Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

Roger Smith

  • 501 Lexington Ave. Map It
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Good location near Grand Central
  • Intimate atmosphere
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Street noise
  • Small bathrooms

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

This quirky choice is one of the better affordable stays in the city and the art-filled rooms, matched by the murals in the lobby, are homey and comfortable, with down pillows and quilts on the beds. All rooms have stocked bookshelves, and suites have kitchenettes and, in some cases, fireplaces. Bathrooms are small, but do have tubs. A seasonal rooftop bar called Henry's is a comfortable watering hole with Midtown views, and an eclectic mix of room service is provided

by five local restaurants. Guests also have access to the nearby New York Sports Club for a fee. Rates can drop by as much as $100 per night in winter and summer, so ask when booking.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

501 Lexington Ave., between E. 47th and E. 48th Sts., New York, New York, 10017, United States

Map It

Phone:

212-755–1400; 800-445–0277

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 102 rooms, 28 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2012

RS hotel

This place is different than any other hotel I've been to and we loved it. From the customer service, the decor, the spacious room we got after being upgraded upon arrival, and the rooftop bar, everything was a part of the experience and made our trip to nyc that much better.I have no need to try other nyc hotels because I will now use Roger Smith everytime, more than worth the price you pay.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2005

Being at home in the middle of the big apple

For those who are loking for a modern, luxurios, trendy, hi-tech hotel, this would not be their hotel. But!...roger Smith makes you feel at home. Nice and friendly treatment from all the staff, peculiar decoration, no equal rooms in any floor at all, perfect location in the midtown, continental breakfast included and reasonable price in that area. For the coments I read... perhaps we should wonder, what do the most of the NYC Hotels offer for those

unaffordable rates? I am sure, most of them half of the experience you get at RSH. Thanks Rogers!!! You make unforgetable my little trip to new york!

Read More

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2005

Roger needs a Rehab

We were very disappointed with the condition of our room, and left after only one night. The service was not good. The hotel room was massive for NYC standards, with a kitchenette, but reminded me more of a college dorm than a hotel. The walls had peeling paint, linens on the bed were not too fresh, and the bathroom was moldy. The entire hotel needs a massive rehab before justifying a Fodors choice in the future, or the prices they are charging. Free

breakfast was the only highlight.

Read More

By Lesley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2002

Roger could some improvement

I stayed at the Roger Smith on Oct 5-8 2002 with my 2 children and husband. We reserved a junior suite but were upgraded to a standard because the junior was not available. The suite was spacious but the decor was tired. Peeling wall paper, moldy tub and the most uncomfortable sofa bed ever. Also, the windows in our 12th floor room opened completely which is a mother's worst nightmare. The front desk people were very nice when they were there, but

often our calls to the front went unanswered. Overall very average - unexpected for a Fodor's choice! We were in room 1202.

Read More

By Betsy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2002

Who could ask for anything more?

Returned last night from a 3-night stay during which we enjoyed helpful service, a quiet room, a comfortable bed, an ample breakfast, and extraordinarily low summer rates. I cannot imagine a more pleasant hotel experience in New York. My spouse [in his bachelor days] used to frequent places like the Plaza & the Westbury, but he is now completely converted and says that all those places really have to offer is a snappier lobby. The Roger Williams was

perfect for us.

Read More

By Patty

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2002

Roger Smith Rocks

We checked out of The Grand Hyatt after 2 room changes(MOLDY BATHROOMS) and went right to The Roger Smith. CLEAN bathrooms, and charming decor! Rooftop patio with comp drinks nightly, and a great comp. breakfast in Lily's downstairs. The staff was helpful and attentive, and the location is perfect at 47th and Lexington, walking distance to just about anywhere...I LOVED IT HERE!

By Carole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2001

Friendly - Efficient - Quaint!!!

The rooms at the Roger Smith could use a little updating - but the service was SUPERB. The staff friendly and helpful. We got a good rate on a Junior Suite and had plenty of room for our family of three! I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. What the room lacked in "finesse" was more than made up for by the helpful, courteous staff and excellent level of service. If you have a chance to stay at this hotel, grab it. I don't think you'll

be disappointed.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2001

We really enjoyed ourselves

Being first time visitors to New York (but having visited the West Coast before) we were apprehensive about New York. Our fears were dispelled. Thanks to fodorites, we chose the Roger Smith and we do not regret it at all. The staff were all very friendly. The rooms were large (we had our 2 children with us) staying in a junior suite which had 2 doubles and a pull out couch. The continental breakfast was superb. We found the location and the relative

peace to be a bonus. (I was put off by Times Square and thought it was a good decision that we chose not to stay in that vicinity).

Read More

By greg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2001

Old building, warm heart

I have heard raves about the Roger Smith for years and now, after a recent week's stay with my family, I understand why. This old-fashioned apt. building/hotel has its quirks - the showers can get funky, for example. But the rooms are big and bright, the restaurant cozy and inexpensive and the location - in the Turtle Cove area near the UN - is safe and very convenient. Two subway stops are within a five-minute walk. I am returning soon!

By Walter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2001

This is "hotel art" in a fabulous location.

The Roger Smith has long been one of my favorites. There is no other hotel like it in New York. While so many hotels are now designed to show themselves off, the Roger Smith's artistic ambiance seems designed to make its guests feel good about being themselves, and about being there. If you want to be in midtown, New York, the location can't be beat. And the price is right, too.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement