Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Restaurants

Café Boulud

  • 20 E. 76th St. Map It
  • $$$$
  • French

Updated 02/25/2014

Fodor's Review

Manhattan's who's who in business, politics, and the art world come to hobnob at Daniel Boulud's café-in-name-only, where the food and service are top-notch. The menu, overseen by Boulud protégé Gavin Kaysen, is divided into four parts: under La Tradition you can find classic French dishes such as roasted duck breast Montmorency with cherry chutney, green Swiss chard, and baby turnips; Le Potager tempts with lemon ricotta ravioli; La Saison follows the rhythms of the

season; and Le Voyage reinterprets cuisines of the world. Start with a drink at the chic Bar Pleiades.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

20 E. 76th St., between 5th and Madison Aves., in the Surrey Hotel, New York, New York, 10021-2643, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-772–2600

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By downer

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2011

Café Boulud Review

Here, people luxuriate over lunch - the day we were there, the dining room was buzzing well into the late PM. Roasted duck, awesome. Baba au Rhum, awesome. Location, perfect for the Whitney, Frick - but, who's counting?! Service was the only thing that approached the 'cafe' name.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2005

Cafe Boulud is Outstanding!

My husband, son and I dined at Cafe Boulud in June, 2005. Our son who is attending the Culinary Institute of American in Hyde Park, NY had a classmate do his externship at Cafe Boulud so when we visited, he wanted to experience the restaurant. We were seated promptly for our reservation. The restaurant is lovely and understated. The noise level is perfect. The servce was exceptional throughout the meal. We selected the tasting menu and that's

what I would recommend. When the soup course came, for instance, each of was served a different soup! Only a few items in each course was the same, mostly it was different. What an imagination and what a presentation! The meal was expensive, but definitely worth every penny. It is something I'll never forget. And I once dined at the kitchen table at Charlie Trotter's (an equally wonderful experience!) For one of the best dining experiences ever, I would highly recommend a visit to Cafe Boulud when you are in New York.

Read More

By BB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2005

Great Dining

The food here on a recent dinner visit was fantastic - fois gras in a sour cherry sauce was perfection, honey glazed duck was succulent yet crispy, fonduta & chestnut ravioli was meltingly tender, and desserts were exquisitely presented. Even the roasted beet salad was a topic of conversation for days. The wine list has many reasonably priced and excellent selections by the glass. Outstanding service.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2003

Everything Worked For Us

This was our first trip to Cafe Boulud. It will not be our last. The staff was professional and very attentive. The room was tastefully done with flattering lighting. There are many restaurants with excellent food but the truly great meals are in those where the excellent food is served in a place that puts you at ease. The Cafe Boulud was such a place for us. Everything we ate was top notch from the oysters and duck pate to start to the delightful

granny smith apple fruit soup and petit fours for dessert. The main courses were braised tripe and roasted venison. This was the best tripe my wife had ever eaten; meticulously prepared, tender and flavorful. The venison was also sublime. Wow. We are not high volume wine drinkers and were pleased to see a good selection by the glass which could complement the food. As noted we will return but I fear for the Thomas Wolfe syndrome; you can't go home again and the next time will have the almost impossible task of living up to this visit.

Read More

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2003

Doesn't get much better than this

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. Can't wait to go back

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2003

No Food Boo-boos at Boulud

The food here at a Saturday lunch exceeded our very high expectations. A winter squash soup with apple slices and an apple confit was one of the best soups I have ever tasted. The potato gnocchi in a mushroom sauce, grilled salmon and chocolate granache were similarly fine. Exceptionally tasty variations on bistro-style food. The dining room and service are more formal than a bistro with similar food in Paris. Our servers were generally very good,

but some seemed to disapprove of the fact that we were accompanied by our 10-month old daughter (who was very well-behaved and loved the food herself). I chock this up to the stuffiness of the upper-east-side location, despite the casual dress. We ate in fancier places in Paris with the baby where her presence elicited no condescending reactions from staff or clients. The food itself is very good value. But watch out for expensive extras like $8 bottles of water. Highly recommended for the yummy food, especially if you are well-heeled or want to be seen with those who are.

Read More

By C

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2000

Amazing food

The food is amazing and the service is flawless. Some of the tables are incredibly cramped, though, which really cuts down on the enjoyment.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2000

Excellent French food

I went with the seasonal menu and was delighted. Although Boulud's latest incarnation is intended to be far less formal than Daniel, it's still pretty stuffy (it is on the upper East Side, after all). A great restaurant, though.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement