Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

W Hotel New York

Pros

  • Central location
  • Great-looking rooms
  • Bliss Spa in hotel

Cons

  • Thin walls
  • Small rooms
  • Inconsistent service

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

A hopping bar and sunken lounge in the reception area, funky decor touches like window boxes filled with grass, and guest rooms that hew to the classic brand formula—they're small but they look good—make this a quintessential W property. Of course, a party-hearty clientele also means you're likely to hear your neighbors enjoying themselves heartily through the night. Downstairs, Heartbeat Restaurant serves heart-healthy foods; the attached Whiskey Blue draws a young,

hip, and moneyed crowd; and the Bliss Spa flagship draws legions of beauty devotees.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

541 Lexington Ave., between E. 49th and E. 50th Sts., New York, New York, 10022, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-755–1200; 877-946–8357

Website: www.wnewyork.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 629 rooms, 62 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 14, 2012

We Loved The W

My 20 year old daughter stayed in three different 4* Manhattan hotels during an early January week, just to get an overview of the island . The W was by far our favorite. It probably helped that we were upgraded from a "cozy" to a larger "wonderful" room for our three nights. Our room was quiet, high above the bustle of Lexington. Perfectly comfortable room, very nice beds and showers. Stylish, simple decor. Service was solicitous. After

we called down for a coffeemaker and tea, we got a call from the desk hoping we were satisfied. The concierge steered us to a casual jazz club downtown that we loved. In that unusually warm January we could walk anywhere, and loved the convenient Midtown location. When we got back, there was the hipsterish scene in the lobby, and hot spiced cider by the elevators. We'd stay there anytime.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2012

NY hotel with great location

Liked the atmosphere and location of this hotel Convenient to theatre district and museums. Had a car for use to take guests places and we used this service. Small,but pleasantly decorated room with nice television. Good bar area and reception people were helpful and friendly.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Awesome property

Wife and I spent a weekend. the staff was excellent, pleasant. Location is wonderful, walk to good restaurants, quick cab ride to most activities. Wife enjoyed bliss spa. evening scene in hotel bar is great. Room was a bit small but well appointed and cozy.

By Nick00

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 9, 2009

Wow!

I really adore this hotel. I have stayed here twice in 2009 and each stay was better than the last. The service was terrific and the rooms were awesome. The Wow Suite is groovy and comfortable. Toss in the Bliss products in the bath (there is also a Bliss Spa in the lobby) with the cool atmosphere and you have what has become my favorite hotel in my favorite city. (Sorry Paris.) The best part is that it's a cool place to stay, but the staff makes

sure you'll want to return. Nothing aloof about this hotel. Can't wait to go back.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2009

Will be our last!!!!

Do yourself a favor - DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms are disgusting and filthy. Just try to change rooms.. It will not happen and the staff is rude. We tried to give the hotel another chance and they don’t get a W – they get an F.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2008

Great location and fun rooms.

Stayed at the W New York Lex Ave over a weekend in October. The hotel underwent renovation in August 2008 and there is a noticeable difference. Great vibe throughout the whole property - the staff seems proud of their hotel and the service they provide, the decor is modern and elegant with funky touches in line with the W name, and there is a great feeling whenever you step back into the hotel. The rooms themselves can be quite spacious, depending

on the type of room you book. All of the rooms have a fresh, clean look to them and you can expect the staff to take care of whatever need you may have throughout the stay. Overall, I was extremely pleased with my stay and believe that my experience was well above the current expectaions of this hotel. I'd venture to say they have recaptured their 4 star rating and I would return to this property the next time I'm New York.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2007

4 Star Whatever

When the Marriott across the street looks more appealing, you have to wonder who is giving the W properties the 4 Star rating. I checked in to a smoky smoking floor which I did not request. The room was about 100 square feet and the entire floor reeked. Besides the stench and the size, the paint was peeling from the ceiling, wallpaper falling off the walls and cigarette burns in the carpet. We were given a bigger room on a non-smoking floor, which

was kind of the manager, however, there is no turn down service, something typical of 4 star hotels and a hot water issue. The incredibly loud ice machine in the hallway did not work and the room service trays sat in the hallway all day long. For a city with a roach problem, I couldn't believe they would allow food stuff to sit that long. But then again, the wallpaper and carpets outside the rooms resembled the interiors. I polled several guests over the two days I stayed here and all of them called the hotel "run down", "tatty", "overpriced" and "definitely not 4 Star". I will say the W Union Square is fabulous, but this is like staying at a Comfort Inn on the outskirts of Detroit.

Read More

By sophiev

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2007

W is for Worst of the New York W's

I agree with all the above reviews. I have stayed at the Tuscany, Court & Union Square W's. Love them all. We had an incident happen at the Court and were offered a great rate on a suite in the W New York as a consolation. It was not worth the switch! No one cleaned the room, there were mouse droppings in the corner, dirty bathroom. Tried switching rooms and they did not accomodate. Would NOT recommend! Stay at the Court or Tuscany!

By A

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2006

W . . . orst Hotel New York

Extremely small rooms, outrageous price, tiny bathrooms, bad smells and unkept. Definitely not what one expects from this brand. Could not suggest this to anyone, friend or foe!

By T

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2006

W-on't be staying there again.

I've stayed in numerous W's including others in NY. I've chosen W's for business as I've found that they typically can be counted on for a high level of quality and comfort in a hip and eclectic setting. The W New York fell well short of my expectations. The hotel has a great looking lobby, bar, restaurant, and spa. However, the most important part of the stay - the rooms - are just plain bad. The first thing I was struck by upon entering the

room was the carpeting. It was filthy and torn in numerous, giant 3 - 4" swathes running all the way accross the room. And talk about small - sure you'd expect rooms in NY to be a little smaller than, say Dallas, but the closet wasn't even big enough for the hangers to go in sideways - they had to go in diagonally to shut the door. I could not believe they would put a Starwood preferred member into a room like this. I called the "whatever. Whenever." line immediately to complain and was informed they were oversold and busy checking everyone in and that they would call me back shortly. The call never came. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere when in New York.

Read More

By Nicola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2005

Not worthy of the W name!

Most of the W hotels (New Orleans, Court, Tuscany, Silicon Valley) I've stayed at are just wonderful, with fabulous staff, stylish interiors and great Bliss Spa products in the bathrooms. The W New York is, on the other hand, ghastly. I've stayed there twice, and have checked out early both times. I stood in line for 15 minutes to be checked in by surly staff, was allocated a tiny grubby smoking room (despite booking a non-smoking one) which smelt

terrible, and was consitently late for meetings because staff wouldn't help me find cabs. Room service took over an hour to arrive. Avoid this dreadful hotel, and stay instead at the W Court or Tuscany, both of which are great!

Read More

By Debi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2004

Tiny, tiny, very tiny rooms

Very disappointed, had heard good things about The W. Not this one. The rooms hardly had enough room to more around the bed, no drawers, not nightstand, clock was on ledge that ran length of room, to turn off alarm would require getting out of bed. Bathrooms reminded me of being on an airplane. Never, never will stay there again and probably never a "W" because of this experience. Have stayed in a lot of hotels in New York, this one ranks the

lowest.

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2004

There's Little to Commend at W New York

A good location, but a less than attractive hotel with very average service. There are many better choices at comparable prices.

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2004

Avoid At All Costs

Terrible rooms, cramped and uncomfortable. Room for nothing. Bathrooms are horrific, no place to put anything.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2003

No!No!No!

I have had a total of $6,000 put on my visa for "incidentals" - one was for $3,000 on one day!this in three days! Result..i cancelled the card fearing visa fraud, have to wait 2 weeks for another....the hotel offered a 30 min facial as compensation! As for the hotel, the 1st room stunk of damp, the next was tiny. the 3rd a "spectacular" was a joke, bathroom is tiny. The staff in restuarant brought wrong order twice then shouted at me it was my fault...am

being charged $60 dollars an hour to use PC in business centre!! The staff are just useless, food trays left in halls for days....trendy bar which is good, but so loud when I checked in I had to shout at staff and they had to staf at me..,I travel a lot and this is one of the worst hotels ever.......

Read More

By Dina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 16, 2002

DON'T DO IT!!!

I rarely complain about hotels/rooms/service- but my recent experience at this hotel forces a comment. Unable to arrange a suite, I knew my room would be small- but that really doesn't do justice to the approximately 150 sq ft room I ended up with (come to find out- a suite is simply 2 of these rooms separated by a narrow hallway). While the concierge had excellent recommendations for food- they often gave us the wrong address- thus necessitating

long walks in pouring rain. Despite their assurances that we wouldn't need reservations, we did...whis often resulted in excessively long waits, or rearrangements in our dining plans. The housekeeping staff is POOR at best. I had to ask twice to get my room cleaned when it hadn't been touched for 2 days, and on the last day of my 5 day stay, I figured out where the "funny" smell was coming from. The last occupants had made coffee in the room's coffee-maker...and it was still there- the coffee bag covered in green smelly fuzz, and the coffee in the pot looking much like pond water. Like I said- I rarely complain, so do yourself a favor- believe these reviews and find another hotel.

Read More

By Mel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2002

Its only a room!!!

Stayed here over Thanksgiving and loved it! Who cares if the room is small. After reading the comments on here I was expecting alot smaller! Our room was stunning. It was well equiped with CD player and mini bar,very comfortable & the shower was great. The staff were very helpful & the margaritas were fantastic. The location is good - 2 blocks from the Rockefella Centre. We got a great internet special - check out their web site.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 23, 2002

In a word, miniscule

I expected small rooms. I've been informed of the size, so I went in with my eyes open. But I didn't realize the room area they quoted included bathroom... The absolute tininess is something no amount of hipness can hide. Speaking of which, it is hip allright, but a closer look yields grimes, chipped paints, etc. These are hidden under dark-lit light. Staff included the helpful but not-so-helpful, so I suppose it is average. To summarize, I know NY

(and London) rates are a different ballgame... but sheesh. The upsides such as comfy beds, insense, well-equipped fitness center (extra costs), trendy bar do not match nearly enough. I reserved four nights, quickly checked out after one. Stayed Sept.2002

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2002

It is what it is

Any of the NYC W properties are just what they are. Hip, expensive, tiny rooms but very chic and happening.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2002

Room With No Drawers

Great location, but the rooms are miniscule. There are no dressers or anything with a drawer in the room and the closet was too small to even hold the suitcases. They could have added a few more feet to each room and had something nice going here.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2002

An oasis of calm....in Midtown, NYC!

I travel frequently on business and for pleasure and have experienced the realm of 4 and 5 star hotels. The W New York is by far the hippest property I've experienced. Innovative concept, relaxing atmosphere (scented candles, dimmed lighting, earthy color scheme, trickling water and excellent music in the elevators and lobby), small...but clean, stylish rooms and an attentive staff paired with a low weekend rate made this centrally located property

a FIND! I can't wait to stay at my next W!!

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

All The Bad Reviews Are WRONG!!

This hotel is one of the best in New York city, beatin out the Waldorf, The Plaza, The St.Regis, and all the others. The beds were a bit small but the room was exqusit. The resturant was a bit on the bad side, and despite all the reviews saying that the rooms were not stocked or cleaned, there just lying, it can't be true. and it's very cheep at only 500 for a suite.

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2002

Great hotel, but not for everyone

I've stayed at the W often - spent nearly a year working in NY four days a week, "living" at the W, so I've seen the gamut. I like it because it is not a Sheraton or Marriott - it's distinctive, and more comfortable. I love the bed, bath products, robe, and VCR (I often bring videos with me on the road). Room service is also great, but expensive (as expected). Rooms are very small - so if you want a large room, don't stay here. I find it cozy and

comfortable. The service is pretty good - I've had few issues, which is good considering the number of times I've stayed there. Location is ideal - and I love the juice bar (try the breakfast wraps - amazingly good). Heartbeat is pretty good, but if you want really outstanding vegetarian fare, try Candle Cafe on 75th & 3rd. The bar can be fun after a long day, but I sometimes don't feel "beautiful" enough to hang there. Lots of really skinny models. Regardless, it's a fun hotel - very unique - and it gets me far far away from the standard green bedspreads at the Sheraton.

Read More

By Sydney

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2002

Service was terrible

I didn't actually make it to the W Hotel because of a cancellation of a business trip but I was still charged one nights stay because " I should have asked about the cancellation policy." In trying to get a copy of the charge to my credit card so I could get reimbursed I had to call 3 times and the reservationist was very rude and put out by my simple request. I would never recommend the W Hotel just from the lack of customer service I received on

the phone.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2001

I'm beyond dorm rooms

Very small rooms, dirty bathrooms, peeling paint,tiny bathroom, noisy. Dark hallways and room key did not work. Had to fumble with door and go back to lobby to get into room late at night - not what I would call safe! Only things I liked - bed was comfortable and the Aveda toiletries.

By Jeremy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2001

Wondering Why? at The W

We stayed over the 4th of July weekend and received a good rack rate in light of New York's typically steep prices, and that's the good news. The bad news is that service is spotty at best (we had to ask for our complimentary newspaper three times and replenished supplies of the famous Aveeda toiletries seemed to depend on the day), and the rooms are tiny. Make sure you get a renovated room because we were intially given a pre-renovated room that

contained a leaking air conditioner unit and very dirty carpet. In our renovated room, the bathroom door would not open past 45 degrees because of the radiator cover, our queen bed was on the short side by six to twelve inches, and the air conditioning unit had to be replaced because it was malfuntioning. Most of the money was clearly spent on the lobby and spa, both of which are clean and attractive. If you want luxury, look elsewhere. If you are looking for the best room in the sub-$300 range, consider The W but don't plan to spend much time there.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2001

The W can not disapoint

I have had numerous stays at this hotel and at 5 other W properties. With the W, you can always expect a chic hotel, great bar scene, good looking staff and great beds. Sure, the rooms at the NY properties are on the small side. This can and should be expected. (When in NY, you shouldn't be spending that much time in your room anyway).

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2001

Contemporary setting but no modern convenience.

I've read all the comments on this hotel and quite frankly, I can understand every perspective and believe it or not, I could definitely see how people could have loved it too! The fact is, the sheets, the towels, the Aveda toiletries, the cobalt blue vases, all these details are very "chic" and New York-like. It's absolutely charming. I'm not in the hotel industry, but for any business, learn to stick with the basics first and then polish and tweak

it. A double room has twin beds?? A bathroom has no fan?? Your staff can't read the bill? Where are we --- hello, we're in the biggest city in America? It was funny, I stayed at this hotel with people I used to work with and literally, we thought we were back in the dorms. My co-worker felt more comfortable sleeping on the floor because his foot was hanging out of the bed!

Read More

By Sacha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2001

Reminds me of my college dorm room...

Thought the W was THE place to stay...until I did. The rooms are small, but the sheets were 300 count and had a duvet~ it was noisy, but cozy. We only stayed one night and I could not have imagined staying any longer. We got charged for a fax that was not ours and I had to jump through hoops to get it off the bill. I would say NYC has many places to stay and I would advise looking elsewhere unless you are on a budget. (We paid ~250.00 a night

on a weekend and booked over the Internet and I'd say that was a bargin for NYC.) And yes, the staff was VERY rude (it must be the in thing to be rude.)

Read More

By AC

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2001

THREE WORDS - DON'T STAY THERE!!

Rooms are small. Service are extremely lousy. Somebody in previous comment said the staff just don't care. He or she is definitely right. Do not let the look of the lobby mislead you. Try Royalton, Mercer or Paramont if you are looking for the similar type of hotels. (I stayed in all of them before.)

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement