New York City Hotels

Advertisement

W Hotel New York

At a Glance

    Pros

  • central location
  • great-looking rooms
  • Bliss Spa in hotel

    Cons

  • thin walls
  • small rooms
  • inconsistent service

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

W Hotel New York Review

A hopping bar and sunken lounge in the reception area, funky decor touches like window boxes filled with grass, and guest rooms that hew to the classic brand formula—they're small but they look good—make this a quintessential W property. Of course, a party-hearty clientele also means you're likely to hear your neighbors enjoying themselves heartily through the night. Downstairs, Heartbeat Restaurant serves heart-healthy foods; the attached Whiskey Blue draws a young, hip, and moneyed crowd; and the Bliss Spa flagship draws legions of beauty devotees.

    Contact Information

  • Address: 541 Lexington Ave., between E. 49th and E. 50th Sts., Midtown East, New York, NY, 10022 | Map It
  • Phone: 212/755–1200; 877/946–8357
  • Website:
  • Subway: 6 to 51st St./Lexington Ave.; E, M to Lexington–3rd Aves./53rd St
  • Location: Midtown East

    Hotel Details

  • 629 rooms, 62 suites
  • Rate includes no meals.
  • Credit cards accepted.
Updated: 02-20-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Value  
    Décor  
     

    W is for Worst of the New York W's

    I agree with all the above reviews. I have stayed at the Tuscany, Court & Union Square W's. Love them all. We had an incident happen at the Court and were offered a great rate on a suite in the W New York as a consolation. It was not worth the switch! No one cleaned the room, there were mouse droppings in the corner, dirty bathroom. Tried switching rooms and they did not accomodate. Would NOT recommend! Stay at the Court or Tuscany!

    by sophiev, 7/18/07
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    4 Star Whatever

    When the Marriott across the street looks more appealing, you have to wonder who is giving the W properties the 4 Star rating. I checked in to a smoky smoking floor which I did not request. The room was about 100 square feet and the entire floor reeked. Besides the stench and the size, the paint was peeling from the ceiling, wallpaper falling off the walls and cigarette burns in the carpet. We were given a bigger room on a non-smoking floor, which was kind of the manager, however, there is no turn down service, something typical of 4 star hotels and a hot water issue. The incredibly loud ice machine in the hallway did not work and the room service trays sat in the hallway all day long. For a city with a roach problem, I couldn't believe they would allow food stuff to sit that long. But then again, the wallpaper and carpets outside the rooms resembled the interiors. I polled several guests over the two days I stayed here and all of them called the hotel "run down", "tatty", "overpriced" and "definitely not 4 Star". I will say the W Union Square is fabulous, but this is like staying at a Comfort Inn on the outskirts of Detroit.

    by Beautykat, 11/20/07
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great location and fun rooms.

    Stayed at the W New York Lex Ave over a weekend in October. The hotel underwent renovation in August 2008 and there is a noticeable difference. Great vibe throughout the whole property - the staff seems proud of their hotel and the service they provide, the decor is modern and elegant with funky touches in line with the W name, and there is a great feeling whenever you step back into the hotel. The rooms themselves can be quite spacious, depending on the type of room you book. All of the rooms have a fresh, clean look to them and you can expect the staff to take care of whatever need you may have throughout the stay. Overall, I was extremely pleased with my stay and believe that my experience was well above the current expectaions of this hotel. I'd venture to say they have recaptured their 4 star rating and I would return to this property the next time I'm New York.

    by duke2nyc, 10/14/08
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Will be our last!!!!

    Do yourself a favor - DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms are disgusting and filthy. Just try to change rooms.. It will not happen and the staff is rude. We tried to give the hotel another chance and they don’t get a W – they get an F.

    by Rachel1972, 2/24/09
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wow!

    I really adore this hotel. I have stayed here twice in 2009 and each stay was better than the last. The service was terrific and the rooms were awesome. The Wow Suite is groovy and comfortable. Toss in the Bliss products in the bath (there is also a Bliss Spa in the lobby) with the cool atmosphere and you have what has become my favorite hotel in my favorite city. (Sorry Paris.) The best part is that it's a cool place to stay, but the staff makes sure you'll want to return. Nothing aloof about this hotel. Can't wait to go back.

    by Nick00, 5/9/09
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Awesome property

    Wife and I spent a weekend. the staff was excellent, pleasant. Location is wonderful, walk to good restaurants, quick cab ride to most activities. Wife enjoyed bliss spa. evening scene in hotel bar is great. Room was a bit small but well appointed and cozy.

    by SB_Stubblefield, 9/9/12
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    NY hotel with great location

    Liked the atmosphere and location of this hotel Convenient to theatre district and museums. Had a car for use to take guests places and we used this service. Small,but pleasantly decorated room with nice television. Good bar area and reception people were helpful and friendly.

    by njislander, 9/10/12
  •  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    We Loved The W

    My 20 year old daughter stayed in three different 4* Manhattan hotels during an early January week, just to get an overview of the island . The W was by far our favorite. It probably helped that we were upgraded from a "cozy" to a larger "wonderful" room for our three nights. Our room was quiet, high above the bustle of Lexington. Perfectly comfortable room, very nice beds and showers. Stylish, simple decor. Service was solicitous. After we called down for a coffeemaker and tea, we got a call from the desk hoping we were satisfied. The concierge steered us to a casual jazz club downtown that we loved. In that unusually warm January we could walk anywhere, and loved the convenient Midtown location. When we got back, there was the hipsterish scene in the lobby, and hot spiced cider by the elevators. We'd stay there anytime.

    by stokebailey, 9/14/12

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of W Hotel New York

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums