Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Restaurants

Nobu

  • 105 Hudson St. Map It
  • Japanese

Updated 02/25/2014

Fodor's Review

At this large, bustling TriBeCa dining room (or its sister location uptown), you might just spot a celeb or two. New York's famed Japanese restaurant has gained a lot of competition in recent years, but this is still the destination for the innovative Japanese cuisine Nobu Matsuhisa made famous (though he's rarely in attendance these days). Dishes like fresh yellowtail sashimi with jalapeño, rock shrimp tempura, or miso-marinated Chilean sea bass continue to draw huge

crowds. Put yourself in the hands of the chef by ordering the tasting menu, the omakase, and specify how much you want to spend, then let the kitchen do the rest. Can't get reservations? Try your luck at the first-come, first-served Nobu Next Door (literally next door), with a similar menu plus a sushi bar.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

105 Hudson St., at Franklin St., New York, New York, 10013-2331, United States

Map It

Phone:

212-219–0500

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2005

What's the hype?

Had dinner there last night. Not as good as many would have you believe. Had some sushi which was fine, the ebi tempura which was rubbery and my husband had a tough terriyaki tenderloin. The miso cod was the only above average dish.

By R

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2003

Worth booking ahead

If you like Japanese food, this is a great place. Try the omakase menu for some interesting dishes. I did find the regular nigiri sushi rather ordinary and their famous black cod with miso was good. I would highly recommend their tartare (especially tuna). Service was excellent. Lunch is a little bit less expensive and easier to get reservations. If you're ever in Vancouver, try Tojo's!

By Grace

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 23, 2002

Unbelievable

I went here not expecting much because of the previous reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. My friends and I thought the food was amazing. Our waiter was awesome. He knew what to order and how much to order. The service and the food were impeccable.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2002

Good... but not Great.

After much research, we reserved Nobu's a month in advance to come on our honeymoon. Seated immediately upon arrival; seating is cramped, but I guess that's just NY. We ordered the top Omikase at $120 p/p. It was a delicious culinary adventure. The waiter explained each course very well. Good service when he was there, but it was a bit too busy, and he'd disappear for long periods - others around us noticed the same. They noted our honeymoon

from when I called because we received a "Congrats" dessert as a surprise - nice touch, but nothing that any good restaurant wouldn't do, and our waiter had to ask us what the occasion was when he brought it out. From all the hype, I expected the place to blow my socks off, and it didn't. Service was fine but not excellent, atmosphere interesting but not stunning we have many snazzier nice restaurants in Scottsdale with better service), value isn't particularly mentionable. But the food created for us was EXCELLENT. It's such tight seating that we saw many "regulars" around us (3 different tables while we where there) getting comped drinks, appetizers, etc - guess it pays best to know someone there. One of them told us he'd just called a few hrs. before and got in, as he sipped on his free sake and free dessert. Smart of Nobu's to make them feel special to keep them coming back, but it made me feel a little like "just a tourist" rather than someone special. A really great place leaves EVERYONE feeling that way. It was good for a one-time place in NYC, we can say we went - but we'd try somewhere new next time to spend $300.

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2002

Woth the time and price? Yes! Worth going back? No!!

If one has been hearing the hype and never been there, then it is worthwhile. Sashimi and cooked items were creative, tasty, but nothing really that special - especially to those who have had other "upscale", contemporary Japenese restaurant experiences. Go try it, you will see.

By Joseph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2002

Nobu has no equal

I have been to almost every Nobu in the world (except Japan) and with good reason. This restaurant is like an old friend that you keep coming back to. Of course one can rave about black cod with miso, rock shrimp with ponzu, the soft shell crab sushi, ceviche, arctic char; but just say omakase and let them prepare it for you. Whatever you don't like, you can always send back (in fact, Nobu's "new-style sashimi" originated because a patron disliked

the original order, thereby prompting the "new style.") Service is prompt and professional; if you come to New York, take 2 hours or so and reward yourself thoroughly at Nobu.

Read More

By Danna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2002

Gorgeous Food, Grumpy Waitress

I was shocked to walk in without a reservation! Food was fab, loved the new style sashimi,lobster in wasabi sauce,cod w/ miso. Basic sushi was totally unimpressive. Our waitress was lousy. It was our first trip and we were attempting to get recommendations as to the house specialties, timing of orders, etc. She was of NO help, didn't even seem to understand the question. All around us we could see people with attentive waiters eating unique-looking

dishes while our waitress was suggesting a tuna roll I could have gotten in the grocery store. The great dishes we ordered only because I had been researching Nobu on Chowhound.com. We still had some fantastic food and a nice evening, but it was in spite of the service.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2001

Plan ahead

For a first timer it is worthwhile to go early and study the menu. As in the review the staff seemed rushed. I took the easy route and ordered the tasting menu. It was sensational.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2001

The Best Sushi

I frequent Nobu's on both coasts, and both are equally delicious. There are not enough words to describe just how delicious their food is! Don't miss the lobster ceviche, the lobster salad, albacore sashimi with jalapenos, or the black cod with miso. YUM. They also have a great selection of sakes. Service is also great with waiters going out of their way to please you.

By Rose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2001

BEST SUSHI EVER ! ! !

This is, hands down, the best sushi I have ever eaten ... anywhere! I HIGHLY recommend the seared black cod with sweet miso, rock shrimp in spicy sauce, tuna tartar, and absolutely leave room for the binto box with chocolate souffle and green tea ice cream. As far as service is concerned, I was amazed. Plates were changed after every meal that was brought out. Never did we have to give the "eye" to anyone to get a refill or anything else for

that matter. We were completely catered to. One time I dropped my chop sticks and I swear one of the empolyees almost caught it! In a matter of 30 seconds, I had a new set. Now that's service worth tipping a lot for!!! THIS PLACE IS A MUST!!!

Read More

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2000

BEST Japanese restaurant in NYC

I've been to Nobu several times and have neven been disappointed. The fish is so fresh, it swims to your table! Do not order "regular" dishes like sushi because you'd be missing out on the best dished! I personally like the rock shrimp tempura with ponzu, black cod with miso, yellowtail tartare, new style sashimi, sashimi salad. And for dessert, the warm valrhona chocolate cake can't be beat!

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2000

From start to finish, Nobu's a work of art performed like an opera

Aside from the allure of its world-famous chef, Nobu's food is its main attraction -- and with good reason! Not only is the food, sumptuous and deliciously exotic, it is served originally and presented beautifully. I ordered the Omakase ($70 tasting menu), and it was really a fantastic experience; from the delectable, yet deceiving simple Yellowtail Tar-Tar with caviar, to the amazing New Style Sashimi which is soothingly warm but still maintains

to delicacy of raw fish, to the originality of the Squid "Pasta" (which was really not pasta at all), every item I tried was complete and nothing short of spectacular. However, to order "normal" dishes at Nobu, like normal sushi or a simple noodle dish, would be a HORRIBLE mistake because you would miss out on so many wonderful and unique tastes -- so when you go, my advice is to indulge, and try the really unusual stuff that Nobu is famous for. In addition, the service is impeccable. In one instance, me and my friends were talking about deserts we liked the most, and I mentioned that I liked certain a dessert called Moochi (Japanese ice-cream balls), not on the menu, mind you; about ten minutes later, the waitress brought me a special dessert, Moochi! She simply smiled and said that she had overheard me and thought she could arrange it with the chef: this type of perception and care is what made the service impress me at Nobu. In short, try this amazing restaurant, and you will most likely not be disappoined -- I know I wasn't!

Read More

By sophie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2000

Food like the Nectar of the Gods

Every last delectable morsel, including the standard sushi and tempura, was a delicacy- like nothing I've ever tasted. The signature cod dish was sweet, new, unidentifiable, and delicious- pure art. My dinnermates adored the Kobe beef; everything was simply and perfectly satisfying. Nobu will make non-sushi eaters converts, and sushi lovers addicts. The dining room is pleasant, exotic, and unusual, with a lot of wood and green tones arranged New

York cosmopolitan-style. Nobu is absolutely golden.

Read More

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2000

Overrated

Very good food; however, it's expensive, filled with too many tourists, and feels too much like the early nineties. You can get memorable sushi elsewhere in Manhatan with much less hassle.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement