cool enough. I finally had to open a window.

By Alexis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2003

The most spacious rooms in NYC

We stayed 10/17-20, and were very impressed with the room. Upon reservation, I advised them that it was my birthday weekend, and they gave us nice upgrade to a studio. The rate was excellent ($240 on their website), and the room was the most spacious and comfortable among any hotel I stayed in NYC (we've been going twice a year for the last 5-6 years). Staff was very helpful. One negative aspect was that you can hear the next room very well.

However, we'll definitely stay there again as long as the price is right. Very convenient location, too.

Read More

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2003

Hidden Treasure

I just spent the weekend in New York and stayed at the Michelangelo Hotel. What a fantastic place. If you did not know the location of this hotel I doubt you would even notice it. But this hotel is truly a hidden treasure. The rooms were large, quiet and much to my liking. The staff were very helpful and resourceful. I have experience with many of the nicer hotels around the world and I was very pleased with this hotel. I paid $225 per night, a little

more than I wanted, but it was worth it. Indeed the air conditioner was louder than most but it just provided a soothing sound for sleeping. One of the best things about this hotel is that the Le Bernardin restaurant is right across the street. You do not need a car. Many restaurants and theaters are within walking distance, as is Times Square and Central Park. I will stay here again.

Read More

By Nathan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2003

It was fine, but I've stayed at amazing places - this ain't one of them

Could have stayed at many other classy hotels in this price range. Got fooled into this rather average hotel by some of the glowing reviews on this forum. The lobby was fine, rooms were fine (were there supposed to be bidets in the bathrooms? There weren't). I appreciated the upgrade, but even so there was nothing that really stood out about the room. Lots of noise from the hallway, from other rooms, and most disappointingly, from within the room

- the air conditioner clicked on and off all night. Didn't wreck the trip, but didn't add to it, either. The concierge was all right, although he certainly didn't go out of his way, and the few times my wife and I actually needed him he seemed preoccupied. Never saw a doorman, and they would be better off not serving breakfast at all. We've been to New York many times. Next time we'll stay somewhere else.

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2003

A wonderful first visit to New York

We stayed at the Michelangelo April 13 - April 18, 2003 and loved the room. The room was large, very clean, marble bathroom, walk-in closet, large bath with a garden tub. Turn down services was wonderful as well as the Italian chocolates. Housekeeping even left us a box of chocolates after we left a note telling her how much we loved the chocolates. Other hotel services were not so good. Doorman never opened the door for us even when we were

carrying several packages. Consierge was not available very often and when we did reach him he wasn't very helpful. We called and requested a to-go menu for local restaurants that we never received. The hotel was reasonably quite and I loved the chandilers in the elevators. All in all I would stay again because of the room quality and the location.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 18, 2003

Nearly Perfect!

You cannot beat the location! Rooms are quite sizeable. Service was excellent. Only complaints: 1)the heating/air cond. system was loud for a light sleeper like myself and 2)the continental breakfast included with the room was pretty bad. But everything else was perfect. Would definitely stay here again! Get breakfast at the cafe Europa 2 blocks away.

By Luis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2003

Amazing Upgrade to Beautiful Corner Jr. Suite!

Just got back last night after staying 3 nights at the AWESOME Michelangelo Hotel. My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary so the Michelangelo treated us to an upgrade of their gorgeous corner Junior Suite with a great view! We were very impressed with the grandeur of their lobby. Just walking through the hallways to our room... the fragrances of fresh flowers and jojoba - WONDERFUL! Upon entering our room... Italian marble floors

leading to complete & well-stocked bathrooms with all the amenities, comfy robes, huge relaxing tub - AMAZING! As for the room itself... the peak of elegance & excellence, huge - lots of space, decorative lighting, nice street views, great seating area - CHARMING! Service was fantastic, both at the Front Desk and Housekeeping... Keep up the good work! The complimentary Limo to Wall Street was terrific! The location of the hotel is First-Rate... walking distance to everything! As you can see, I can't say enough about this hotel, simply that I was given a great deal on this five-star hotel. This will be the only place I'll stay in NYC from now on.

Read More

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2003

What's all the hype about?

I usually find that the comments in the rants and rave section of Fodor's are right on. I have to say that this was the first time that I felt misinformed. Don't get me wrong, the rooms were fine (clean) and the service was OK but it certainly wasn't anything to rave about. For $260 a night, I could have stayed at the Waldorf on the concierge floor instead (weekend rate). Anyhow, there are plenty of other hotels to experience in NYC and I would

probably try a different one on my next trip.

Read More

By Natasha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2003

HUGE room

Our stay was absolutely FABulous! Our room had 2 king size beds and a bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms in NYC! The staff was pleasant and attentive and this was a GREAT location. Only there are no good views because the hotel rooms do not go very high. Overall: a solid A.

By ec

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2003

WE LOVE THIS HOTEL !

This was our second time at this hotel and we just loved it. We were there for a few days over New Years Eve, and it was fantastic. We had a jr. suite, it was spotless and plenty large enough. Neither of us can say enough about the Michelangelo. My husband has no interest in any other hotel since we found this one!

By elly

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 15, 2002

Great European Style Hotel

We had a pleasant stay there. The location can't be beat, and the service was wonderful. The complimentary capuccino in the morning was a great way to start the day. Will definitely stay there again.

By antonio

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2002

just a nice place

we spent 5 night at the michelangelo, our room was large and clean but also very noisy (on the 5th floor). Don't even consider breakfast. Great location, nice willing to help stuff. great service. they should give the front desk a "face lift" since the rugs were dirty and worn

By Everett

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 11, 2002

Excellent Hotel!

Just spent the weekend at this classy place! Great all around, service and atmosphere, friendly staff.... this is one great place to rest after a long day. I cannot recommend this Hotel enough! We will be back next year!

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2002

Nice place but a bit overrated

I just spent 3 nights here. Very nice room - clean and quiet. The public areas are also very nice. The hotel bar is dead. The breakfast is a joke.I went around the corner to Starbucks. Good location and pleasant enough but for the money I could have stayed 2 extra nights somewhere else just as comfortably. The staff was competent and courteous except when I was leaving the doorman sent me to the wrong limo 3 times before I finally found the right

one on my own. Room service menu is ludicrously priced but there are several great late night deli s very close by. If you can get a good rate it's probably worth a try but I feel I paid way too much.

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2002

Nice place? Yes. Incredible place? No.

Just got back from an evening at the Michelangelo, where I took my wife for her birthday. There are a LOT of hotels to choose from in N.Y., but chose this one because of the incredible things that numerous people had to say about it on this site. Either most folks were exaggerating, or I'm just pickier. It was nice - really nice - but certainly not incredible. Even with a room upgrade, I found this place a little noisier, less friendly, less hip,

and less "special" than I thought it would be. Perhaps after all of the accolades I had read here, I was expecting more. My wife was very pleased with the place, which is what really mattered. In the future, however, while I may stay here for business, I'll look elsewhere for special occasions.

Read More

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2002

Perfecto

After reading all of the excellent reviews my friend and I chose to spend a long weekend at the Michelangelo. We booked a special rate of $195 on their website, which matched quickbook and other discount sites. As stated the hotel is pefectly located. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. The service from the front desk to the bar is outstanding. I agree with the others in that after setting such a high standard in all other areas,

the breakfast is disappointing. Regardless, the hotel is an excellent bargain and I will definately be back.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2002

An Oasis in the City

Just returned from the Michelangelo. Yes, everything you've read is true. Around every corner is a New York landmark. We loved everything about it. I would not stay anywhere else. It's also true what they say about the breakfast, the gesture is nice, but the pastries are not.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2001

The Marvelous Michelangelo

Based on comments read in here, I changed my 1 night reservation from the Marriott Marquis to this hotel - I'm thrilled that I did. This place was so beautiful and calming - I booked the least expensive internet room at 225.00/night, they upgraded us at check in to "Grand One Bedroom Suite" which was fantastic. This is a great place for a splurge, if you are on a budget watch out for the drinks at the bar, pricey but good, bartender was a great

guy named Vittorio, very funny and accomodating. I would definitely go back again.

Read More

By Peggy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2001

I want to go back NOW !!

I'm from California and this was my first trip to NYC. The people at the Michelangelo Immediately changed my preconceived notion of New Yorkers. This hotel is the nicest I've stayed anywhere in the world. Thats in large part to the service of everyone at the Michelangelo. Recommend it? Are you kidding? I want to move in there !

By Pamela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2001

Great Beds, Great Location, Good value

Our family stayed here over the Christmas holidays, and were thrilled by the rooms, location, and value. The hotel was unable to give us adjoining rooms for our children,but provided an upgrade to a junior suite for the choldren close to our room on the same floor. The only disappointment was the 'continental breakfast'- stale pastries, and lukewarm coffee, Overall, tho, I am happy to walk out to a local coffee shop in exchange for this delightful,

elegant hotel, and will stay there when in Manhattan.

Read More

By NW

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2001

Great hotel II

The atmosphere at this hotel was great. This hotel was beautiful, quiet, and the service was excellent. However, I'd like to add (gently) that during our stay, we did not get the complimentary breakfast during the weekday. Perhaps they should be more consistent.

By Kirsten

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2001

This hotel is a delight!

Stayed in NYC at X-mas/NYE at a 'well known hotel chain' but wished I'd known about this hotel earlier. Great rates are accessible on the website (with accurate pictures!). The most impressive feature of the hotel was the size of the rooms (we stayed in the superior category). Bathrooms (with tvs!) were very well appointed, the turndown service with chocolate a nice touch and the morning breakfast makes your stay great value! But above all, the service

is impeccable, where the concierge not only advised us of the cost of international postage but took care of the mailing of the letter too! You'd be hard pressed to beat this!

Read More

By stephen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2001

More Exceptional Than Its Namesake

I travel to ny on business and pleasure about 40 days a year and always stay here. The service and staff are impeccable. The concierge is the greatest and the rooms are spacious and well appointed for new york. A FAR better hotel than many of the older bigger names at a very fair price, especially on the weekends. Location cant be beat.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2001

The Rolls Royce of New York hotels

Since the Michelangelo is my favorite hotel in New York - and I frequent it often - I would like to gently correct a reviewer on one factual detail: the Buon Di breakfast is served seven days a week.

By BB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2000

Elegant, Quiet, and Friendly

Lovely, elegant hotel in a great location. Feels like a small hotel with personal service. Great concierge (James)who was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast is nice, but over too soon (9 AM).

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement