Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

The Algonquin

Pros

  • Free Internet
  • Friendly, knowledgable staff
  • Central location

Cons

  • Some small rooms

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

One of Manhattan's most historic properties, the Algonquin is a landmark of literary history. In 2012 the hotel completed a gut renovation that preserved its character—think oak paneling and pillars in the lobby—but modernized the rooms with contemporary comforts. Now this centenarian property features modern technology such as free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, and iPod docks alongside striking photographs of old New York. Renovated bathrooms have glass walk-in showers

along with plush robes and towels. Hordes of literary enthusiasts fill the clubby lobby; signed works of former Round Table raconteurs can be checked out in the library. The Round Table restaurant serves three meals daily with plenty of space for animated conversation while the Blue Bar has the type of cool, chic atmosphere that inspires you to order a martini.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

59 W. 44th St., between 5th and 6th Aves., New York, New York, 10036, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-840–6800; 800-555–8000

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 156 rooms, 25 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By JenniM

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2007

Great Lobby & Bellstaff-Rude Concierge

All that the Algonquin has going for it comes from the hotel's historical legacies -- the renovated architecture, the legends of the Round Table that the current managers have packaged with a theme park mentality instead of with the subtlety and taste that their previous literary clientele enjoyed at the hotel in its earlier years. Thanks to the historical sensitivity of new owners in the 1980's who did the hotels first major renovations, much of

the hotel's architecture and style has been restored to period and remains intact. However the current owners have reduced the cosmetic decor to a caricature of the history by putting up wallpaper with "New Yorker" cartoons. Also the white paint in the rooms ruins any sense of the period of the hotel's glory days. The rooms are so small and dated that their charm and appeal only comes from their history, so this aspect has been damaged -- although it could be reversed with new wallpaper. The life of the hotel emanates from some of the legendary bellstaff, who have been with the hotel for decades. They are the best in NYC because of their personalities. Outside of the bellstaff, the front desk, and housekeeping, service is dicey. The hostesses and waitstaff in the lobby area were inattentive and patronizing. They seemed to focus on the late middle-aged men. This seems to be a hotel for the 55+crowd The concierge we encountered in March 2007 was rude, incompetent, and coarse.. She represented the opposite of the legendary Algonquin service and manners The rooms and bathrooms are miniscule compared to other hotels of comparable price in NYC. All that this hotel has to offer on a competitive basis is history and service. The management really needs to rethink its full utilization of the hotel's history -- changing its approach from exploitation to respect. And they need to retrain the hotel's waitstaff and find a new concierge.

Read More

By Roberta

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2004

NYPD not so Blue.Love the Algonquin..Fuggetaboutit

I'am a retired (NYPD) and My fiance is an active NYPD Lieutenant. We stayed overnight over the Thanksgiving holiday.(His birthday gift with a Broadway show)We were greeted by the nicest doorman and front desk staff. True the room is small but it was cute. I liked the bathroom also. We were close to Broadway, restaurants and bars. It was a pleasure to return to our room without having to drive back to Brooklyn. Maybe it's the company the complainers

keep. But we enjoyed the place and ourselves!!

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2003

They Need a Better Pest Control Service

My bathroom was invaded by ants. The decor of the room hadn't been redone for many years. Small and oddly shaped. Found the employees to be uniformly unfriendly. Absolutely no reason to stay here in a city with so many better options.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

Matilda's litter box

I don't think that my room had been cleaned since John Barrymore was passed out in the lobby! Small rooms, creaky floors, and a view of the chimneys next door...where's the ambiance in that? If you're staying in mid-town for business, move up the street to the Sofitel!

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2002

We Love This Place

Second stay over Christmas recently. Room was lovely and comfortable, if very compact. Didn't mind for the great rate we received by booking directly way ahead. Nice decor and bathroom (this year we appreciate the tub, versus shower only). Service is warm, friendly, and efficient. Blue Lounge is terrific. Location was so terrific we walked everywhere we were going. Lovely brunch in Round Table Room Christmas Day. Dining Room Manager is a gem.

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2001

Perfect Location

Wonderful old hotel yet right in the middle of everything. Rooms are small but cosy and the old NY Style bathrooms are great

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement